We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Colourfull budget hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of favehotel MEX Surabaya

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added favehotel MEX Surabaya to your Saves list
favehotel MEX Surabaya
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jl.Pregolan 1-5 | Mex Building, Surabaya 60262, Indonesia (Formerly Fave Hotel Surabaya)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 87 Hotels in Surabaya
Surabaya, Indonesia
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Colourfull budget hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Favehotel have a strategic place. On downton area. Near with Tunjungan Plaza , 24 hours supermaket Ranch Market. And in front of Boncafe, the famous steak on Surabaya. I like the bath room and the cleanlines.

But I dont recomended this hotel for weekend. Because always full. Consider to early booking.

Room Tip: Choose the room with window, more expensive but its worth.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    105
    69
    18
    4
See reviews for
36
41
21
74
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Well located in city centre next to biggest mall in Surabaya. Very good value for money. Stayed here for 1 night on way back from Bromo. Breakfast spread could be a little room. Standard rooms can be bit claustrophobic with no windows.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

This hotel has a stunning and catchy room, clean, and comfortable. Decent food with a tiny selection for your breakfast. Nice location, you could go to Tunjungan Plasa, McD, or book store and banks easily from this place, you just need to walk around 5 mins.

Room Tip: Try to request lower level room because it's more quiet and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

We stayed in Fave Kemang (Jakarta) and since we liked it a lot, we decided to stay there in Surabaya too. Initially we stayed one night in a superior room without any windows. Though all other things were ok, I did request a room with one upon our return (another two nights). This superior room is excellent value! The room is well layed out: i like the good safe, many sockets, good shower en great comfortable bed. Service is very good too - a small problem with the safe was fixed in no time and everyone was very helpful. One guy at the reception (so sorry to have forgotten his name) was especially nice, making our stay extra smooth. The hotel is really close to one of Surabaya's largest mall.

Room Tip: Room 251 is a superior without any windows - not very nice (unless you are Batman). 603 is a superio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

We love the room so much! Simple, with modern touch and we love the concept of this hotel. It's Pink! We did not have much trouble while staying here for 3 nights except for the shower area which seems to have some drainage problem. Overall it is very good.
This hotel provide delicious breakfast too and it cost only around 50,000rupiah for additional person. This hotel also is very near to Tunjungan Plaza, 5min walk.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013 via mobile

Simpe hotel. It's suit for bussines trip like me. The room is clean, comfy bed, nice bathroom,flat tv. But, when I entered the room i can smells smokes of cigarettes and i'm asking the room service to refresh my room.Overall its fine.

They also have a restaurant at te ground floor named Drago restaurant. 24 hours service and all the food is so yummy and worth to buy with a standard price. I ordered mozarella fritti and chicken cordon blue. All the guest having a breakfast complimentary at this restaurant and its yummy too. I take soto kudus,toast bread,chicken porridge and orange juice for my breakfast.

Overall, it's nice simple hotel for bussiness trip.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medan, Sumatera Utara, Indonesia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

The location is strategic, in the heart of Surabaya city, so it's not very difficult to go anywhere, especially to Tunjungan Plaza, just a walking distance. The room is quite small but it is very clean. Theinterior design is also chic. The problem of the room is the limited amenities. They only provide soap and toothbrush and toothpaste which actually they need to provide sandals and shower cap. And also the AC is noisy. Need to be fixed. Breakfast is nice and staffs are friendly. I would recommend this hotel for you while you are at Surabaya.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to favehotel MEX Surabaya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about favehotel MEX Surabaya

Address: Jl.Pregolan 1-5 | Mex Building, Surabaya 60262, Indonesia (Formerly Fave Hotel Surabaya)
Location: Indonesia > Java > East Java > Surabaya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Surabaya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — favehotel MEX Surabaya 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
78 stylish room.in the heart of Surabaya’s just a short stroll of Tunjungan Plaza. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your favehotel MEX Surabaya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Favehotel MEX Surabaya Java

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage favehotel MEX Surabaya, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.