We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great services and great food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Sunan Hotel Solo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Sunan Hotel Solo to your Saves list
The Sunan Hotel Solo
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jl. Ahmad Yani 40, Solo 57143, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 50 Hotels in Solo
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Bekasi, Indonesia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great services and great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

It is amazing experiences whilst stay in Sunan Hotel Solo.
The friendly services and amazing food, including traditional food are unforgettable experiences.
Strong recommendation to stay in this hotel.

Special Thanks to Mr. Suhartono SE MM.

Regards,
enDang T-0098 SCCI-0098

Room Tip: any rooms are fine, for me prefer to choose NON SMOKING room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arif M, Ecommerce at The Sunan Hotel Solo, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Dear Ms. Endang,

Warmest greeting from The Sunan Hotel Solo,

Thank you very much for taking your time to write review about our hotel. Its our pleasure hearing good comment from you.

We would like to say thank you concerning your positive feedback about our services and thanks for your awesome comment about our food that you say it as unforgettable experiences.

We will inform Mr. Suhartono SE MM for your kindly greeting. If you need accomodation in the future, please feel free to contact us at 0271 713312 or email to ecommerce@thesunanhotelsolo.com.

We would be very happy to welcoming you back and serve you better.

With our best regards

Arif Mardiyanto
Ecommerce
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    87
    13
    1
    2
See reviews for
91
18
12
73
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
JAKARTA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

We are staying on The Sunan Hotel Solo,
with our Group (Teruci), very pleasent staffs, nice view, nice room for children (family).
also this hotel provided indonesian and international foods, my Son loved this hotel very much..

we will stay on this hotel, the next time we visit Solo

Regards,
Frenni

Room Tip: we are staying on Fifth floor, it's very quiet and the view to the town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arif M, Ecommerce at The Sunan Hotel Solo, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Dear Ms. Frenni

Warmest greeting from The Sunan Hotel Solo,

Its our pleasure hearing your great comment about our hotel. We would like to give our appreciation concerning your recommendation.

Our staff obviously very pleasant could support your group (Teruci) while having vacation or touring at Solo. We had prepared everything that could make your group feel at home with our services and facilities.

Please feel free to contact us again whenever you have group leisure or family vacation at Solo. We will be very glad welcoming you back and serving you better.

With our best regards

Arif Mardiyanto
Ecommerce
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

The hotel is nice but we got the new building which is very awkwardly located... Have to walk through meeting halls to get to the rooms. Room was clean however we could hear what our neighbours up to clearly through the walls. Somehow it feels very cheaply built. Anyway other than that the we had a nice time. Pool was great, had 3 different pools.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yogyakarta, Indonesia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

I say cheap because it cost only USD$40 for 4 star hotel with breakfast if you book online through their website, compare to other 4 star hotel that might cost you up to $60 for the same room.

The staff are very friendly and fast, took me 5 mins only to check in and like 2 mins when check out.

The hotel close to city centre and train station. You can easily find taxi or pedicab around the hotel. If you take pedicab, ask for the price first, otherwise (some of them) will rob you.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel Tony W, Director of Sales & Marketing at The Sunan Hotel Solo, responded to this review, September 4, 2014
Dear Valued Guest ,

Warm Greetings from The Sunan Hotel Solo

Thank you for your precious time to share your valuable review on Trip Advisor.

We are pleased that you took advantages of our facilities and enjoyed your time with our friendly staff. I will shared this with the team specially to our team , I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our product and service.

We are looking forward to welcoming you in the near future.

Wishing you all the best

Sincerely,

Daniel Tony Wibowo
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Jakarta Raya, Indonesia
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel because I need to get to airport to catch my early morning flight. I stayed for 1 nite for Bisniss trip.
Room was clean, nice, bed was comfy.
I hav stayed some hotels at solo, but this one, breakfast was excellent especially for me, one who like indo food.
they took me to the airport for 15 minutes.
Stuff was nice n provide me for a lot of information regarding the hotel.
I will come back to this hotel with my family for vacation because the price is reasonable n room is big, for u who come with kids, this is the rite place.
One thing that u need to consider, this hotel far from main city. But if u hav driver, its ok. For me who live in jakarta, got used to trafic, solo anywhere we go, its close so distance has no issue for me.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arif M, Ecommerce at The Sunan Hotel Solo, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Dear Mr. Erik

Warmest greeting from The Sunan Hotel Solo,

Thank you very much for taking the time writing review about our hotel, we really appreciate it much.

Its our pleasure to serving you with our best effort, we give our gratitude for your positive feedback about our rooms and our breakfast menu. Thanks for enjoying our breakfast menu that actually the most complete in town. While, we are very glad hearing your comment that you will visit our hotel again.

Dont hesitate to contact us whenever you need accommodation in the future. We will be very glad to welcoming you back.

Regards

Arif Mardiyanto
Ecommerce
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

Stayed in the hotel with my 2 yo son and my mom for two nights. I didnt want to expect anything since the rate we got during the long weekend was incredibly low..

.... it caught me by surprises..... it was actually a really pleasant stays!

The room was spacious and clean. I had some relatives visiting us during the stay and the space was enough to receive four guests at a time.

The staffs are very, very friendly. I had a very good moment with one of the chefs during morning breakfast. My 82yo mom was requesting for boiled egg and the chef was in hurry rushing back to the kitchen and 10min later showed up with two nice boiled eggs. Wow, he received this request, made it and delivered it by himself. Well done, chef!

Unfortunately my son and I did not have a time to use the swimming pool as we had a tight schedule there.

To me, it was a very good hotel in Solo, well maintained premises and well training staffs.

Room Tip: No mini-mart in the hotel, thus you have to prepare your amenities well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arif M, Ecommerce at The Sunan Hotel Solo, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Dear Mr. Dana Prawira

Warmest greeting from The Sunan Hotel Solo,

Thank you very much for sharing your unforgettable experience during staying at our hotel. We really appreciate your positive comment.

As our part to give excellent services toward our guest, we try our best effort to exceed guest expectation. Thank you very much for enjoying weekend with us. Hopefully, your family also feel satisfied with our our facilities too.

If you need accommodation in the future, please feel free to contact us at 0271 731312 or email us at ecommerce@thesunanhotelsolo.com

Its our pleasure to welcoming and serving you again in the future.

Regards

Arif Mardiyanto
Ecommerce
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Semarang, Indonesia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

staffs are helpfull, nice pool, good food, nice room, exotice bath room with nice window to bath room. nice interior with many ethnic statue, nice king size bed, the are very serious doing some efforts to make the guest feel comfort...

Room Tip: rooms on the south wing have a good scenery of solo
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arif M, Ecommerce at The Sunan Hotel Solo, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Dear pak Imam,

Warmest greeting from The Sunan Hotel

Thank you very much for taking time sharing your experience while staying at our hotel. We highly appreciate your comment.

Hearing your positive comment about our services and facilities obviously encourages us to deliver the best services to our guest. To exceed guest expectation, we always to make improvement as well as create refurbishment for our room, renovate our restaurant and add new meeting rooms.

Please feel free to contact us at 0271 731312 or email us to ecommerce@thesunanhotelsolo.com if you need accommodation in the future.

We will be very glad to welcoming and serving you better in the future.

With our best regards

Arif Mardiyanto
Ecommerce
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Sunan Hotel Solo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sunan Hotel Solo

Address: Jl. Ahmad Yani 40, Solo 57143, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Java > Central Java > Solo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 50 Hotels in Solo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Sunan Hotel Solo 4*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE SUNAN HOTEL SOLO is The Only Hotel in Solo with World Conference Experiences. A four star hotel accommodation in Solo. Enjoy comfort with the international standard facilities for business & pleasure travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your The Sunan Hotel Solo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Sunan Hotel Solo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.