We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“disappointing” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Garden Palace Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Garden Palace Hotel to your Saves list
Garden Palace Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jl Yos Sudarso 11, Surabaya 60271 , Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 86 Hotels in Surabaya
Heeze
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

My room didnt even look like on the booking, smoking on corridors,wallpaper coming down from wall, renovation on my floor etc...the staff is nice and the location is good. the bar just outside the hotel is a place for ladies of the nght.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RirienW, Direktur Penjualan at Garden Palace Hotel, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
Dear Mr. Antony B,
Greetings from Garden Palace Hotel Surabaya.
First of all please accept our deepest apology for the inconvenience you had during your stay. Basicly we already provide one floor for smooking room for each room category and we do apologize if you have got a room on the smooking floor and perhaps we are running very high occupancy at that time so we can not change your room with different floor. For the wallpaper we already change with the new one and refresh all amenities accordingly. Thank you once again for your input. But we are so proud that you mention about our nice staff and our strategic location.
We are looking forward to welcoming you and serve you again, of course with our improve of services.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    61
    35
    13
    6
See reviews for
29
18
13
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Balikpapan, Indonesia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

This is the second time, i visiting this hotel. it's located in the centre of surabaya, near to Delta Plaza & WTC. Service quality from receptionist, 'more surprised' than before (1st time visit).
Positive:
Security and bellboy who welcome in front always nice and welcome to person who will come to this hotel. And this hotel have good internet at your room even every 1-2 hours, you must login internet again.
But
NEGATIVE experience i got are
When I check-in, I just give receptionist hotel voucher and the receptionist didn't ask anything (my identity card or deposit money) just give me a key for room. Maybe already have guest archive or he is new receptionist.
But one thing always same from receptionist, they never tell you, when the time for breakfast except you ask they. Normally receptionist will tell when the breakfast service is available after they give you a key.
There's no consistency between information and receptionist, when i stay there i ask information about check-out time and she told me 1 o'clock. But at 11 o'clock from receptionist told me check-out time is 12 o'clock. This information, automatically make me confuse...
If you lucky, you will get welcome (smile) receptionist, but if you bad luck, you'll get not welcome receptionist. When I stayed there, i want ask for internet facility and i show small paper to receptionist. Then she asked me with not welcome face, high tone and like didn't believe i got internet coupon for royale room even I stay at deluxe room.I almost angry in there too, because I got that internet coupon from other receptionist who help me check-in7 I didn't know type coupon, this hotel gave to their guest.
Room quality,i think must renovated. Even i stay at deluxe room, i found some furniture old and must repaired.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RirienW, Direktur Penjualan at Garden Palace Hotel, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Dear Mr. Andhika G,
Greetings from Garden Palace. First of all we would like to say thank you for allowing your valuable time to wrote a reviews during your stay. We are truly sorry about your bad experience you got and we already make a schedule for re-train our staff to fix this kind of situation. Thank you for once again your honest feedback and accept our deepest apology for this inconvenience. But we are very glad that you say our entrance staffs are very smiley and welcome look, we will share this good feedback to them. We are looking forward to welcoming you again on your next visit, of course with our improved of services.
Thank you Mr. Andhika and have a great day
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tegal, Jawa Tengah, Indonesia
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

i book this hotel via agoda, for the Club room. nice room but is a little bit wierd, in agoda said i have a club facilities, but the reception did't mention anything. And i come at 03pm in the afternoon, the room is not ready yet. check in need very long wait. But the Green house restaurant staf is very good,

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RirienW, Direktur Penjualan at Garden Palace Hotel, responded to this review, May 10, 2014
Dear C_Agustin,
Thank you for taking your time to wrote a reviews during your stay. Please accept our deeply apologize for the inconvenience you had. We already brief our staff and make sure it won't be happen again. Thank you you about your positive reviews about our new Club room and our new restaurant.
We are looking forward to welcoming you again, of course with better improve of services.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

Nearby to Surabaya & Tunjungan Plaza, submarine museum and other interesting places. Do try nasi pecal at famous rumah makan nearby the hotel. Dont forget the ice cream homemade cafe just in front of the hotel................................................................................................

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RirienW, Direktur Penjualan at Garden Palace Hotel, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Dear Mr. Broshaff,
Greetings from us ...
It was nice to read your positive feedback during your stay and thank you so much for your review. It's so glad that our location is in the hearth of Surabaya which is so many memorable and impress location near us also the traditional culinary surround us and i'm sure you already know it.
Can't wait to welcoming you on your next visit and keep remember us for your plan to stay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wuhan, China
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

It is at center of Surabaya, very good location, 5 mins walk to shopping mall. Lobby looks very nice and large. But the room is too old and facilities are not clean. Smell is terrible, too. Wifi is very poor in rooms. I have to go down to lobby to send emails.

Room Tip: The royal club level maybe in better condition.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RirienW, Direktur Penjualan at Garden Palace Hotel, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Dear Mr.
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback following your recent stay with us.

We are sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations although it was nice to hear that you mention about our strategic location and our lobby, really appreciate it.
You are correct that we were obliged to carry out some essential repairs for guests facilities. Hopefully it will done soon, also about other things, we'll make sure will brief our department concerned involved on this. Thank you once again for your honest feedback.
Please give us an opportunity to serve you again, surely with our improve and better services and facilities.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surabaya, Indonesia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

This was my third visit here, always love the location (heart of the town) and the theme room (always go with japanese, because the bed was low and its just very thematic room!).
it was an old hotel, but they do a renovation here and there, and one most loveable renovation was their restaurant! now they had a modern chic restaurant with an outdoor area, but unfortunately they have less food choice than before, nor go with the taste of course ;)
the hotel is very suited for business, or just for leisure with family or couple. And I will always love their luxurious lobby and their luxurious public bathroom

Room Tip: they have so many room, all was good, such like standart room who was very standart but chic, and de...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RirienW, Direktur Penjualan at Garden Palace Hotel, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Dear Ms. Dita,
Thank you for choosing to stay with us again. We all know that you are our regular guest and we very proud of it. We also glad for your positive comment about our renovation and of course about our Japanese Thematic room, most people love the Japanese Theme.
We are grateful that you are pleased with our services and facilities, especially our newly Green House Kitchen Bistro, lobby and also public bathroom. We do apologize for your inconvenience about less of food variety. We will improved more choices in the future.
Once again thank you so much for choosing us and let us always be your second home for you in Surabaya.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

The food menu was not same with actual food. I have to call the room service operator to make sure the food i have orderred same with menu list. It wasnt comfortable, becoz i was worried the food its not the same.
Other thing, wifi connection very bad, signal very poor inside the room.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RirienW, Direktur Penjualan at Garden Palace Hotel, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Dear Mr. Harpur,
Warmest Greetings from Garden Palace Hotel,
Thank you for spending time to wrote a details review during your stay. We truly apologize for the inconvenience you had on your stay. We take this mater seriously and already brief all department concerned who involved on this and make sure it will not happen again in the future.
Once again thank you for positive feedback and honestly it's very an useful information to us. We are looking forward to welcoming you again on your next stay, surely with better improved services and facilities
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Garden Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden Palace Hotel

Address: Jl Yos Sudarso 11, Surabaya 60271 , Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Java > East Java > Surabaya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Surabaya
#17 Luxury Hotel in Surabaya
#18 Spa Hotel in Surabaya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Garden Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 360
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary High-rise Hotel located in city center. Garden Palace is 4stars hotel whom located on the heart of Surabaya; near Mall, Shopping centre, Business building, Entertaiment district, Historycal building of Surabaya. We have 379 rooms including New Standard, Superior, Suite & also have Deluxe Theme Premium room; Japanese, Roman, Oriental(new renovation) & Nusantara.Our Facilities including : Courtesy Rooms, Business Centre, Clark Hatch Fitness Centre, Drug Store, Musholla, Claudia Rent Car, Hotel Taxi,.There are 6 restaurant : Ming Court Chinese Restaurant, Nishiki Shabu House, Green House Kitchen Bistro, Vista Bake & Bistro, Curabhaya Lounge, and Cat's Pajamas. We also Have many kinds of meeting rooms for your bussiness, party, wedding & another your memorable event, we have 4 kind of meeting room as follow : Caesar Palace Ballroom, Crystal Mainhall & Crystal Plaza, Regency Mainhall & Regency Plaza, Borobudur Room, Nishiki Room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Garden Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garden Palace Hotel Surabaya, Java

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Garden Palace Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.