We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Da Rifi Hostel

Da Rifi Hostel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Da Rifi Hostel to your Saves list
Da Rifi Hostel
Jl. Duku II/190 | Pondok Candra Indah, Surabaya 60400, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Denpasar, Bali, Indonesia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Value for money”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

This hostel locate in local people residence, The room is clean, share bath room, available shampoo, no tooth brush and paste, no body soap, many mosquote, you should prepare own lotion mosquote.the owner helpful, not noisy
Far from shopping mall, tourist spot, near by juanda airport. About Rp.35.000/taxi to airport
The owner provide simple breakfast as like bread and noodle. Free coffee or tea.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    11
    5
    0
    3
See reviews for
Families
0
3
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Any
English first
Muttenz, Switzerland
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

The design of the hostel is definitely aimed at backpackers. And for them it is great! We had a spacious and clean room. The shared bathroom was open-air and clean as well. And the owner is a very kind person who will help you in all matters and who prepares lovely fruit juices every morning (which are for free!). Unluckily we have been almost the sole guests so that the big common area was of no real use to meet people. Cons of the place: far away from city center and a lot of mosquitos!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Arriving it looks just like a house. And that is more or less what it is. The dorm room we stayed in had a broken air con but the owner quickly provided fans to help with the heat. The only negative was the noise but that was from other guests.
The lady running the hostel is extremely nice and will do whatever she can to help you! Towels and blankets are readily available as is a laundry service. Breakfast is also provided and was the best food I experienced across my 4 day stay in Java.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

My stay there was really good. I would recommed this hostel to anyone in Surabaya. In special if you plan to travel to Bromo. Dyana was really kind. She gave me all the tips I needed to make my plan of the places I wanted to visit in Java, always thinking about the best prices. This helps me a lot to prepare the trip in Java and to avoid being overcharged in any of the payments I did for the bus and train tickets, so as for finding cheap places where staying. Dyana also waited during 40 minutes with me until the right van arrived the day I left for Bromo. She was really helpful.

The hostel was well clean and the food really good. I had an excelent dinner for free; and breakfast so good as well. The wifi worked fine at the lobby and in the room. You can have free coffee, tea and drinking water.

I had a great stay and would come back there, no doubt. It is priceless when people are helpful and treat you reaaly well when you are far away from home.

Thanks!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

We really can't understand people who says this place is a home away from home... We don't have our home like a dump . Everything is dirty and a mess!! The bed sheets smell like they've never been washed before. The owner is absolutely useless, The only thing she does is surf the internet the whole day.
The son is like a puppet, if the owner is not in the hostel and you ask the son (18 years old) his answer we'll always be "I will ask my mum".
Everywhere says that you can eat whatever you want all day long. Please, if you love your health, don't try. We saw the same pan of fried rice reheated during 48 hours...
It's really difficult to talk with this woman, you ask her one thing and she answers what she wants (complety out of the conversation...). A part from that, it's not cheap at all. We made a booking for two nights, but after 2 hours being there the owner ofered us to spend the night travelling to Bromo (so we didn't stay in the hostel from 12am to 12pm). We had assumed that we only had to pay for one night but she charged us for 2...

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darifi, Owner at Da Rifi Hostel, responded to this review, September 23, 2012
Hello Rataplam and partner,
Greetings from Da Rifi Hostel Surabaya, Indonesia!
Thank you for your review and let us explain your case:
1. If you take a service, any service, whether you take all or just a part of the service, it means you have to pay that service. In anywhere, I think.
In your case, you asked me if you can get free of charge because you didn't take overnight in our hostel that day in line with your plan to join a group to Bromo. But what did you do? Starting you came, you ordered one room which contains 4 beds, only for you both. And after you asked to get free of charge, you didn't leave the room, but you still stayed there from 4 pm until 12 pm. During that hours, you both drank a lots of our mineral water,until your partner refill again and again to put in refrigerator, just like in your own home; because if you are in a hotel, you must pay every single cup you drink while we provide for you for free. And you slept at that room, and got our hot shower facility, even you asked our towels, and you spent hours for our internet facility for free. Moreover, when you were going to Bromo mountain, you both didn't leave the room but all your things were still in the room. So the room could not be filled up by other customers.
2. If you told about our place is dirty and dump, you should have not stayed longer, but you asked me, if I didn't mind you both asked to spend another night.
3. If you think our bed sheet is dirty or bed smell, you can ask a new one and our bed sheet cabinet is 24 hours open, even you can change by yourself like other guests, just like your own home. So, it is not properly that you threw our pillow at the trash. We wash our pillow in washing machine periodically. but not every day, as we always use pillow sheet. If you think I have to throw away our pillow you think so bad, we could not give you the price of IDR 75,000 with free breakfast, free 24 hours drink of cold and hot included coffee and tea, free laundry, free bread and jams 24 hours, free cooking at our kitchen, free towel rent, free blanket rent, free bicycle rent, free hot shower, free ironing your cloths, and many others.
4. I myself cooked for our guests from early morning, and I never serve 48 hours cooking as I know about hygiene, and professionalism, and it is not ethical to serve bad cooking for our customers because it is against business ethics.Many times I cook in front of our guests and it means I never serve 48 hours cooking. When I cooked for you both, you were in Bromo in the morning time, but it didn't mean the cooking I served for you was 48 hours cooking. Another day, I cooked very early in the morning as I do it after I pray every early morning as moslem. So, please don't judge if you didn't really see how I cooked, because it hurt me as I have not been so counted for every service I give.
As I know, mostly backpackers are low-budget availability, so I try to cook by myself to save the budget. And sometimes I use our garden vegetables so it is priceless for me to serve.I concern for backpackers' place to stay as I respect to whom , especially young generation would visit Indonesia because you both will be leaders in the future. By providing affordable price to stay and service, I am happy to be able to be part of the understanding among countries agent in the future. My effort is not limited for only coming to Indonesia just to visit. If you would serve as volunteer to be English teacher to our community, I am ready to give you 100% free accommodation to stay and meals. And I have announced this in one popular website. Some our guests took this opportunity. Please, come again if you concern for our free facility offer.
Best regards,
Dyana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

The one thing according to me make one feel comfortable when traveling in a foreign country is the attitude of the staffs where you're staying. If the staffs come out as friendly, then your whole journey will be more easier and enjoyable too. And exactly the same I found at Da Rifi hostel. I always seek such friendly but not overacting service which helps in many aspects. The Free laundry facility, nice juice, drink service, quality foods were a plus. So, happy staying there. I'd be more happy if the blood sucking mosquitoes weren't there. My partner, Netanya got much annoyed with it.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johor Bahru, Malaysia
Top Contributor
312 reviews 312 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
313 helpful votes 313 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

stay here while transfer back from Ijen and the flight second day early morning. it is at PondOK cHANDRA AREA, very near to airport. behind the Donat Dunkin, or Dewan Badminton Hall. It is behind the mosque, walk from main road, 3 minits.

Stay at doorm, it is clean, toilet too. breakfast are included, plus unlimited tea or coffee. Owner, Puan (don't know the name) are very friednly. 70,000Rp for a night is very reasonable. free laundrt servive too. she help to contact for airport taxi.

there are small stall, 2 minits walking diatance, selling 'SATAY' barbeque chicken with peanut sauce, in 10 for 7000Rp, good taste. walk further a bit to the stall opposite futsal hall, selling fried-rice or noodles, which using Chacoal, not a gas, is really excellent!!.one for 10,000Rp.

there are many shops in between walking distance.

the only thing is there are too many mosquito (luckily not at room).

1. from Airport, take Damri Bus (airport tranfer )in 15,000Rp, than tell the driver you want to drop at Pondok Chandra, (Juanda resorts at your right hand.)than from the junction, take local minibus H4 , tell driver drop at Donald Dunkins, than walk to hostel.
2. from airport, taxi with meter in 50,000Rp. but from hotel to airport, it is 32,000 maximun, tol pay by passenger.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Da Rifi Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Da Rifi Hostel

Address: Jl. Duku II/190 | Pondok Candra Indah, Surabaya 60400, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Java > East Java > Surabaya
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 26 Specialty Lodging in Surabaya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are small hostel to provide affordable price for backpackers to stay. We serve cheap tours to Bromo, Ijen, Yogyakarta, Malang, Bali and so on by rent car. Motorbike service for airport pick up or going around Surabaya and surroundings is also available and need to confirm. We are not hotel so we can't provide service like hotel but we try to give you our best service ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda and HostelBookers so you can book your Da Rifi Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Da Rifi Hostel Surabaya, Java

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Da Rifi Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.