We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heritage values” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Majapahit Surabaya

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Majapahit Surabaya to your Saves list
Hotel Majapahit Surabaya
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jalan Tunjungan 65, Surabaya 60275, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 86 Hotels in Surabaya
Certificate of Excellence 2014
hong kong
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Heritage values”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2011

Any time anyone needs to go to Surabaya, check the hotel's website, and agent sites, to find any temporary/off-season discounts. If there's a USD100 net rate available, grab it for one of the 100-yr-old hotel's deluxe suite-style Garden Terrace rooms. Great heritage ambience, but no private terrace/balcony, so you have to want to stay in a vast "room" with a big glass-partitioned living area, three-section bathroom with gold-plated fixtures and all mod cons.
Good dining facilities, great bakery items, good-sized pool, immaculate gardens.
ONLY negative is the over-loud muzak played on the external terrace "corridor". It disturbs morning sleep/reading/TV-watching.

Room Tip: Double flights of stairs to Terrace level rooms: there is one elevator towards the rear of the hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

493 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    328
    136
    20
    4
    5
See reviews for
78
161
49
114
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

This hotel is THE reference is Surabaya and the price is OK compared to the services offered.
A must do in Surabaya definitely !
We stayed in this hotel one night only when we arrived in Java and it was a very good place to have a rest after more than 17h of flights....
We would therefore recommend this hotel

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

Hotel was built around 1910 and is in great shape with 143 rooms and the largest Presidential Suite in Asia. In the restrooms outside of the rooms in other parts of the hotel, it has pull chains for the toilets and long urinals in the men's rooms. Floor standing mirrors, old heavy wooden furniture in great shape , old chandeliers and ceiling fans adorn the rooms together with wireless internet.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2011

I spent 3 weeks here during a recent business trip to Surabaya. The building is massive and comes full of history. The facility is a bit dated, but the stay was great. The staff here were amazingly warm, friendly and helpful. The breakfast buffet is solid and the Illy cappucinos in the lobby are fabulous. I used the gym regularly and found the equipment only ok. It is a bit old, but workable. The pool is fantastic and someone a peaceful, quiet place in a city that is anything but. Overall, great stay and a place I'd definitely come back to if I were in Surabaya again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2011

Very nice hotel with spacious rooms, an excellent spa and very good dining facilities. The breakfast is one of the best ever.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2011

I had the worst experience with this hotel. A bad yoghurt served by their restaurant during breakfast sent my fiance to spend the night in the hospital on a drip, to deal with a violent case of food poisoning. To cap it all, they charged me 50% of an additional night for the late checkout, as we had to rush to the hospital first and could only come back later to pick up our bags.

The fact they they insisted to charge us in the circumstances shows utter lack of tact at best. But more importantly, I strongly suggest to avoid this hotel as the food quality is questionable. And to top it all, it's infested with mosquitoes.

Only plus point: the place is quite beautiful. The overall standard remains very far from the 5 star hotel it claims to be.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jamescosta0664, General Manager at Hotel Majapahit Surabaya, responded to this review, August 18, 2011
To begin, I honestly do not make it a point to reply to constructive criticisms which are posted here on TripAdvisor. While the team here at Hotel Majapahit strive in every way to make each and every guest enjoy every aspect of their stay, it is always nice to hear what we can do better.

I would like to reply to each of the three problems that you mentioned in your review. To begin, while the hotel truly regrets your fiance's unfortunate sickness, I think I owe it to the hotel team, our guests and those of you who may read this review to reply.

I would like to begin with the allegation that your fiance was admitted to the hospital as a result of food poisoning from a yoghurt she ate at the hotel for breakfast. To begin, once I heard of the incident, I reviewed all the records for the refrigerators to ensure that all food was stored at safe temperatures. I found this to be so. Next, I reviewed purchase records and stock to see if any of the present stock had a date for which the product had expired, this too proved to be all within standard for safe handling of foods. So, I decided that I would contact the hospital that your fiance was treated at to see if there was a diagnosis of food borne illness. The report that the hotel received noted that there was NO CONCLUSIVE EVIDENCE THAT THE SICKNESS WAS A RESULT OF A FOOD BORNE ILLNESS. Additionally, the report did NOT mention anything about the cause possibly being from yoghurt. While this does NOT 100% confirm that your fiance did or did not get sick from food, it surely leaves the door open to the fact that she might have contacted any sickness anywhere she might have eaten within 8 to 12 hours of being admitted to the hospital. And again, the fact that the hospital could NOT verify it was a result of food borne illness, leaves the door open to other factors which might have caused her regretable sickness.

I can assure you that in the 2 years that I have been here and the thousands of meals that we have served, there has NEVER BEEN A CASE OF FOOD BORNE ILLNESS IN THE HOTEL MAJAPAHIT. We have a very good hygiene system in place and have a equally good system of record keeping to prevent many of the causes of food borne illness like out of date stock. So, while the incident with your fiance was truly regretable, I think it unjustified to single out the hotel as the cause.

With regard to your being charged 50% for the late check-out, I must agree with you and say that this is not normal policy and I apologize for this. We will issue a credit card refund for the amount you were charged. We have also taken steps to prevent this issue from happening in the future.

Finally, the problem with mosquitoes! Yes, Indonesia has a mosquito problem and because the hotel is situated in an open courtyard with lot's of greenery, we have our share of mosquitoes, no doubt. However, we also have a very rigid program of fogging and wet fogging which is designed to control and reduce the problem. We have gone as far as fogging at our expense the surrounding properties which might be breeding grounds for mosquitoes and honestly, we have done well in reducing the number of mosquitoes in the area. As a gentle reminder, the mosquito problem in Indonesia is a seasonal problem and there are many more mosquitoes from June through September than the rest of the year here in Surabaya.... Again, we apologize for the problem, but we honestly are doing all that we can while taking into account our guests comfort and safety while we fog.

So, I would like to thank you for the constructive comments and criticisms, and I hope that you understand our reply to the issue you raised with the food poisoning. We take food safety very seriously and therefore take every possible precaution to ensure that we comply with international standards for food safety, handling and quality of product.

Finally, we regret any guest having less than a perfect experience in our hotel and I hope that you will give us another opportunity to demonstrate why HOTEL MAJAPAHIT IS RANKED THE #1 HOTEL IN SURABAYA HERE ON TRIPADVISOR.

Thank you,
James Costa
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evergem, Belgium
Top Contributor
220 reviews 220 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011

Lovely hotel with a great history, worth every dollar. Rooms were big, clean, well maintained...close to perfect in fact. Staff was very friendly and helpfull. Altough you're in the middle of the crowded and busy city you dont hear that noise inside the hotel. Very good restaurant, lovely food and good service. Nice swimmingpool and fitnesscentre. Definatly would and will go back there one day.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Majapahit Surabaya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Majapahit Surabaya

Address: Jalan Tunjungan 65, Surabaya 60275, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Java > East Java > Surabaya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Surabaya
#1 Spa Hotel in Surabaya
#1 Romantic Hotel in Surabaya
#1 Business Hotel in Surabaya
#3 Family Hotel in Surabaya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Majapahit Surabaya 5*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Majapahit is a historic luxury hotel in Surabaya, Indonesia. The hotel was founded in 1910 as Hotel Oranje by Lucas Martin Sarkies. During the Japanese occupation of Indonesia the hotel name was changed to Yamato Hotel. Mantrust Holdings Co. became the new owner in 1969 and it was named after the most enduring kingdom of ancient Indonesia. In 1993 it was formerly operated by the Mandarin Oriental group. PT. Sekman Wisata took over the hotel and changed the name to HOTEL MAJAPAHIT in 2006. Located on Jalan Tunjungan in Indonesia's largest city and capital to East Java, the hotel is located in the centre of Surabaya, close to businesses, government offices and the largest shopping district in Surabaya. HOTEL MAJAPAHIT is trully and oasis in the heart of Surabaya. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Splendia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Majapahit Surabaya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental Surabaya
Surabaya Mandarin Oriental
Hotel Majapahit Surabaya Java

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Majapahit Surabaya, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.