We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent hotel by Batam standards” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Harmoni One Convention Hotel and Service Apartments

Save Saved
You added Harmoni One Convention Hotel and Service Apartments to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Harmoni One Convention Hotel and Service Apartments
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jalan Engku Putri No. 1 | Batam Center, Riau Islands Province 29400, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 68 hotels in Batam
Hong Kong
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Decent hotel by Batam standards”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Hotel looks great with awesome lobby, pool etc, all very impressive. Rooms are a bit dated. The Bar looks great with a fantastic pool table but if you are looking for somewhere to drink then definitely not the place as incredibly poorly stocked bar and shocking service....having said that Batam is mainly Muslim so doesn't cater to drinkers particularly. The hotel manager is great, his name is Royen and he's happy to sort out everything for you including golf and transport.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    31
    87
    52
    14
    11
See reviews for
43
55
2
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Impressive looking hotel with a very spacious lobby and spacious rooms (our standard room was spacious, so I'm presuming all their rooms are). At first glance the hotel looks new, but it's probably a few years old, judging by the peeling paint around the place and oldish looking rooms - carpet in the room wasn't very clean looking but the rest of the room was presentable enough. Complimentary mineral water and 2 cans of soft drink provided, along with the usual tea & coffee sachets. Bathroom & shower were not too bad, with strong water pressure. Hotel restaurant was a joke - there was hardly anyone there, yet they were out of fish. We then ordered steak and after asking a few times for steak knives, were told that they did not have any steak knives! Had to struggle cutting the steak with a butter knife. The cooks were not at all prepared for the breakfast crowds and we had to queue almost half an hour for eggs and another half an hour for waffles, while they ran out of coffee, tea, milk, etc etc etc and took forever to replenish everything. Food at the newly opened Chinese restaurant was really yummy and very reasonably priced. Tried ear candling & a massage at the spa... cheap but definitely NOT good, yet the staff hang around outside your cubicle expecting a tip! The hotel is not in a convenient location and there is absolutely nothing to do around the area. The nearest shopping centre is a hot, humid, dusty 20 minute walk away (or 5 minutes by car) and is not near any of the lovely beaches this island has to offer. Batam has LOTS of hotels and we'll find somewhere else to stay if we should visit again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

I have been to this place with my friend.I choose this hotel as this is close to the International ferry terminal - about 15 mins walk.We had the dinner in their restaurant and it was great and cheap (compared to the Singapore standard).They provide wide variety of food for the complimentary break fast. Good hotel for the business stay.There's no attraction nearby to see.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

We stay here for 1 night on 6 Sept 2012. Very impressed by the lobby. Standard room with double beds was just nice for 2 person. We wanted to upgrade to the deluxe room (32 sq meters) and was told it would cost us another S$17. We declined. Later someone from the front office called and offered us a free change of room to a single queen sized bed standard room , We took up the offer and found the room to be slightly larger though not 32 sq meters. Internet is free in the room via a cable. Wifi is only available at the lobby. Complimentary items surprisingly include the 2 cans of soft drinks and a small packet of groundnuts inside the fridge. There is a free shuttle bus going to 3 shopping centers from 4 pm onwards.Breakfast was okay although nothing to shout about. Neither is the massage at Aruma Spa at the Convention center although it is cheap and the space is quite big. But the newly opened Lim Garden restaurant in the convention center is a must try for its food, ambience and 50% discount until end Sept 2012.For 2 person we could get a nice meal for about S$10 including taxes.The swimming pool on top looks interesting with some roman architectures.Overall the hotel and rooms are clean.

Room Tip: Select a deluxe room (32 sq meters) if you can afford.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

No doubt the hotel shows signs og aging, but Batam also looks like it's had better days so compared the outside environment it actually looks nice. Goof lobby and very good sized rooms. No wifi but the free cable was excellent, and it's free so that's great. the pool and gym were excellent also. The food in the Hotel restaurant was good and not expensive however drinks were overpriced. The niteclub attached to the hotel, noname, is good also. Live music and good atmosphere but drinks here are ridiculously priced for Indonesia. If ever i find myself back here, I would stay again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
johor bahru
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

very nice hotel,we enjoy the hotel facilities such as the gym,sauna,pool and mini bar at lobby,the swimming pool is very big and beautiful,and the view at 6th floor is very nice!!
we stay again~
quite far away from town but is ok for us.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

The arrival at the Harmoni One via the drive way and into the lobby lives up to the expectations set by the photos in the web site. Unfortunately, the experience is mostly downhill from there...

Pros: beautiful driveway, lobby, nice pool, restaurant, bar, shuttle bus to malls, staff is friendly & attentive
Cons: junior suite without windows to outside, carpets in hallways (water?) stained, bathroom seems unfinished, no wireless internet in room, staff seems overwhelmed

The Harmoni One is built to impress: the drive way makes a grand impression, the lobby is huge and the staff is friendly and attentive.
We had booked a junior suite (range is: superior, deluxe, junior suite, executive suite) and the room is true to the photos and description provided. It has an LCD TV, coffee maker and safe. The bathroom is big and has a separate shower and tub. The furniture is contemporary. Unfortunately, what wasn't mentioned/shown ruined the experience completely: Our junior suite was to the inside of the building and the "windows" were facing an interior hallway! This is unacceptable in what is supposed to be one of the better rooms at a 4* hotel - especially without any warning! In addition, the room seemed unfinished, ie construction marks on the stone tiles, bathroom door paint unfinished, grouting stains on the stone tiles, etc. The shower was leaking, completely flooding the bathroom. The advertised "complimentary mini bar" was locked and unavailable.
There is no wireless internet in the rooms (only Ethernet cable, not able to try function), wireless only in lobby/common areas.
The (included) breakfast was ok. There is a good choice of food options (egg & waffle station, fruit, pastries, hot dishes) - at least in theory... we arrived after 8:30am and there was almost no food left! The staff was struggling to clean tables and replenish the food items. Some items were replenished on request, others not at all. The staff was friendly and working/trying hard, so I'd think it was a management problem, providing too little staff at rush hour or too little direction.
We also had dinner at the restaurant (there is only one - the web site says "up to seven opening soon", which is a little misleading). Service was friendly and food was good. We also had drinks at the lounge bar - again service was friendly, drinks were ok.
There is a free shuttle bus to BCS, Nagoya Hills and Mega Mall. There are also (comfortable, clean, new) hotel taxis available, at slightly higher rates than public taxis. The brand new cars and hassle-free operation was well worth the premium.
The hotel is in easy walking distance (approx. 10-15min) from the Batam Center Ferry and MegaMall. Just don't follow the Google directions - when leaving the Ferry Center, turn right and follow the big street. The hotel will be the tall white building on the corner after about 800m.
There is not much around the hotel in terms of restaurants or shops - megamall is your best option.

I haven't staid at other hotels in Batam, so my rating & review is based on comparison to other hotels in SE Asia - I have staid in anything from guest houses to 5* hotels in Indonesia, Thailand, Singapore, Malaysia, Vietnam, Laos, Cambodia, Myanmar.
I wouldn't stay at the Harmoni One again or recommend it to others.

Room Tip: Make sure to request an outside room, if you want natural light. Skip the Junior Suite - not worth t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Travelers also viewed these Batam hotels
Free Parking, P...
Show More
0.0 mi away
I Hotel
I Hotel
#5 of 68 in Batam
4.0 of 5 stars 178 reviews
Restaurant, Ind...
Show More
2.2 mi away
Harris Hotel Batam Center
Free internet...
Show More
5.0 mi away
Harmoni Suites Hotel
Harmoni Suites Hotel
#1 of 13 in Nagoya
4.0 of 5 stars 44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pool, Free Brea...
Show More
6.0 mi away
Swiss-Belhotel Harbour Bay
Mid-range, Pool...
Show More
9.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Batam
Quiet, Luxury...
Show More
4.9 mi away
The BCC Hotel & Residence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harmoni One Convention Hotel and Service Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harmoni One Convention Hotel and Service Apartments

Address: Jalan Engku Putri No. 1 | Batam Center, Riau Islands Province 29400, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Riau Islands Province > Riau Archipelago > Batam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Batam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Harmoni One Convention Hotel and Service Apartments 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Work and play fuse into one at our boutique hotel in Batam. A haven for business travelers and leisure tourists in search of efficiency and pleasure, Harmoni One Convention Hotel & Service Apartments is well-placed within the heart of Batam near major business and government offices, as well as the city’s entertainment and commercial areas. It has a growing reputation as one of Batam, Indonesia’s finest destinations for successful conferences and business meetings, and also for providing guests with a wealth of comfort within its richly appointed interiors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Harmoni One Convention Hotel and Service Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harmoni 1 Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harmoni One Convention Hotel and Service Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.