We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outdated like the rest of Batam” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Harmoni One Convention Hotel and Service Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bookmark
You added Harmoni One Convention Hotel and Service Apartments to your Saves list
Harmoni One Convention Hotel and Service Apartments
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jalan Engku Putri No. 1 | Batam Center, Riau Islands Province 29400, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 74 Hotels in Batam
sydney
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Outdated like the rest of Batam”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

No doubt the hotel shows signs og aging, but Batam also looks like it's had better days so compared the outside environment it actually looks nice. Goof lobby and very good sized rooms. No wifi but the free cable was excellent, and it's free so that's great. the pool and gym were excellent also. The food in the Hotel restaurant was good and not expensive however drinks were overpriced. The niteclub attached to the hotel, noname, is good also. Live music and good atmosphere but drinks here are ridiculously priced for Indonesia. If ever i find myself back here, I would stay again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    103
    59
    17
    11
See reviews for
53
60
3
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
johor bahru
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

very nice hotel,we enjoy the hotel facilities such as the gym,sauna,pool and mini bar at lobby,the swimming pool is very big and beautiful,and the view at 6th floor is very nice!!
we stay again~
quite far away from town but is ok for us.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

The arrival at the Harmoni One via the drive way and into the lobby lives up to the expectations set by the photos in the web site. Unfortunately, the experience is mostly downhill from there...

Pros: beautiful driveway, lobby, nice pool, restaurant, bar, shuttle bus to malls, staff is friendly & attentive
Cons: junior suite without windows to outside, carpets in hallways (water?) stained, bathroom seems unfinished, no wireless internet in room, staff seems overwhelmed

The Harmoni One is built to impress: the drive way makes a grand impression, the lobby is huge and the staff is friendly and attentive.
We had booked a junior suite (range is: superior, deluxe, junior suite, executive suite) and the room is true to the photos and description provided. It has an LCD TV, coffee maker and safe. The bathroom is big and has a separate shower and tub. The furniture is contemporary. Unfortunately, what wasn't mentioned/shown ruined the experience completely: Our junior suite was to the inside of the building and the "windows" were facing an interior hallway! This is unacceptable in what is supposed to be one of the better rooms at a 4* hotel - especially without any warning! In addition, the room seemed unfinished, ie construction marks on the stone tiles, bathroom door paint unfinished, grouting stains on the stone tiles, etc. The shower was leaking, completely flooding the bathroom. The advertised "complimentary mini bar" was locked and unavailable.
There is no wireless internet in the rooms (only Ethernet cable, not able to try function), wireless only in lobby/common areas.
The (included) breakfast was ok. There is a good choice of food options (egg & waffle station, fruit, pastries, hot dishes) - at least in theory... we arrived after 8:30am and there was almost no food left! The staff was struggling to clean tables and replenish the food items. Some items were replenished on request, others not at all. The staff was friendly and working/trying hard, so I'd think it was a management problem, providing too little staff at rush hour or too little direction.
We also had dinner at the restaurant (there is only one - the web site says "up to seven opening soon", which is a little misleading). Service was friendly and food was good. We also had drinks at the lounge bar - again service was friendly, drinks were ok.
There is a free shuttle bus to BCS, Nagoya Hills and Mega Mall. There are also (comfortable, clean, new) hotel taxis available, at slightly higher rates than public taxis. The brand new cars and hassle-free operation was well worth the premium.
The hotel is in easy walking distance (approx. 10-15min) from the Batam Center Ferry and MegaMall. Just don't follow the Google directions - when leaving the Ferry Center, turn right and follow the big street. The hotel will be the tall white building on the corner after about 800m.
There is not much around the hotel in terms of restaurants or shops - megamall is your best option.

I haven't staid at other hotels in Batam, so my rating & review is based on comparison to other hotels in SE Asia - I have staid in anything from guest houses to 5* hotels in Indonesia, Thailand, Singapore, Malaysia, Vietnam, Laos, Cambodia, Myanmar.
I wouldn't stay at the Harmoni One again or recommend it to others.

Room Tip: Make sure to request an outside room, if you want natural light. Skip the Junior Suite - not worth t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

Stayed in deluxe room 536.
- Room slightly bigger and huge bath tub (Cement with tile and looks old and dirty)
- The water temperature for the shower is just luke warm on the max.
- Cable tv with various programme as well as Singapore free to air channel but not picture quality are not clear.
- No wifi in room but with ethernet cable. Wifi can be connected at lobby, lobby bar and Bamboe restaurant.
- Hotel is huge but not all retail outlets are open (Quite empty)
- Roof top pool with warm jacuzzi and gym is nice. Both gender toilet equipped with Steam and Sauna room.
- Buffett breakfast not much of variety and refilling is slow, refilling potion is pathetic or not even refilled (We went at 8:40am)
- Surrounding of the hotel (5 mins walk, you will have a row of street stall, 5 mins walk across the convention centre, Indonesian restaurant serving delicious Indo Chinese food)
- 5 mins drive to mega mall $25K taxi fare, 15-20 mins drive to Nagoya Hill Shopping area $60k taxi fare
- Aruma Massage and Spa was a ripped off due to not professional massage technique. Paid SGD$61 for 3 types of treatment (1 hour Javanese Massage, 40 Mins Body Scrub, 40 Mins Body Mask and Milk Bath)
Massage was barely ok and only 45 mins, Hardly any scrub on body (merely applied and clean off), Body Mask ok and Milk bath is just 2 container of milk powder and 2 container of showel gel for you to bring back to your room bathtup DIY

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

We booked Harmoni One Hotel for 3D2N. Had a nice and clean room with day beds. But the day beds were pretty much useless. The toilet was big - with a concrete tub that you can bathe in. Would have been better if that tub was a jacuzzi. The rooftop pools were clean but we didn't use it. There was also a heated jacuzzi. Breakfast was quite good with dim sum included but the staff took forever to replenish the food so you might want to go for breakfast earlier to beat the crowd. Wireless was available only in the (huge) lobby at the 1st floor. Would have been better if wireless was made available throughout.

We asked to see the private "villas" and the staff kindly allowed and brought us around. If you can afford, these private "villas" are quite a good stay. The lap/infinity pool are shared between the 4-5 villas so the water was very clean. In fact, when we went there, no one was staying at the villas. You also get a special entrance at the lobby to the villas.

Location of Harmoni One isn't that good but the hotel does provide comfortable taxi service to Nagoya / BCS or other places. It is quite near Mega Mall but you wouldn't want to walk there. Using a taxi would be good.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, null, Singapore
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

Had bought a deal to stay 2 days 1 night over at this hotel in Batam during 4th August to 5th August 2012. Even though the stay was just a short one, it was more than enough to enjoy our stay.

We arrived at the hotel in the evening time due to the Batam city tour that came along with the package. The moment we reached the hotel, we are welcome by the grand exterior of the white building being lighted up in warm lighting.

The location of the hotel is not as good though but is actually fine when there is available free shuttle bus to send you between hotel and the shopping malls while it is easy to reach ferry terminal within 15 to 20 mins ride by cab.

Entering the hotel, the spacious lobby and reception is clean and comfortable that one can actually sleep at the sofa nearby. There is a nice cafe at the side to enjoy a cup of drinks while listening to live singing.

One thing to note is that there are no queen size bed for superior room so best to upgrade it to deluxe room and above if you wish to have a better bed. Superior room itself is equip with bathtub and it is good enough for us to rest for the day without any noise from external environment.

The facilities are very comprehensive too with spacious swimming pool, jacuzzi, Gym and they even equip with Dry Heat Sauna or Steam Room which most of other hotels do not have it.

The breakfast buffet was not as great but with most of the standard dishes like egg station, waffles, salad bar, cereal and bread counter and etc.

Both my girlfriend and I hope to stay longer as we have yet to fully enjoy the facilities over there and I under that there are a few more restaurants and services opening up soon too which will make it a wonderful stay over here.

More of the details at my blog page: http://www.shootnblog.com/?p=591

Room Tip: Upgrade your room to deluxe room instead of superior room. Bring more cold hard cash as hotel do no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

I chose this Hotel after reading all the good reviews on Harmoni One.

I stayed at this hotel for a night on 8/8/12-9/8/12 with my boyfriend in their Superior Room and we havent regret it since then. My boyfriend is a well known finicker and he is already planning for the next stay with them. (that's because we're just 45mins away. Good for a short getaway on weekends)

Harmoni One is one hotel with classic exterior design painted in barley white situated in the heart of Batam Center. The interior are all so nicely and well decorated. I really like the architecture of the hotel.

Upon arrival, you will be served with a cold drink while you wait for your check in. *slurpps*
Apart from the no balcony (which i thought most of the big hotels would have) The room we stayed in was clean and prim. There was no fault for us to find. I guess all rooms come with complimentary toiletries and mini bar supplies in the refrigerator. I attached a few pictures below.

The staff are all very polite and helpful. One thing which impressed me is that the all the housekeepers and cleaners (in fact most of the staff) would greet when they see us - be it at the lobby, corridor, in the lift...

The venue of this hotel is about 10 mins from Batam Center Jetty, megamall and 20 - 25mins away from BCS, Nagoya Hills and Harbour Bay. Very convenient!

Breakfast spread has very limited selection and taste wise is so-so only.

In conclusion, Harmoni One is a good stay, convenient location to all mega shopping mall and it is worth paying for. I will definitely stay with them again :)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Harmoni One Convention Hotel and Service Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harmoni One Convention Hotel and Service Apartments

Address: Jalan Engku Putri No. 1 | Batam Center, Riau Islands Province 29400, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Riau Islands Province > Riau Archipelago > Batam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Batam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Harmoni One Convention Hotel and Service Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 292
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Work and play fuse into one at our boutique hotel in Batam. A haven for business travelers and leisure tourists in search of efficiency and pleasure, Harmoni One Convention Hotel & Service Apartments is well-placed within the heart of Batam near major business and government offices, as well as the city’s entertainment and commercial areas. It has a growing reputation as one of Batam, Indonesia’s finest destinations for successful conferences and business meetings, and also for providing guests with a wealth of comfort within its richly appointed interiors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Venere, Priceline, Odigeo and Despegar.com so you can book your Harmoni One Convention Hotel and Service Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harmoni 1 Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harmoni One Convention Hotel and Service Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.