We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good choice in comparison” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bromo Cottages Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Bromo Cottages Hotel to your Saves list
Bromo Cottages Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Tosari, Surabaya 67177, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #60 of 76 Hotels in Surabaya
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A good choice in comparison”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

First of all, it's really hard to find any consistently good reviews of accommodation options at Mount Bromo itself.

This place is beautifully located up in the mountains at about 1700m (we were told). The view right outside all the rooms are the valleys and slopes of the mountains, but you're at cloud level so you may not always be able to see much. The rooms itself was not in tip top condition but was clean and comfortable. Which was definitely good enough for us. We also didn't experience any lack of hot water, just a lack of shampoo because only liquid soap was provided.

We didn't come to Mt Bromo to stay in luxury, we came to see the volcano. Staying here allowed us to sleep a little longer the night before and launch our ascent at 3.30am to catch the sunrise from just before 4am. If we had stayed further down the mountain in other neighbouring towns, we would have to start at 1 or 2am and probably be tired by the time we got to the top.

I highly recommend this place if your priority is to experience and see Mt Bromo without having to endure a long drive in the wee hours of the morning to get there in time for the sunrise.

Room Tip: Request for rooms nearer the lobby, unless you enjoy climbing steps.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    23
    67
    54
    53
See reviews for
34
100
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

We knew what to expect after reading all the comments here and were not surprised.... The hotel is at a remote location close to Bromo mountain (30min drive by jeep) and offers the necessary functionalities for a one-night-visit: small cottages, rather dank and unventilated, a really small and dark bathroom with a mouldy shower curtain and a hard mattress... and not much more. (no heating)
But: for the one (half) night that most people stay there, this is absolutely ok. You get 25l hot water per hour, which is ok for two people.
The restaurant offers a variety of food that is also ok (e.g. bami goreng is really tasty) - if you bring your own food there is no water heater in the room (might be possible to rent one).
The elevator is now finished but the question is if you really need it and if it might not have been better to renovate the rooms instead....? :-/
Since there are no alternatives (apart from homestays): the hotel is ok for one night - the prices are ridiculously high - bring a warm pyjama and socks since it gets very cold at night
and: if you visit Bromo for sunrise bring an extra warm jacket, it gets really cold and windy there (but you can also rent jackets for 10.000 IDR)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

We were booked in the Bromo Cottages by a Tour operator in view of our visit to Mount Bromo.
The welcome was very warm and the staff was very friendly and helpfull in carrying our luggage to the lower levels.
The rooms are very basic, the strict minimum of equipment, no heaters, the walls are quite thin. No complaint on cleanliness.
It was quite cold and humid (especially the bed) and warm clothing was an absolute must (the hotel rents out warm jackets and vests)
The breakfast was ok but not much more.
The absolute pro are the splendid location and the magnificient view (if the wheather is ok) which make you forget the "little lack of comfort".
This hotel is well for a night's stay, but not for longer.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

We reached the hotel at about 9pm in the night. We were served ginger tea as a welcome drink. On a cold night, the drink was perfect. The reception area was at the ground level and all the rooms were constructed downwards along the hill-slope. We were allocated rooms which were about 3 levels below the reception counter. The lift was under repair and we had to lug our luggage down flights of steps to reach the rooms. You could of course ask the hotel porter to carry your luggage to the room. From the reception area to the rooms, the path was not well-lighted and not even. It was quite tough for the old folks in our group who had to walk slowly and carefully.

Our room was single-bedded. There were also rooms with double-bed. The room looks old but clean enough. There was no supply of water in the room. We called the operator for hot water and their staff appeared quite fast to deliver the hot water. The room was rather cold at night even without air-con. The walls between the rooms were thin. We could hear the voices of our neighbors clearly.

We woke out the next morning at 3am to get ready for our visit to Mount Bromo. There was free supply of hot tea and coffee at the restaurant. However, there was only a pot each of both beverages and not sufficient for a huge crowd. We came back from our visit to Mount Bromo at about 9am and took our breakfast at the hotel. The food was nothing fantastic but good enough to fill the hungry stomach.

The view around the hotel was beautiful. Lots of greenery. One moment, you could see the view clearly and the next moment, the view was hidden by mist.

We were told by our tour guide that this hotel was conveniently located and the only hotel in the area. The local folks there also offer home-stay. However, if you want to stay in a hotel, there is not much choice.

Room Tip: If you do not want to walk to far, ask for room at one level below the reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

This hotel serves it's purpose if you are visiting Mount Bromo. Rooms are basic, bathrooms ok for 1-2 nights. We stayed 1 night to visit Mount Bromo at 3am the next day.
I guess the surroundings are so scenic, you wouldn't want to spend too much time in the hotel anyway.
Not much choice for breakfast though - fried rice, bread, margarine & jam and boiled eggs.
Overall, just average - and its the best in the area!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

I followed a large group of students to visit Mount Bromo and from what I understand, this hotel is the most centrally located. The landscaping is nice and the view of the mountains pleasant. But the room was a real disappointment. The room was extremely dim due to the lack of lights. There was no kettle which would be useful in cold weather. The bed was far too soft and lumpy. The wooden walls were too thin so I could hear a lot of surrounding noise. Breakfast was very limited and dinner was nothing much to shout about.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Bromo cottages is an excellently situated hotel on the slope of hill. Infact, its the only good hotel over the bromo mountain. Its a recently constructed hotel with renovation going on. The road leading to hotel is not good and it has a sharp slope also, make sure your brakes are working properly. The view is excellent as all the rooms face the valley. The good thing about the resort is that they have sliding lifts as it has many floors (under process at the time of visit). Staff is friendly but the room services are bit slow. They provide with excess of food per person and its too much for one person. Its all included in room rates as there is no good restaurant also nearby. All shops in tosari close by 4pm!! The ride to the Penanjakan view point and Bromo starts at 3am and finishes by 10am... It was a memorable day spending out there as you get to see so many new things over a period of 24 hrs. However the hotel is bit costly ranging to almost 150 US $ per night

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bromo Cottages Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bromo Cottages Hotel

Address: Tosari, Surabaya 67177, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Java > East Java > Surabaya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 76 Hotels in Surabaya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Bromo Cottages Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 83
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Otel so you can book your Bromo Cottages Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bromo Hotel Surabaya
Bromo Cottages Hotel Surabaya, Java

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bromo Cottages Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.