We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“cool suramadu bridge view from 16th floor” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Midtown Hotel

Save Saved
You added Midtown Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Midtown Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Jl. Basuki Rahmat 76, Surabaya 60262, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 72 hotels in Surabaya
Jakarta, Jakarta Raya, Indonesia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“cool suramadu bridge view from 16th floor”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

I was stay in Midtown Hotel Surabaya on 2 days from December 11 until December 13, 2012 for businees. I didn't got the single bed, so i got the double bed room in 16th floor. Lucky me because i can saw Suramadu bridge from my room, its very nice view. The staff not realy helpfull, i must bring my big back pack to my room, no staff help me to bring it to room. Wifi signal is exelent, its important to me. Breakfast menu is good taste and variable, not bad. This hotel is very close to Gramedia, ranch market, and tunjungan plaza.

Room Tip: Choose higher floors to get the nice views
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    21
    57
    16
    2
    1
See reviews for
20
11
8
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Any
English first
Craigieburn, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

Great Value for money. Likes: Close to Tunjungan Plaza, Free WiFi internet, Friendly Staff, Great Breakfast selection. Reasonaable laundry rates Dislikes: Hallways often unclean and in need of vacuming, Internet was unreliable and slow speed when connected.

Room Tip: Pay a little extra for a "Superior" room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

i was asked to pay RP166,000 when my son dropped a few drops of fruit juice on the bed sheet. The staff claimed that they cannot clean the juice stained. So i took home the sheet and cleaned it with ordinary cleaning powder. It came off quite easily. I was very frustrated the way they handled it and very rude toward me and my families members

Room Tip: not suitable for family and tourist
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

my local office recommended this new three star hotel, i like the city centre location, next to the sundanese resto, in front of meritus five star hotel and a walking diatance to tunjungan plaza mal. The room is pretty small but good enough for two person and not feeling cramp of the room space. There are some diffrent type of the room depend of the room size.
The bfast is very good for the standard of three star hotel.

I was stayed here for couple times and will stay here again

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Was here for one night to run a business event in the hotel. I was quite impressed. It's only 7 months old so everything is modern and new. I wouldn't call it absolutely top end luxury but it made for a very pleasant stay. The staff at the hotel were fantastic and were brilliant attending to any need we had for our event. I stayed in a "groovy" room which is quite small (it's surprising that in such a small hotel they have managed to pack in 200 rooms) but again all very clean and modern. The townhall restaurant is a nice place for dinner and breakfast although breakfast was quite limited I thought. Sadly I couldn't stay too long in Surabaya but I would like to and would have no problem staying here again especially as its in a convenient part of town.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Klang, Selangor
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

This is at best a 3-star hotel, but because it is new, the furniture and fittings are all very new and the hotel is clean and nice on the inside, though it does look a little dodgy looking from the outside!

Pros: Great location, within walking distance to a nice shopping mall and a Food Court, LCD TV in the room has a USB slot so I can plug in my portable HD, Free Wi-Fi, Staff is friendly and helpful, Relatively inexpensive, if you consider how much the hotel directly across the street costs (Meritus).

Cons: Small-ish room, A dodgy looking liquid for either a hair shampoo, body shampoo or an all-in-one shampoo (not sure), No hairdryer in room (understand it is available by request), the free Wi-Fi is slow, Breakfast lacks variety and is very limited (and they require you to use coupons, don't understand why that is still necessary), No additional pillows in the room. Oh, and don't bother looking for a gym or a pool - there is none.

All in all, an affordable business type hotel if you need to stay in the center of Surabaya city. Although, during my current trip, they mistakenly booked me in a smoking floor when I have specifically requested for a non-smoking one and apparently the hotel was fully booked so they couldn't switch me to a non-smoking room on my first night although they did for subsequent nights. It may sound like a small matter, but for a non-smoker, one night in a smoking floor can be quite horrific.For me, that's a deal breaker. May look for a different hotel next time.

Room Tip: Unless you are a heavy sleeper, ask for rooms at the back of the hotel - the front faces a very busy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surabaya, Indonesia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Been to this hotel for two nights for doing a converence near here. This hotel has best location, wich is downtown and you can find anything around, such as mall, big bookstore, many restaurant, ect.

Internet price is a bit high, but we've got some promotion for their comfortable room, almost a 50% if I see the hotel price now.. This hotel got everything for doing business such as easy accomodation, simple quick but yummy breakfast, comfortable modern clean room with shower.

Unfortunately, for my first night, me and my friend got their fabulous or more higher room, which have transparent bathroom!! OMG... everything is transparent, and the closet too, it makes us uncomfortable, because, its oke if we could see each other taking a bath, but not doin some Pe* or else.. (I think this room is great for a couples without kids, haha)
for second day, we move to their standart room, fyuhh...

Don't have may variations for breakfast, but their breakfast is best for business hotel i've ever tried, almost have same taste with 5star hotel but with lack variation. Their restaurant also have a good design too,

Overall, I like this hotel a lot! Will come here again if I can ;)

Room Tip: choose their standard room for business, or you'll get trapped with their honeymoon room ;)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Midtown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Midtown Hotel

Address: Jl. Basuki Rahmat 76, Surabaya 60262, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Java > East Java > Surabaya
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 72 hotels in Surabaya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Midtown Hotel 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Expedia, Despegar.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Midtown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Midtown Hotel Surabaya, Java

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Midtown Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.