We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old Palace need restoration” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Kraton Surakarta

Kraton Surakarta
Baluwarti Village, Kliwon Market District, Solo, Indonesia
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 20 Attractions in Solo
Type: Castles, Cultural
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This 18th-century palace housed King Pakubuwono II and his royal court.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
518 helpful votes 518 helpful votes
“Old Palace need restoration”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

To enter inside the Mangkunegaran , must accompanied by the local guide, mostly the guide has well known so much about mangkunegaran, one thing that I surprised , we can go to the private location that in Jogja Kraton , its prohibited to be visited,

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    38
    31
    9
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Believe in Magic”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

It is a palace with Dutch influence in the architecture. Really rich with culture and history, and there is an actual royal family living in it. It is a place full with supernatural stories and magical beliefs, so expect to hear weird and unbelievable myths to be told by the locals of the tour guides. Respect the local beliefs as the locals believes on jinxes. This is a unique spot in a modern world, as reality and fantasy blurs within the palace's wall. Visit the local village and square within the palace walls and blend in with the warm locals with a smile across their faces.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
42 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“dull”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

After visiting the Kraton in Yogyakarta this one is not worth the visit. It is dirty with not much to see. That being said it is privately run with no funding from the government so upkeep must be expensive. Not worth the visit.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“They need to restore this Kraton !”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

I came here out of curiosity, but I felt very sad and pity this Kraton at first place. The place was really run down ! They had a lot of important things inside this Kraton, but most of the items inside also dusty and dirty.

Inside Kraton, I found batik store and the price was very affordable. But the shop also has a same story with the Kraton, very dirty. I even found a cockroach while trying the batik dress !!

Hope Solo government will do something to restore Kraton to attract more tourists !! If only they restore, this Kraton will look much more nicer than now.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bacolod
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“No English tour. Dusty exhibits. No English labels.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

The place though preserved and pickled in its original state with the patina on the walls and the tiled-roofs palpable enough to be felt, going there was a let down because I cannot appreciate the experience because there was no one to explain it. Worse, you're left to wander around the rectangular galleries on your own. It would have been less painful if the exhibits have an English translation but I guess this Kraton serves only the local tourist. Going around the pendopo is a dusty experience with the ground having the feel of a sandbox. Oh wait, it is indeed a huge sand box. And a more than half of the place was off limits. The staff were disappointing in which they were dismissive to foreign Asian tourists. It's dusty and the place reminded me of my Elementary school playground.

If you're pressed for time in Solo, you can happily skip this one and head to Pasar Klewer.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kraton Surakarta also viewed

 
Solo, Central Java
 

Been to Kraton Surakarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kraton Surakarta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.