We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“VERY ,VERY, VERY GOOD HOTEL” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Surabaya Plaza Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Surabaya Plaza Hotel to your Saves list
Surabaya Plaza Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jl. Pemuda 31-37, Surabaya 60271, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #39 of 76 Hotels in Surabaya
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    48
    47
    14
    4
See reviews for
18
10
10
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Palm Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2009

It depends on what other hotels you have seen. I saw this as the typical hotel for sales reps who go there just to sleep and don't care much for restaurant, perks, pool,gym, or the staff going the extra mile.

The facilities, must have been nice a while ago, they still preserve good things like room size and distribution of the hotel (two restaurants) etc...unfortunately they still preserve tv's, comforters, mattresses, towels from 1980. Above all not friendly with "late check out times" (they charged me for checking out later that day).

I will never be back, it is what you pay for.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Semarang, Indonesia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2008

I stayed at Surabaya Plaza for 2 night in July 2008. This was my second time visit there. No significant different between my second and first stay (back in 1998). We got a suite room in a price of standar room in other hotel. The room was quite outdated but still comfortable. The breakfast buffet was good compared with surabaya other four star hotel. But the best part of staying at Surabaya Plaza is it located near Plaza Surabaya, so you can get alternative way to spent your time. I absolutely gonna put this hotel on my top list if i go back to Surabaya

  • Liked — the location, the room
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aussie in S'pore
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2008

Recently went down to Surabaya to play golf at many of their fantastic golf courses with some friends. And of course, we needed some good (& safe) accomodation. We booked some business rooms, which are on the higher floors for our stay.

Check in was a breeze, they gave us a complimentary drink coupon for the bar on arrival with our breakfast coupons. The hotel is 7 storeys high and they have smoking and non-smoking floors. The business rooms are big, you walk into a lounge/study area, a huge bathroom, and separate bedroom. There are 2 complimentary bottles of bottled water, and bottled water is very cheap at the supermarket next door.

Though the rooms are slighty dated, it was great value for money. I gave this an excellant rating as I think I got great value, the rooms were clean and the staff helpful as they could be. There is no safe in the rooms, but you can get a safety deposit box at reception for free. Please note that not everyone speaks english well here as it is Indonesia and not their native tongue.

There is a spa downstairs and you can book a traditional or swedish massage for under USD 25 either to your room or downstairs in the spa. It was very professionally done as well. There is a decent gym, and apparently a swimming pool. There is also free transfers (~60min depending on traffic) to the hotel depending on availability. There is also a business centre and broadband access ($) in the hotel, so you can bring your laptop and remain in touch.

Breakfast at the hotel is pretty decent, but more pricey than outside of the hotel, but you know what you are getting at the hotel. Breakfast is served downstairs in an atrium or at their main restaurant. The local food at the hotel is also ok. The restraunts at the hotel are quite quiet. There is not much party life in Surabaya. The place to go is either the Sheraton or the Shangri La bars to feel slightly more entertained.

Location of the hotel is very central, and there is a cab rank outside and it is around the corner from a huge shopping centre. Cabs here are very very cheap, make sure you ask for the meter to be turned on. Check out was easy and we had no problems. If you want a decent, safe place to stay, I would recommend this hotel. If you want more luxury I would recommend staying at the Sheraton, Hyatt or Shangri La, but chances are, you won't be spendng that much time in the hotel anyways.

  • Liked — Value, and proximity to the city.
  • Disliked — Could do with a little more room refurbishment.
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yusak A, Business Executive at Surabaya Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear Mr Lost_in_Civilisation,

Warmest greetings from Surabaya Plaza Hotel.

We are very much grateful that our services could meet your satisfaction during your stay in Surabaya.
We will maintain and improve our services to ensure all our guests are as pleased as you are.

Thank you for choosing Surabaya Plaza Hotel, and we are looking forward to serving you again the next time you are travelling to Surabaya.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Surabaya Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surabaya Plaza Hotel

Address: Jl. Pemuda 31-37, Surabaya 60271, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Java > East Java > Surabaya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Surabaya
#23 Spa Hotel in Surabaya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Surabaya Plaza Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 210
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Surabaya Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surabaya Plaza Hotel Java

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Surabaya Plaza Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.