We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and well-located” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Surabaya

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Mercure Surabaya to your Saves list
Mercure Surabaya
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jl Raya Darmo 68-78, Surabaya 60264, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 86 Hotels in Surabaya
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
86 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
“Nice and well-located”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights while travelling across Java.

Arrived very early in the morning after a flight from Bali. On Sunday morning, this hotel is in the 'no car day' zone of the city, so it is somewhat hard to reach by taxi. We had to enter the hotel through the back entrance of the car park. Upon arrival, the room was not yet ready. We left the bags and explored the city, and returned around 14:00, when the room was ready. Location of the hotel is very good for exploring the city, right on a main street and walking distance from Tunjungan Plaza.

The room was reasonably large for a standard room, with a seating area near the window and a large desk. It looked a bit old, but well-maintained and renovated in some parts. It was also very clean. The bathroom looked modern and was also very clean. Wifi was free and fast enough.

We did not use the gym, but it looked well-equipped for a short workout. The pool was large and very beatifully located amidst the trees behind the hotel. With a pool bar and lots of chairs, it was a very nice place to relax. The lobby bar was also nice and sold some very good and cheap bakery items (expensive -but good- coffee though!).

Because we had at first only booked 2 nights, I had to extend my stay for another night. Reception staff quoted a much higher price for the next night. When I showed her that I could book much cheaper using the Accor app right there, she changed the rate when I mailed her a screenshot. Somewhat strange, but correctly handled nonetheless.

Overall, we had a good stay and would certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: High floor rooms have great views over the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sugito A, General Manager at Mercure Surabaya, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear Mr. Bartje,

I would like to thank you for your choosing Mercure Surabaya for your stay when you visit to Surabaya. It is always pleasure to have positive feedback form our guest.

For your information, every sunday morning start from 6am until 10am, we have program Car Free Day, this is to support the environment program from our city, and this is online with ACCOR's Environment Program that we called 'Planet 21'
And our hotel is very good location, eventhough in front of our hotel no car on sunday morning, but still we can serve the guest go in and out from back entrance that very useful.

Again, I thank you for sharing this feedback and I hope we have opportunity to welcome you back in Mercure Surabaya.


Yours Sincerely,

Sugito Adhi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    201
    82
    12
    9
See reviews for
82
37
44
145
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Surabaya
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

This is average hotel in Surabaya, the room is clean and you can ask dvd player n water dispenser for your long stay. Breakfast and pool is good. The location is in cbd but quite far go to nearest mall by walk, you must take taxi around 10 minutes, but I think this hotel is oke for business trip.

Room Tip: You can ask dvd player n water dispenser complimentary for long stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sugito A, General Manager at Mercure Surabaya, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear Mr. Peter,

I would like to thank you for choosing Mercure Surabaya to stay and sharing your experience with us. It is always pleasure to have positive feedback from our guest.

I hope we have opportunity to welcome you back to Mercure Surabaya.

Yours Sincerely,

Sugito Adhi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surabaya, Indonesia
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Nicely located in the heart of the city, easy to reach by any transport means except with your own car ! the car parking space is terribly insufficient and most of the time requires me to park my car on side of the street outside hotel area...

The room is clean. Don't expect for fancy amenities...it provide only basic needs for a single traveller

Reception desk didn't work as efficient as I was expected, they still ask for my ID card when I have presented my Accor Club membership card and when I checked out they have lost hard copy of my data during check in...what a waste of time

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sugito A, General Manager at Mercure Surabaya, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Dear Mr. Rendyas,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Mercure Grand Mirama Surabaya. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback, nevertheless I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectation. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. We hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

a nice hotel located in the central of Surabaya city, an old building, but nicely renovated and I can recommend this hotel to my friends. Keep the excellence service as a standard of Accor Hotel member.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sugito A, General Manager at Mercure Surabaya, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Thank you for choosing Mercure Mirama Surabaya for your stay.
It is always a pleasure to receive feedback
I will share your comment with our team.
I am sure this feedback will serve as encouragement to all of our staffs as we strive to continously improve the quality of our services and we hope your next visit will be a pleasant as the previous one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
78 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

A city hotel which is in easy reach of the airport since most is highway with less jam. Modern and stylish design, nice garden and pool. Staff friendly. Great breakfast buffet. Japanese Restaurant avarage choice and quality. Rooms are spacious, Wifi worked well.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windiarto W, General Manager at Mercure Surabaya, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
We are very appreciate for your time to spend in Mercure Grand Mirama Surabaya.
It is always great to welcome you in your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

My parents were checked in one vacant room , but was occupied by Mr. Cockroach. That was fine. I understood.

About one hour later , I could not get back to my room.The door of the corridor on 2nd floor was locked and my room key did not working to that lock ! I called down and asked operator to send someone to help as I carried some heavy stuffs! Subsequently , I was waiting there after operator said ok ! Five minutes later I called operator again coz no one shows up!

Surprisingly, I was told by operator that I have to go down to reception. Ridiculous, I have to go down? why can't tell me at first place? Additionally, why should I go down? for verification? Come on , I was not asking for open room door.

I could understand all of this , but can anyone say this are not service failures?

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sugito A, General Manager at Mercure Surabaya, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Dear Sir,

I would like to thank you for taking the time the comment following your visit at Mercure Grand Mirama Surabaya.
I regret that your stay did not meet up to your expectations. It is feedback such as yours that enables us to reinforce the quality of service and we really appreciate your constructive comments.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again soon in Mercure Grand Mirama Surabaya.

Yours Sincerely,

Sugito Adhi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Front desk staffs were very pleasant & accommodating.
Cleanliness in the room are a welcome.
Blue Bird counter staffs are always on hand to arrange your transportation.
Would definitely make Mercure Surabaya my choice of stay.
A Big Thank You for making my stay a wonderful one.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sugito A, General Manager at Mercure Surabaya, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Dear Sir,

We sincerely appreciate you taking the time to inform us of your recent experience in Mercure Grand Mirama Surabaya.
It is always pleasure to have comment like yours and I will share it to our team.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Yours Sincerely,

Sugito Adhi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mercure Surabaya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Surabaya

Address: Jl Raya Darmo 68-78, Surabaya 60264, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Java > East Java > Surabaya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Surabaya
#13 Luxury Hotel in Surabaya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Surabaya 4*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently situated on the main route through Surabaya, next to consulate and government offices as well as tourist attractions such as the Tugu Pahlawan heroes monument and the Zoo. Ideal for business and leisure travel, boasting easy access to Gubeng railway station and the airport, the Mercure Surabaya hotel features 126 rooms including seven suites with exclusive butler service, two restaurants, coffee lounge, pool bar, three meeting rooms, ballroom, swimming pool, fitness centre and spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Mercure Surabaya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Surabaya Hotel Surabaya
Mercure Surabaya Java

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Surabaya, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.