We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food, Good For Family Gathering/Large Groups” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Layar Seafood

Layar Seafood
Jl. Manyar Kertoarjo 62, Surabaya, Indonesia
+62 31 5683716
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 791 Restaurants in Surabaya
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Chinese, Seafood, Indonesian
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Surabaya, Indonesia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Good Food, Good For Family Gathering/Large Groups”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

Last night we had a farewell dinner for one of our expatriates who has finished his work contract in Surabaya. We were 15 people in long table, and ordered crabs, fish, prawn and some vegetables. Everybody enjoyed the food especially the crabs with various sauce. The most favorite is the one with salted eggs and black pepper.
The restaurant is crowded and quite noisy. It doesn't take long time for them to serve our food, but it takes a bit longer to serve our drinks.
It's a good place for family gathering or dinner with large groups with friends/colleagues. It's better to make a reservation in advance. I don't think it's a suitable place for a couple who need romantic atmosphere....

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    112
    30
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Indonesia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
228 helpful votes 228 helpful votes
“Tasty”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Love the foods, especially asparagus crab soup, grill red snapper, salty egg fried shrimp and Padang sauce crab.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Very Good but just not too friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

No comment about the food it's just fantastic, it just when I get there it just very crowded so i asked one of the waiter about an empty table... but they just stared at me and leave me alone like that... So I waited for people that almost done with their meal. and the coolest thing is you can take as much as chilli as you like.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“A Nice Venue For Business Dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014 via mobile

We used this restaurant everytime we have business dinner. The restaurant has modern design and quite fresh. The service was efficient, everything was managed in reasonably quick response. The food were also great. I like the kepiting telur asin so much. I never felt dissapponted trying all the food in the menu. If you want to have more private room, you could use the room on 2nd floor. Of course, minimum order will apply. The only problem with this restaurant was only the limited parking space.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indonesia
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“Favorite seafood restaurant in surabaya”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Layar is my favorite seafood restaurant in surabaya.
My favorite are " kepiting telor asin" and "sapo tahu seafood"
Must try if visit surabaya

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Layar Seafood also viewed

Surabaya, East Java
Surabaya, East Java
 

Been to Layar Seafood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Layar Seafood, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.