We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not so good place to stay” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Turtle Beach Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sukabumi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Turtle Beach Hotel
Save
You added Turtle Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Ujung Genteng, Sukabumi 3345, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 7 Sukabumi B&B and Inns
Jakarta, Indonesia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“not so good place to stay”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

I stayed at this hotel like 6 months ago, took a while for me to gave a review. But i should give this review, since another reviewer gave good reviews, but from what i experienced there, it is not that good.

The beach is just okay, no nice sand, no nice wave to surf and also no nice coral for you to snorkel. there is no fence around this hotel, which make it is possible for people (non-guest) to passing by just like that, and make some noise at night or early in the morning.
Hotel restaurant, have a long list on its menu, but most of them cant be provided or they would say out of stock, its quite disturbing.

The room is just okay and clean, but you cant get various choices of TV channel due to bad signals.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    8
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
10
3
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bekasi, Indonesia
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

I stay in this hotel with my family and I choose the apartment room. The trip from Bekasi was terrible because the road after Sukabumi is bad and it spend 7 hours drive. But it was good that the hotel is easy to find so we can immidiately take a rest. It is located at the gate of Ujung Genteng Beach area. The staffs are friendly and helpfull. Just ask them anything you need including how to see the turtle and nice spots around the area, such as beach, surfing and Cikaso waterfall. They also offer guide and motorbike to bring us to those spots. The room serice is available until 11 PM, breakfast is included. There is no hot water for bath. There is TV with channels. Water and dispenser with hot and cold is provided in the room, as well as tea and coffee. The swimming pool is located in front of our room. Beach is only walk away and the view is great, but we can not swim here because there are a lot of rocks. When we checked out, the hotel staff give us fried taro for free.

Room Tip: Choose apartment room if you go with family. It has two rooms and big enough for four people. Choose...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

The journey to Ujung Genteng was like hell. 70% of roads are damaged, some of them can be considered as semi off-road. However the site itself (Ujung Genteng) is immensely beautiful. Such a pity that the local government does not seem to be interested in developing it and provide sufficient infrastructure (road, sign, light, public shower, etc).

I became interested with the hotel upon reading people's review and observing its website. Well the actual condition is understandably not really as attractive. The hotel seems to be fairly new (less than 1 year old) but honestly the construction was not at its best. Room's cleanliness is average. One day we found our room was swarmed by ants. The hotel staff fell down due to water dripping from external set of Air Conditioner located right in the hallway. In all fairness I did not visit and review the other hotels/competitors. From the outside, it does look like the best hotel that Ujung Genteng can offer. On a positive note, the hotel looks modern, stylish as well as its lovely swimming pool.

The hotel is situated in front of Ujung Genteng beach - it is one of the great spot to observe amazing sunsets. However it is not the best place to swim or for kids to play sands. One common comment from visitors was that the hotel was unfortunately not at the perfect angle to see the sunset straight from the 2nd floor balcony.

With regards to the staffs, they were friendly and willing to provide support. We needed to ask them to help carry our bags - which they then happily took care of. Over the 3 days 2 nights there, I did not see any of them cleaning our room (do we need to ask again?).

We ordered some snacks from the restaurant, tried the breakfasts and also ordered some fishes. The fishes were great - they know what they are doing. Snacks, omelets were okay, however, the fried rice was much less than tasty. The price of food is on Jakarta (main city) rate.

Some suggestions : provide more added-value to visitors : offer extra service to clean visitor cars ; the trip to pangumbahan beach is only about 2-3 km, the hotel staffs shouldn't charge the same expensive cost that local ojek put on us (Rp 50K) - this should be one of benefit of staying in this hotel ; the hotel staff needs to be more communicative, explain what the hotel can offer (boat, kayak ?), some local tips and trick for Ujung Genteng trip. The hotels at Ujung Genteng need also to work together and contribute to fix the infrastructure there. It is weird to stay at good hotel but we go outside we find that the roads are amazingly sucks.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medan, Sumatera Utara, Indonesia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Thanks to Robert, Ana and there friendly staff for making our weeks stay such a pleasure, The Hotel is brand new with nice clean rooms, comfy beds, pillows and quite AC that work well. Such a nice beach with a great pool overlooking the ocean really relaxing. The fishing was my highlight of our stay, caught some nice fish and the staff served up a delicious Barbecue Fish dish for us right on the beach really romantic with sunsets that you have to see to believe. We will definitely be back soon for a longer stay next time. Don El & Jasmine

Room Tip: The Top floors are quieter and great sunsets on the balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

Thanks for a great time at Lebaran, great food and had a lot of fun in the evening. Went to see the Turtles in the evening, was truly amazing watching the baby turtles running back to the sea. Definately going back very soon, I love diving and spear fishing, incredible.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
87 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

Glad that I found the website of this resort, our kiddos love staying at this hotel as it has a direct access to a beautiful beach. It also has modern room, comfy bad+pillow, and a balcony where our kiddos love to sit and enjoying the view to the beach.

The location is perfect, near Cibuaya beach and Pangumbahan beach as well to see the turtle.

The hotel's cafe and resto serves yummy and affordable food. It's located near the access to the beach, meaning we could enjoy the view while eating, great!

After a 7 hours roadtrip from Jakarta, you deserve to stay in this resort. Recommended.

For detail review you may read it in our travel blog.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

Such a great little find. A very friendly, personal feeling from the staff. Nice rooms and a wonderful location in a really out of the way spot. The place is brand new, and everything is very clean. Beautiful, untouched beach, perfect blue water. There just aren't that many places left in the world like this. I would highly recommend this place!

Room Tip: LOL They're all good. :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Turtle Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turtle Beach Hotel

Address: Ujung Genteng, Sukabumi 3345, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Java > West Java > Sukabumi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Sukabumi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Turtle Beach Hotel is located right on the white coral beach in the newly discovered resort and Turtle conservation area of Ujung Genteng in West Java, just South of Jakarta. The Hotel faces West onto the blue Indean Ocean near the Green Turtle reserve. The Hotel also has a 24 metre swimming pool, with fountain and waterfall, which is surrounded by Palms and Coconut trees. There is a traditionally designed restaurant overlooking the beach, where you can order fresh juices and Japanese, Indonesian, Chinese or European food. Turtle Beach Hotel is truly an exotic resort and we welcome visitors seeking an adventure holiday, surrounded by natural lakes and mountains as well as pristine beaches. For those seeking adventure there is Diving, surfing, fishing, kayaking and exploring as well as seeing the endangered Green Turtles. Turtle Beach Hotel is a once in lifetime discovery holiday to this exclusive Hotel and island paradise retreat. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Turtle Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.