We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classy interior design hotel near seaport” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Harmoni One Convention Hotel and Service Apartments

Save Saved
You added Harmoni One Convention Hotel and Service Apartments to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Harmoni One Convention Hotel and Service Apartments
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jalan Engku Putri No. 1 | Batam Center, Riau Islands Province 29400, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 69 hotels in Batam
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Classy interior design hotel near seaport”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Our purpose stayed this hotel because relatives of us having banquet dinner at this hotel ballroom.
Lobby of this hotel very big and grand just like their design.
The room quite spacious for twin beds, located on 5th floor. There is nothing to see from room windows, so we laid back on the bed and sofa on the corner. There is complimentary snacks and drinks inside mini fridge.
Bathroom quite big enough, got shower and bathtub, with hot water and toiletries. The housekeeping always daily tidy up, refill the snacks & drinks, and change your bed linen if you asked.
The breakfast very much of choices, from fried beehoon and fried rice, to toast bread, cookies and sweet deserts.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    34
    90
    53
    16
    11
See reviews for
45
57
2
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

We booked the whole trip via deal.com.sg for a family of 15 people for the weekend. The outlook of harmoni was really majestic, spacious and new. We were ushered to our rooms which I considered ok and clean and abit small for 3 adults to bunk in. The lift however keeps breaking down throughout the whole of the trip. We had to use the service lift. The hotel was about 15mins walking distance to a the mall which we went after dinner. Breakfast spread was amazing at their restaurant. Overall, it was a good hotel for the price that we paid except for the broken lift.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Average hotel. Lobby is spacious but not well lit. Probably good for business travellers, shuttle bus from hotel only in the evening. Breakfast buffet is average. Due to a miscommunication with the tarvel agency was checked into a superior room when we paid for a deluxe room.The reception staff was very helpful when I pointed out the mix-up and changed our room accordingly. Superior rooms are cramped, the deluxe room which the staff later put us in was a vast difference. Bathroom was adequate with a large bathtub and separate shower 'capsule'. Location wise, it is about 15 minutes walk to Batam Centre Mega Mall which was a dissapointment. It looks like a new hotel but I have my doubts. There was a heavy downpour and the ceiling of the lobby began dripping rainwater, after some time a section of the ceiling came down with a shower on rainwater. It was a mricale that no-one got hurt. It took the maintemence staff some time to clear up the mess.

Room Tip: Don't stay there if you're a tourist who wants to do some shopping as the shuttle bus only o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

My Stay at Harmoni One was simply fantastic. The hotel is excellent, with excellent facilities and excellent service from all the staff, which comes at a very reasonable price. There is an extensive lobby which gives you the space that everyone needs. Not crammed at all and many seating areas to relax while checking in. In fact, you do not even have to wait because check in is really a swift, five minutes maximum (If you come in a big tour group, that’s another story). The lady Shanthi who checked us in was a delight and always smiling. Mind you, the check in is not the standard procedure we are used to at all five star hotels. Here, it is way better and very personal. They seat you down at the counter, and give you a mint while they do the paper work and allow you to sign the papers and straight away head to your room.

The Manager, Mr.Royen Misael, is the best host any hotel can have. Dedicated to his job, he will do anything he can to make your trip a memorable one. He goes out of his way to please all his guests. And certainly he was there for me, to help me out before my trip, during my trip and even after my trip. What is a nice hotel stay without fabulous service?

The property is great. As many have mentioned, very grand driveway, extensive lobby, and the exterior looks very grand and white with two crowns on the top of the convention centre. There are three lifts and each need your key card to access the floors. The room was fantastic, enough space and all working amenities. We also got the room with an interior view of the corridor as mentioned by a previous reviewer which is maybe something the hotel could look into. Not very pleasant if people can walk and see in the room. Perhaps, those should be made superior rooms and the executive suite moved elsewhere, where the view is unobstructed, just for privacy, not really for the view. It didn’t bother us during our stay though, only because the room was really nice. It was five star everything. The bed large enough and confortable, sofa very comfy, bathroom great (shower pressure could be improved though), spotless clean. Only thing missing was a coffee table at the sofa, was slightly inconvenient because we had nowhere to put our drinks while seated on the couch. And of course, the air conditioning was way above excellent. I’m a person who really needs AC 24/7 and there was no issue about that at all. No issue on the room at all. Room service was good. Food came fast and as per normal room service anywhere else. They forgot two glasses of ice that I had asked for when ordering our dinner, but when the food came the ice was missing. I actually did not realize it and never asked anything. About 10 minutes later, when he came back with our change (we settled everything by cash and never charged anything to our room), the two glasses of ice came together. That was very good service and provided excellently.

The pool is very nice and very clean. Best is to go to Batam on weekdays, because it is really quite and serene. My brother and I had the whole pool to ourselves. Literally, on Thursday evening, Friday and Saturday afternoon, no people at all and it was very relaxing. The Jacuzzi was not on though, only switches on after seven. They could just keep it on actually, we would have enjoyed. Gym is great with new equipment and quality ones too. Really good for those who like to gym during holiday. Also as all five star hotels, towels were provided, good huge and thick pool towels.

Architecture all around the hotel was magnificent. Makes you feel very classy and stylish. Gives you the importance of a guest and how a guest should be treated. The lounge as good too, just nice. Had a pool table which can be used as long as you buy some drinks. Drinks prices were cheap, definitely affordable.
The hotel taxis are really awesome. Good quality cars and well maintained. Very clean and efficient. Difference between the hotel taxi and a local taxi will be about only IDR 10,000. That’s like SGD1.50. Why not travel in comfort when we get the opportunity. Had no issue of taxis outside overcharging either, was always the same rate. Except one guy who tried to be funny when we alighted after shopping back at Harmoni One, tried to get IDR 10K extra. Always good to give exact change if you are taking a local taxi. Hotel staffs are very honest and first class. You only pay what you should. The local taxis are ok too. Comfortable and clean as well. Nothing that bad. As usual, just ask the fare before boarding and give exact amount when alighting.

Royen was great, and also helped us to arrange a one day city tour. I don’t really like to go on tours with groups because we do not have the freedom. But it always a better choice if you don’t know your destination. Since we were on the tour, the next three days we knew which mall was where, how to get there and what stuff can be gotten there.
My first trip to Batam and it was a marvelous one. Really excellent everything, even the shopping malls were good, food was never an issue. All was perfect. MegaMall had this 5D ride which was amazimg. Cost about IDR 50,000 per person for two rides (Buy one free one). It is a must try.
The hotel is great. Really enjoyable stay and wonderful service. Royen is the real person who I should thank with my whole heart because he really made our holiday marvelous and did all he can including recommending us the new Chinese restaurant which recently opened. The food was really good and affordable. We also got a 50% discount which made it even cheaper.

From the previous reviews I have read, I am very sure the hotel management has looked at every review and have made improvements. For the whole 4 days of my stay there, there was no problem with the breakfast as many have mentioned. Food was always available and refilled. There was once we woke up late and went 5 minutes before closing, and the staff Mona gave us five minutes to take our food before they cleared the buffet. There were still a lot of food left for us and the quality was good. A good hearty breakfast and an international spread with waffles and pancakes. No dim sums only breakfast, like many reviewers have said.
I am already planning my next trip to batam, and am sure that Royen Misael will take care of everything if I tell him when I will be coming. A great hotel experience worth your every penny.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

There was nothing outstanding in our Batam getaway, including our stay at Harmoni One. It was not so bad but not so good either. The rooms we stayed in were showing signs of wear--a lose screw here and a missing knob there.

The breakfast was good though. There were plenty to choose from and the quality of the food was satisfactory. We also ate at their Chinese restaurant and left with full and happy tummies. They had a 50% off promotion and we ended up paying only SGD12! Amazing!

Room Tip: If you don't want to stay in a window-less room, better say so when you check in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Hotel looks great with awesome lobby, pool etc, all very impressive. Rooms are a bit dated. The Bar looks great with a fantastic pool table but if you are looking for somewhere to drink then definitely not the place as incredibly poorly stocked bar and shocking service....having said that Batam is mainly Muslim so doesn't cater to drinkers particularly. The hotel manager is great, his name is Royen and he's happy to sort out everything for you including golf and transport.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Impressive looking hotel with a very spacious lobby and spacious rooms (our standard room was spacious, so I'm presuming all their rooms are). At first glance the hotel looks new, but it's probably a few years old, judging by the peeling paint around the place and oldish looking rooms - carpet in the room wasn't very clean looking but the rest of the room was presentable enough. Complimentary mineral water and 2 cans of soft drink provided, along with the usual tea & coffee sachets. Bathroom & shower were not too bad, with strong water pressure. Hotel restaurant was a joke - there was hardly anyone there, yet they were out of fish. We then ordered steak and after asking a few times for steak knives, were told that they did not have any steak knives! Had to struggle cutting the steak with a butter knife. The cooks were not at all prepared for the breakfast crowds and we had to queue almost half an hour for eggs and another half an hour for waffles, while they ran out of coffee, tea, milk, etc etc etc and took forever to replenish everything. Food at the newly opened Chinese restaurant was really yummy and very reasonably priced. Tried ear candling & a massage at the spa... cheap but definitely NOT good, yet the staff hang around outside your cubicle expecting a tip! The hotel is not in a convenient location and there is absolutely nothing to do around the area. The nearest shopping centre is a hot, humid, dusty 20 minute walk away (or 5 minutes by car) and is not near any of the lovely beaches this island has to offer. Batam has LOTS of hotels and we'll find somewhere else to stay if we should visit again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Harmoni One Convention Hotel and Service Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harmoni One Convention Hotel and Service Apartments

Address: Jalan Engku Putri No. 1 | Batam Center, Riau Islands Province 29400, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Riau Islands Province > Riau Archipelago > Batam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Batam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Harmoni One Convention Hotel and Service Apartments 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Work and play fuse into one at our boutique hotel in Batam. A haven for business travelers and leisure tourists in search of efficiency and pleasure, Harmoni One Convention Hotel & Service Apartments is well-placed within the heart of Batam near major business and government offices, as well as the city’s entertainment and commercial areas. It has a growing reputation as one of Batam, Indonesia’s finest destinations for successful conferences and business meetings, and also for providing guests with a wealth of comfort within its richly appointed interiors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Harmoni One Convention Hotel and Service Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harmoni 1 Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harmoni One Convention Hotel and Service Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.