We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All tired paid off by looking at turtle in nature” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ujung Genteng

Ujung Genteng
Surade, Sukabumi, Indonesia
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 11 things to do in Sukabumi
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Beautiful beaches, wildlife, virgin nature.
Bekasi, Indonesia
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
40 attraction reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
141 helpful votes 141 helpful votes
“All tired paid off by looking at turtle in nature”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

It need 7 hours drive from Jakarta to Ujung Genteng and after Sukabumi the road is horrible. There are many lodges there, mostly is traditional belongs to local but there is also good hotel. The beach is beautiful and very natural. But I think the best in Ujung Genteng is turtle. After long and tiring journey, everything was paid off after we saw baby turtle swim into the sea for the first time. The Conservation will release baby turtle twice a day on 8 AM and 5 PM depend on weather. In the evening we can see the turtle spawn. Ask your hotel or lodge staff to ask for the information from the Conservation about the time of turtle release and spawn and make sure you arrive on time or you'll miss the greatest moment. From your hotel or lodge you better use "ojek" (motorbike) because the road is very bad. It take about 5-10 minutes from lodging area. You can ask to the lodge or hotel staff to find motorbike.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    42
    9
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Indonesia
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Not like our expectation”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

A Beach with average type view... but the way to go there is so difficult... bad access to achieve the beach

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Nice view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

I went to Ujung Genteng. At first I think it just ordinary beach, but on the edge of the beach, after the turtle farm, i found a secret beach that is very quiet and untouchable. It has a river that comes from the sea and green scenery. What a heaven!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
55 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Hidden paradise in west java”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

first time I have visit this beach was 1980 when I was junior high school student. The memory of beautiful beach always calling me back. Because I have move to another city, and my job made me travelling to many place. I never have time to visit this place, Once I have time to visit this place on 2012,
The place you should visit is another beach about 2 km before Ujung genteng is Pasir ipis. This mean in sunda language thin sand, you will find rocky beach and not much wave an facing direct to Indian Ocean. Very quite place. and after that you could got to Ujung Genteng beach with white sand and great wave , this beach also facing to Indian ocean, not far from this place you go to turtle breeding area , If you lucky you could see the turtle lying egg in dark night.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bandung, Indonesia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Hidden paradise in Sukabumi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

if visiting the area Sukabumi, West Java, Indonesia try to stop for a moment to the ujung genteng beach. This beach is located at the end of sukabumi area which has very beautiful. this beach have white sand and great wave for surfing. in afternoon, we can see release little turtle to ocean. or we can see turtle nest at the night. dont forget to bring your camera than take sunset and sunrise picture in from beach.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ujung Genteng also viewed

 
Sukabumi, West Java
Sukabumi, West Java
 

Been to Ujung Genteng? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ujung Genteng, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.