We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The spa is fantastic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shangri-La Hotel Surabaya

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Shangri-La Hotel Surabaya to your Saves list
Shangri-La Hotel Surabaya
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jl. May. Jend.Sungkono 120, Surabaya 60256, Indonesia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early & Save 15%
Ranked #4 of 76 Hotels in Surabaya
Leesburg, Virginia
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“The spa is fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

Though I could write a book about how nice the hotel is, this review specifically relates to the spa. Though a bit pricey compared to other local spas, the atmosphere of the rooms was fantastic. The lady who treated me did a great job and was able to adjust pressure as I desired. I highly reccomend.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    96
    29
    9
    6
See reviews for
26
23
19
192
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Surabaya, Indonesia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

I stayed two weeks ago, exactly on 26th May 2012 for honeymoon. I was check-in in the night and get a nice room with a spacious and distinctive fragrance. When i looked at the scenery outside of my room, there are excellent views of the swimming pool surrounded by a beautiful decorative lights. Employees also friendly and their service is very good. They explain in detail about the fitness equipment and show me where to spa, jacuzzi and etc. Breakfast menu at the Jamoo Restaurant is varies from different countries and tastes very delicious. And then, swim in the morning is very cool because a lot of trees and water are clean with beautiful views. I 'm very satisfied and would like to stay again some time in the shangri la Hotel Surabaya.

Room Tip: rooms with views of the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Jakarta Raya, Indonesia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

The hotel was superb from the moment I checked-in. The employees quickly remember and accomodate you and what you need. I also liked their transportation service, friendly and safety-conscious driver and the vehicle was in good condition.
The gym and swimming pool were great and room service was awesome. It helps greatly that the employees speak good English, too.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeaTac, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2012

I travel abroad a lot for my job, and there is no other hotel I like to stay at in Surabaya then the Shangri-La. The accommodations are superb, the staff is couteous and accommodating; whatever your needs are, they are happy to make it happen! And let's not forget to mention the great buffet breakfast of international cuisine. Just DELICIOUS!

Room Tip: I prefer the Horizon Club floor, but have also stayed in a regular - just as great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2012

I stayed here for a couple of days. The service was excellent at all levels from the security, doormen, receptionists, and room service! They have a very warm hospitality towards the hotel guests and I truly appreciate their service. The staff is also very helpful in getting me a good local food around the hotel. A very good Indonesian hospitality service!

The lobby is grand and luxurious, definitely Shangri-La typical lobby. The room is also contemporary traditional. I love the bed, it is one of the most comfortable bed I have had! Loving all the details they put in the room, everything in the bathroom is in marbles and give a very luxurious touch to the bathroom. All amenities are provided and all in good condition.

Definitely an excellent hotel in Surabaya! Highly recommend to all visitors!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bealeton, Virginia
Top Contributor
173 reviews 173 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012

I have NEVER been so spoiled in all my life!! Stayed for two weeks, enjoyed a great breakfast in the business lounge and a light dinner there as well. This hotel is VERY REASONABLE along with the staff being the most attentive I have ever come across. I WOULD HIGHLY RECOMMEND this location for anyone staying in Surabaya!!
There is a beautiful mall within walking distance or a $3-4 taxi ride away... good food - room service is very reasonable and food is great. Only complaint was at DESPERADO's they need to install lighting there I like to see what I am eating and don't want to eat at the bar if I have a choice.

Room Tip: SHOW UP - the staff will do the rest!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2012

Very friendly reception when I arrived. Only stayed one night. I included the excellent Business Lounge in my rate for $60 which gave you free drinks, food in the evening, breakfast and free use on meeting facilities. Basement bar provided an entertaining evening with good band and friendly people. Would have liked to have time to explore the area. Only 30 mins to the airport.

Room Tip: Floor 14 is connected to the business lounge level by convenient stairs so you can get some exercise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Shangri-La Hotel Surabaya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel Surabaya

Address: Jl. May. Jend.Sungkono 120, Surabaya 60256, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Java > East Java > Surabaya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Surabaya
#3 Business Hotel in Surabaya
#4 Luxury Hotel in Surabaya
#4 Spa Hotel in Surabaya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel Surabaya 5*
Number of rooms: 383
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shangri-La Hotel, Surabaya is situated in the western area of Surabaya adjacent to with exclusive neighbourhoods and across to the most luxurious shopping mall in the city. This five- star hotel is known for its secure, premier location and resort-like feel with lush tropical greenery and generous outdoor space abound. Being one of the premier Surabaya hotels, guests can easily access numerous golf courses, the city centre business district and the nearby international airport. The award- winning five-star deluxe hotel offers 383 guest rooms and suites, each ideally suited for travellers looking to experience Indonesia from a position of pure graceOur Horizon Club rooms offer the city’s best business services and added personal attention, with the Horizon Club Lounge providing around-the-clock beverage service along with immediate attention to your most critical needs. All rooms contain a deluxe plasma television, DVD entertainment system, and complimentary broadband Internet access.Along with fully-equipped meeting and conference facilities, the hotel also offers 7 excellent restaurants and bars, along with top-end spa and fitness resources. Step into a world of relaxation at the hotel spa for a rejuvenating treatment, get a great workout in the fitness centre or relax beside the pool after a busy day of sightseeing or business meetings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel Surabaya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri La Surabaya
Surabaya Shangri La
Shangri-La Hotel Surabaya Java

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shangri-La Hotel Surabaya, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.