We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We will not be back!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Harmoni One Convention Hotel and Service Apartments

Save Saved
You added Harmoni One Convention Hotel and Service Apartments to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Harmoni One Convention Hotel and Service Apartments
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jalan Engku Putri No. 1 | Batam Center, Riau Islands Province 29400, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 66 hotels in Batam
Singapore
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“We will not be back!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2011

Went there for a 2D1N trip. Superior room is extremely small. The entire Hotel and the rooms and corridors emited a "musky" scent, not very pleasant. If you are looking for an eggs and susuages breakfast, you will be dissappointed. Typical chinese breakfast with tim sum but dont expect har kow. If you like to eat "paus", then u can stuffed yourself happy, Limited selection of food. Service in the restuarant is non-exsistent.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    31
    85
    52
    14
    11
See reviews for
43
55
2
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2011

We went on a weekend tour to Batam thru a package from Singapore. we stayed in a Deluxe room, and it was a big spacious room and a bathroom. It was neat and clean with all necessary amenities. It had a mini refrigirator, tea/coffee maker, bath tub and seperate shower area. It is priced nominally to the 4 Star facilities provided. The room rate includes of breakfast and it includes atleast 30+ items including American & Asian Breakfast. The swimming pool and fitness centre are located on the rooftop and provides nice relaxation. It has In-Room Spa facilities and again reasonably priced considering its 4 star status.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here and would want to go back again.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2011

Stayed there for one night with my wife and every thing is great.

We did not plan to stay over at Batam but decided to walk in this hotel to chk out. To our suprise, the room rate is cheap with breakfast inclusive and even offer free massage.

We stay in room 327 - is a inner room without external view buy still have a big glass wall that allow us to see the inner deco in between 2 rows of room.

The room is clean n quite, breakfast was ok and so was the massage.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SIngapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2011

Spent our 1st year wedding anniversary in Batam as all airlines tickets are fully booked. I choosed this hotel thinking that the Harris Hotel will be crowded and we want a little privacy. Although i read some reviews saying some negative feedback i still carry on to book in this hotel. The hotel location is not really good as you always need to take taxi if you want to take food, and we all know most of the taxi drivers in batam will try to make money from tourist. Here's my comments with the hotel and Private Car hired by the hotel.

1. The Receptionist did not informed us that we need to pay for a deposit of 2,000,000.00 Rupiah and just swipe my card and ask me to sign. The Receptionist cannot explain when i ask him what is this 2,000,000.00? I ask him if this for my o/s balance he said NO, in the end the other receptionist explained to me. This male receptionist did not gave us a breakfast stub as well and i still need to ask his colleague why he did not gave us the breakfast stub! (Our rooms includes breakfast)

2. Given that the taxi drivers in Batam cannot be trusted and always trying to conned all the tourist as much as they can, that is why we thought thats the reason why the hotel used a private car (but they still called a TAXI) for the guests everytime they ask for, maybe because they are more trusted????? Here's the story.
SInce we are going back in SG and need to take the taxi going to ferry terminal, we asked the bell boy to call for a taxi for us. So he gave us this private car Toyota colour black with plate no 1127 DN and the driver about 45 yrs old to send us in Ferry. The Fee that they charged is 40,000.00 (SG $6) although the hotel is only 5 mins away from ferry.And because the car need to enter the carpark the driver ask us to pay the car park fee! and when my husband said that the car park fee is already included in the payment we made in Hotel he keeps talking in malay and forcing us to pay for the fee. My husband refused and said the taxi fare here is more expensive than in SG and we are not stupid people! The suddenly the driver tried to hit my hiusband in the face, and saying in MALAY words that you are in batam i can do whatever i want to do! Then i started to shout and asked him to stop. He went out from the car and still asking my husband to fight with him, i just pulled my husband coz the driver really looks scary and i'm thinking he will do something wrong to us. With this kind of people we definitely not coming back in this hotel again nor the place!
Thinking that this private car hired by hotel will gave us more comfort and safe journey but it's absolutely wrong.

For all the people who wants to go in Batam, please remember this plate number, he is not only working in this hotel coz in batam even a private car can be used as a taxi (illegal) anytime.

TOYOTA BLACK PLATE NO 1127 DN.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2010

Basically what strikes you when you first arrive is the sheer size of the entrance and the lobby. This looks like a kind of "palace" that is catered for the next Olympic Games waiting for flocks of tourists to stream in by the hundreds. However, once you are in the lobby the size of a soccer field you realize that you are one of the very few guests--basically the place is empty. They had better halved the size and doubled the quality, but it seems that such modeling-analysis was not conducted before construction. There are probably well over 250 rooms out of which ten or maybe twenty are occupied--judging from the number of guests that you (don't) see during the day and at the breakfast--and then multiplying that number with a reasonable guesstimate. Of course this has nothing to do with the quality. Basically the hotel is clean, has a good bed, and provides free internet. The bathroom however is clumsily designed, take for example the oversized bath .(attached in picture). My guess is that no-one will ever take a bath since it would take at least a few hours to fill that mini-pool of about 0.9 mtr deep, 1.8 mtr long and 0.9 mtr width. Hence that space could have been better used by providing more toilet and shower space. For the rest my room was reasonably fine but some of my colleagues apparently found strange things such as round pillars in the middle of their room due to misconstruction. For the rest the breakfast is somewhat under par and so is the evening dinner quality. Basically if you have no choice then you will survive this place but if you have the luxury to chose then it may make sense to look a bit around.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2010

Please do not confuse this hotel with the one in Nagoya. This is the sister hotel, Harmoni One Convention Hotel located just like 5 mins - by taxi - away from the Batam Ferry Terminal. It's newly opened in June/July 2010. About 15-20 mins to Golden Prawn Seafood & 15 mins to Nagoya Hill.

My first impression at the moment i stepped in was: WOW! Definitely top-notch standard! Service was exceptional, some minors hiccups as it is at the teething stage but staff remained polite & professional yet rectified issues swiftly.

Room was immaculately clean, looked new and comfortable. Just wondering how come there wasnt any shampoo/conditioner/shower foam.. But no issue coz luckily i brought some small packs of them. So if ur intending to stay for more than a night, check with them if they in fact actually do provide these necessities when you make ur booking. (Perhaps our chamber maids forgot to replenish those for us?)

You'll notice the swimming pool is at level 6, which is the highest floor. Definitely romantic at sunset..

The ambience at the massage parlour was very cozy & warm and prices were cheap, but sad to say, the full body Indo massage wasnt really great.. neither was the reflexology..

Breakfast spread wasnt much, but its enough. And yes, delicious. You can get plenty of food around the area. There are lots of warungs and roadside stalls.. of course, if you dont mind. I must say, the food was really good!

You can walk to the Mega Mall nearby, otherwise a taxi hired from the company will cost u 35,000 rph/S$5 for just a 5 mins ride. The taxi prices are actually quite steep. We didnt bother hiring a taxi outside though coz for all we know, we might be overcharged even more (heard many many stories). Anyways, we didnt want any risk so we just booked our cabs directly from hotel.

We'd definitely stay longer at this hotel on our next visit. I'd recommend this hotel anytime to anyone who wishes to go Batam.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PERTH
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2010

The Hotel is immediately opposite a large Mesjid and the noise at night is very loud - a good nights sleep is impossible.
My 'junior suite' has the extra space in the form of an unuseable alcove which did not have fully covering curtins and the room could not be made dark at night.
Maintenance was a major problem - room safe did not work; shower would not work. Plumber came to fix shower in the morning and removed a fitting so that neithter bath or shower was available.
Breakfast was meagre and many dishes had run out and not been refilled at 0900 in the morning.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Harmoni One Convention Hotel and Service Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harmoni One Convention Hotel and Service Apartments

Address: Jalan Engku Putri No. 1 | Batam Center, Riau Islands Province 29400, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Riau Islands Province > Riau Archipelago > Batam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Batam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Harmoni One Convention Hotel and Service Apartments 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Work and play fuse into one at our boutique hotel in Batam. A haven for business travelers and leisure tourists in search of efficiency and pleasure, Harmoni One Convention Hotel & Service Apartments is well-placed within the heart of Batam near major business and government offices, as well as the city’s entertainment and commercial areas. It has a growing reputation as one of Batam, Indonesia’s finest destinations for successful conferences and business meetings, and also for providing guests with a wealth of comfort within its richly appointed interiors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Harmoni One Convention Hotel and Service Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harmoni 1 Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harmoni One Convention Hotel and Service Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.