We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool, artsy & friendly service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Artotel Surabaya

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Artotel Surabaya to your Saves list
Artotel Surabaya
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Jl Dr. Soetomo 79 - 81, Surabaya 60264, Indonesia   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
WEEKEND ESCAPE
Ranked #12 of 87 Hotels in Surabaya
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
169 helpful votes 169 helpful votes
“Cool, artsy & friendly service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Stayed there for one night on our third day in Surabaya – recommended by the hotel booking service at the airport who said it would be appealing to younger guests.

Beautiful lobby with some of the art displayed there for sale. I was surprised + glad that we could get 50% discount on food with my student card. A la carte choices at Roca are awesome and it also seems to be a hangout place not only for hotel guests which is great and they had a band performing in the evening.

The only thing I wish the hotel could have a look at is having stable wifi for smartphone use in guest rooms.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 166
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    93
    26
    4
    1
See reviews for
20
26
10
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kuta, Indonesia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
176 helpful votes 176 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Stayed in this hotel last December.
All I can say is : Great!

Service : From the reception til the cafe crew, They put smile and heart on everything they doing. The nice reception lady helped me to print my flight ticket for free, still with a good smile to do it. Which I really appreciated.

Room : Superb, Comfy bed, Great choices of TV channel, Large window with city view, little touch of art here and there. Even the room door is artsy :)

Cafe : Good and large breakfast menu. I tried the dinner once, and it's nice.

There is a minimart on the 1st floor.
Just give them a call, they'll deliver the items you need to your room.

I'll be back... :)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 164
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArtotelSurabaya, Manager at Artotel Surabaya, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear Richard,

Thank you for your choosing Artotel Surabaya as your accomodation during your stay at Surabaya. We do appreciate with your comment in Trip Advisor.
We are waiting for your next coming at Artotel SUrabaya & hopefully you will have an ARTmazing stay again here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
159 helpful votes 159 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012 via mobile

I love this hotel, it's very affordable and the service were really good. The receptionist is very friendly, the room is clean, the hotel is quiet makes it easy to get a rest.

The location is pretty much in the centre of Surabaya. Near couple malls such as TP and Sutos.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 152
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendari, Indonesia
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
169 helpful votes 169 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

young , artistic , freedom , clean , nice staff , great location , nice room , crazy idea and concept .

really really love to stayed in here , even i only spent 6 hours in there . very very nice newly hotel !

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denpasar, Indonesia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
156 helpful votes 156 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

This hotel good and fun for shoort travelerer, simple and minimalis.

The service was OK , food was OK , the restaurant need more space during the breakfast time, too small place and to crodit. .

Room is perfect with their paster wifi and perfect tv chanel available in the room, easy acsees to walk around, perfect location to reach the shooping mall and the night live for fun.

Room Tip: Room with the main rood view the 5 floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
155 helpful votes 155 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Had a very nice experience in Artotel Surabaya. Although the rooms were small, but it was OK for a solo traveler like me on a business trip. It met all of your basic needs ; warm shower, basic toiletries, and complimentary water, tea and coffee. The best part was it has many sockets hence you can plug your laptop, mobile charger and anything else at the same time. Had a couple of menu varieties for breakfast, staffs were friendly. Overall it was a good short stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 148
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surabaya, Indonesia
1 review
144 helpful votes 144 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

My first visit to the first ARTsy hotel in Surabaya, ARTotel was very stARTling!
I depARTed at 2 p.m. w/ my pARTners from IBM of Petra Christian University
Mr. Eduard Rudolf shared us how to stART a hospitality business
They impARTed us that being smART w/o working wholeheARTedly is nothing
Increasing profit chART shows that they're not a braggART
Customers always be the main pART of their work
They provide no pool, but there's alfamART that'll serves you well
Me as the pARTicipant felt so peART of all of their repARTees
It's already quARTer to 4 p.m. and we had to go home!
Next visit : pARTy!
"The earth w/o ART is just EH"
Thankyou ARTotel!

Room Tip: If I am not mistaken, there are 3 room sizes available there, 20, 25 and 30. The size matters. If y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Artotel Surabaya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Artotel Surabaya

Address: Jl Dr. Soetomo 79 - 81, Surabaya 60264, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Java > East Java > Surabaya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Surabaya
#11 Spa Hotel in Surabaya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Artotel Surabaya 3.5*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The brand of Artotel is about building a new category in the hospitality industry through a mix of efficiency, simplicity, creativity and an art experience, for business travelers with sophisticated contemporary life style.Collaborating with rising young talented Indonesian contemporary artist & an art galleries, Artotel strives to enhance guest experience & promote the Indonesian Contemporary art to the world.Located in downtown Surabaya, Artotel Surabaya is a perfect place to find a serenity in city rush. A special place for you to indulge your own passion in art. An art inspired hotel is a no frills a accomodation providing best quality basic hotel amenities, where guests can indulge in an ARTISTIC experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Despegar.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Artotel Surabaya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Artotel Surabaya Java

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Artotel Surabaya, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.