We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Italian taste in Sura” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Fontana

Casa Fontana
Jl. Imam Bonjol, 119, Surabaya, Indonesia
+62 31 5677679
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #43 of 790 Restaurants in Surabaya
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $10 - $50
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Italian restaurant... Italian style... For all the people that likes great food...And join the classic Italian atmosphere. Call for reservations for birthday party and more...
Dongcheng
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Italian taste in Sura”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Typical Italian food here with lot of choices and many good suggestions from Enrico, the Italian chef.
Tried penne amatriciana, penne zola and sausages, ravioli and gnocchi. All taste like mommy food!
Good for business but also for romantic dinner.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    33
    13
    1
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Moderate +”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

If u like italian cuisine,well no regret to try this place.all of the thing in this restaurant wont make you regret for spend your money. If you LIKE italianno :)

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingsport, Tennessee
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Just okay.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

I went here for a friends birthday a few months ago, and I just was not impressed. It was decent, but there are definitely better (and better priced) restaurants to go to in Surabaya. It was also very dark in the restaurant and we felt very rushed to leave. The food was pretty good, but not worth the price.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bien Hoa, Vietnam
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Overpriced”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

After all the wonderful reviews this place received, I went with pretty high expectations. The atmosphere was very nice and the staff were friendly, but I found the food just okay. I also thought that the prices were very high for the portions you received. It was my first and last visit as there are better Italian options in Surabaya.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surabaya, Indonesia
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Best lasagna”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Went for a dinner with 2 friends of mine. We did reserve but on that night it seemed pointless because there were only 2 couples and the three of us. Maybe you need to reserve on certain weekends.

We ordered 3 dishes: lasagna, calzone, and mix grill. Calzone was great! I love it. The lasagna is even better. I think they have the best lasagna in town. The mix grill is rather disappointing.. we ordered the meat to be medium well but they served us a little too much to be considered medium well. Considering there were only few guests they should have put more attention. The fish was also slightly overcooked. That makes the mix grill a bit overpriced. I suggest you order pasta or pizza..

Prepare to pay at least 100k per person. We shared the 3 dishes plus drinks plus gelato. It cost us 138k each. It's pretty worth it if you count out the grill.

The atmosphere is good. I like how they decorate the restaurant. You will feel like you re somewhere abroad. The owner was nice to greet us while we were enjoying the gelato.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Casa Fontana also viewed

 
Surabaya, East Java
Surabaya, East Java
 

Been to Casa Fontana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Fontana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.