We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Banquet Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Sunan Hotel Solo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Sunan Hotel Solo to your Saves list
The Sunan Hotel Solo
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jl Ahmad Yani 40, Solo 57143, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 48 Hotels in Solo
Solo, Indonesia
1 review
“Amazing Banquet Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

We are from PT MarkPlus Indonesia, As a company which always held a Seminar monthly, We had the right choice to pick The Sunan Hotel Solo as the venue of our Seminar every month. Besides it's located on the center of Solo city, we really satisfied with service from The Sunan Hotel especially; Banquet Service. Great Service,We were really happy with the service,we recieved.Hands down AMAZING service from banquet,all the preperation with our event. We were all comfortable,felt outstanding,from top to bottom start to finish,everyone from Banquet did an EXCELLENT Job and has a positive attitude.We have no complaints,reasonable prices,very competitive, SMILES and warm cookies,The staff will do anything for you.THANKS a million,your truly a devoted hard working hotel people.Thanks very much from bottom of my heart. Much respect,gratitude and full appreciate,

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    71
    13
    0
    1
See reviews for
84
17
11
60
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

We arrived yesterday at the Sunan Hotel Solo and the stay is worth the trip to get there.
The hotel is really nice, there is a very good gym and also a huge pool if you like swimming. Breakfast buffet offers many choices, including many Indonesian meals, which is great because that's exactly what we were looking for.
It looks like there are as many employees as guests in this hotel, which makes the service excellent. We were hosted by Arif upon our arrival, he was really nice and it was great to be welcomed by him when we arrived. We definitely recommend this hotel to future guests.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IndraWibowo, Executive Assistant Manager Sales & Marketing at The Sunan Hotel Solo, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
Dear Mr. Nicolas,

Warmest greeting from The Sunan Hotel Solo,

Thank you very much for choosing our hotel and giving review about our hotel. We appreciator it so much.

We are very glad to hear that you feel satisfy about our services and willing to recommend the hotel to other travelers. Thanks to your positive comment about our services and facilities, that will be encouragement for us to improve our services.

Thank you for trying our outlet such as gym as well as swimming at our pool. And, we hope you could enjoy our traditional food next time when you visit Solo.

We would be very happy to welcoming you back in the future, don't hesitate to email us at ecommerce@thesunanhotelsolo.com if you need reservation in the future.

With our best regards,

Indra Wibowo
Executive Assistant Manager Sales & Marketing
The Sunan Hotel Solo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malang, Jawa Timur, Indonesia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

This is the second time I came to Sunan Hotel, this time is for a friend's wedding. Thing that is always impressive for me was the great service of banquet staffs. From a very warm greeting at the ballroom entrance till the variety of delicious hot food on the buffet with some suggestions on special menu they served. They even still remember my name which is soo amazing!
Bottom line, Sunan Hotel is a four star hotel with an amazing five star quality of food and service.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dhaka City, Bangladesh
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

After having read the reviews, I agree with most of the reviews posted. Wifi in the room is erratic but the lobby, ballroom and restaurants are of good speed.
Staff are very friendly but their English needs imprvement. I think whatever was lacking was made up by the service provided.
The food in te restaurant was good; advice from the staff helpful and the hoel storwes weere reasonable priced.
Rooms were clean; made up daily and had all the encessary facilities.

Room Tip: Poolside ooms are better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IndraWibowo, Executive Assistant Manager Sales & Marketing at The Sunan Hotel Solo, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear Mr. Babar,

Warmest greeting from The Sunan Hotel Solo,

Thank you for sharing your experience with other traveler while staying at our hotel.

We do apologize if our wifi connection in room is erratic, we had contacted related department to fix this problem. Further, we appreciate your suggestion so much that will be our input to improve hotel services and facilities.

We hope you enjoy our food while staying at our hotel, we have the most complete breakfast menu in town. While, we also open new restaurant that offer different culinary menu at Imperial Taste.
We are gladly welcoming you back at The Sunan Hotel Solo and serve you better in the future.

With our best regards,

Indra Wibowo
Director of Sales & Marketing
The Sunan Hotel Solo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel after lebaran holiday with my big family. We rent 6 rooms and two of them had connecting door on floor 4. When we waited for room check in, the hotel gave us hot ginger as welcome drink, and some cookies. The hotel lacated near a hospital, and solo square. At the centre of lobby area was decorated with a miniature of mosque, which was made by kurms as a symbol of lebaran celebration. Across front desk, there was coffee shop that sold cakes which are very cheap if we buy after 10.00 pm, a slice of cheese cake only cost me 10.000 idr, double chocolate for 13.000 idr, red velvet and many more. The pool actually was not really special only one big pool and one kids pool, but quite fun since some men in my family enjoyed swimming there. Breakfast was one of my favorite thing due to lot of variations. Its soto sulung was great, the angkringan corner was also tasty.. But the most important of all was they really had best hospitality I've ever felt. The receptionist, doorman, waitress never stop smiling to us. I really felt Javanese warmth.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IndraWibowo, Executive Assistant Manager Sales & Marketing at The Sunan Hotel Solo, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear Ms. Poetrie F
Warmest greeting from The Sunan Hotel,

Thank you very much for taking time to sharing your experience while staying at The Sunan Hotel Solo.

We give our highest gratitude since you choose us for your Lebaran holiday. At the moment, we tried to warm Lebaran day with religious atmosphere as represent on the mosque decoration at the lobby. We appreciate your positive feedback about our services such as our breakfast menu, free welcome drink and cookies for check in guest.

Further, we also really glad that you feel satisfy with our hospitality and our friendly staff.
We looking forward welcoming you back at The Sunan, and serve you better in the future.
With our best regards,

Indra Wibowo
Executive Assistant Manager Sales & Marketing
The Sunan Hotel Solo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flores, Indonesia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

The Location near from Solo city, taste culinary, with great hospitality atmosphere,
the best choice when you visit the capital of Batik, the room, lobby area and the coffee lounge are superb,
with the javanese touch combine modern of service this hotel are recommended both for leisure or bussiness trip

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IndraWibowo, Executive Assistant Manager Sales & Marketing at The Sunan Hotel Solo, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear Mr. Bayu

Warmest greeting from The Sunan Hotel,

Thank you very much for taking time for sharing experience with us, and we appreciate your positive feedback.

Its our pleasure that you recommend The Sunan Hotel for both leisure and business trip. While, enjoying coffee at lobby area, you could also try our new restaurant, Imperial Taste that will give you new experience with various culinary menu.

Please feel free to contact us at 0271 731312 or email us to ecommerce@thesunanhotelsolo.com if you need accommodation in the future.

We looking forward to welcoming you back at The Sunan Hotel, and serve you better.

With our best regards

Indra Wibowo
Executive Assistant Manager Sales & Marketing
The Sunan Hotel Solo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denpasar, Bali
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Best location, genuine culinary, great hospitality..
My kids very enjoy to stay there..no doubt as the best choices to stay while visit Solo.
Internet connection so fast and with friendly staff, they sincere assist of your requirement during your stay, "Solovely" typically- friendliness of Solo people.
I stayed in Executive Room in new building and I thought that room is right one to have city view.
Just notice if you bring your own vehicle to Front Office, it would be complimentary for in house guest.
My favorite hotel's staff : Mr. Joko Nugroho

Room Tip: please, reserve for Executive Room in New Building and have a city view upper 2nd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IndraWibowo, Executive Assistant Manager Sales & Marketing at The Sunan Hotel Solo, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear Ms. Ryen

Warmest greeting from The Sunan Hotel Solo,

We appreciate you much for taking time to sharing your experience with us, and thank you very much to stay with The Sunan Hotel while having trip to Solo.

We give highest gratitude for your positive comment about us, and we really glad could give the best services for your family. We wish that you can stay with us again in the future, please feel free to contact us at 0271 731312 or email us at ecommerce@thesunanhotelsolo.com.

We looking forward for welcoming you back in the future and give better services for you.

With our best regards,

Indra Wibowo
Executive Assistant Manager Sales & Marketing
The Sunan Hotel Solo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Sunan Hotel Solo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sunan Hotel Solo

Address: Jl Ahmad Yani 40, Solo 57143, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Java > Central Java > Solo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 48 Hotels in Solo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Sunan Hotel Solo 4*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE SUNAN HOTEL SOLO is The Only Hotel in Solo with World Conference Experiences. A four star hotel accommodation in Solo. Enjoy comfort with the international standard facilities for business & pleasure travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Sunan Hotel Solo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Sunan Hotel Solo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.