We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great museum but shop could be better” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Museum Batik Danar Hadi

Museum Batik Danar Hadi
Jalan Slamet Riyadi No. 261, Solo 57141, Indonesia
+62 271 714326
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 16 attractions in Solo
Type: Specialty Museums
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: The House of Danar Hadi proudly unveils an Integrated Culture Heritage Complex that is destined to become a tourist attraction for the city of Surakarta. It has been founded to preserve and advance the art of batik in Indonesia as part of the national cultural legancy. This integrated tourism center will enhance the attractions to be found in the Central Javanese city, with visitors able to enjoy once again the heritage building nDalem Wuryoningratan, build in the late 19th century and painstakingly restored to its original grandeur by House of Danar Hadi.The Complex will be an arena to witness the development of batik in Indonesia, the process of creating this precious textile and its emergence as part of the contemporary lifestyle. This homage to the history and glory of batik will be found at the nDalem Wuryoningratan, Danar Hadi Batik Museum, Danar Hadi Traditional Batik Showroom and Souvenir and Lounge.
singapore
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
29 attraction reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Great museum but shop could be better”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

We were led on an interesting tour around the museums after a sumptious lunch at the beautiful Soga restaurant. Having seen all those out of this world uniquely beautiful batik pieces, my expectation of what I would find in the shop shot up commensurately. However, for those of us seeking ready to wear, there was not a lot of choice and the store display did not stoke any desire to check out the batik fabrics. I couldn't help but compare how far the Jim Thompson Thai Silk boutiques have advanced compared to the Danar Hadi Batik Boutique which has room for improvement. Overall, a worthwhile visit for the museum and restaurant.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    33
    3
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
geelong
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Serious batik for discerning buyers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

We went to Danar Hadi museum, shop and restaurant again this year. Last year we did the museum in depth which is breathtaking. This visit was to have delicious Gado Gado in Soga restaurant and buy some silk batik. The shop is huge and the staff are very knowledgable. The batiks here are hand printed and machine printed. Everything is explained so you know what you are getting and the quality of the product. You are also paying for traditional designs.
There is nothing else like the quality or standard anywhere in the world so expect to pay high prices. I came away with exquisite silk robes for Aus $50 I think a great price. The lengths of fabric are incredibly beautiful. I would go here first for an education in batik, then you can hit the markets and shops and know what your buying. Much of the batik in the shops is machine made in china.
The whole complex is a beautiful museum complex and retail shop dedicated to the preservation of the history and culture of batik. Please visit and support this jewel of cultural history, wish there were more like it.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlborough, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
100 attraction reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
305 helpful votes 305 helpful votes
“Excellent visit to both the Museum and the 'Factory Tour'”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Excellent large batik museum plus traditional style hand made batik manufacturing. The entrance fee (for the Museum, shop is free entry) is expensive (for Indonesia) at 1DR 25,000 each but you do get a knowledgeable guide to take you around and you not only see the museum part but afterwards get taken around the small 'factory' behind where you can see nearly all the different stages of the production of hand made batik of different qualities - and including the different stages of design, of hand waxing stages, as well as the use of metal design stamps, plus all the dyeing and washing etc etc.
The museum is fascinating if you like textiles and the guide was very informative about each of the thousands of different batiks on display, some pieces over 200 years old as well as some 20th Century pieces and all periods in-between including some rare Dutch designed batik which unlike the Indonesian designs, included drawings of people. You learn a lot about the history of batik as well as the different production methods and how to differentiate good quality from poor quality batik. Java, in particular the Surakarta/Solo area is the original home of batik so obviously this is the best place to learn about it. Unfortunately photography of any sort was not allowed in the Museum area but was fine in the 'factory' and shop areas.
My wife particularly liked the museum part best but for me the batik production part was the most interesting and seeing in detail what happens at each stage was fascinating. It was lunchtime while we were there so some parts were empty as people were away having their lunch but enough people were still present to be able to see exactly what happens. You can take your time and you were not 'pushed through' as happens in some places.
After the 'factory tour' the guide leaves you and you then go through the shop with a large collection of both lengths of batik material and ready made pieces like shirts etc. Clearly most were good quality but also obviously prices were not the cheapest though a bargain compared to Europe or the US etc.. However, plenty of choice and prices were clearly marked.
Afterwards we walked about 5 metres to the next door (but still within the same grounds) Soga Restaurant & Lounge and had our lunch there – also excellent, see my separate review.
Definitely a good & interesting visit to the Museum Batik Danar Hadi and for us, easily the best and most interesting thing to see in Surakarta/Solo

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Beautiful collection of old batiks”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

I spent about 3 hours at Danar Hadi, starting with an excellent lunch at their restaurant. I was the only customer, though I've no idea why it wasn't packed with people. I ate a medley of traditional food from Solo, which gave me a wonderful opportunity to try local favourites, and it was delicious.

The museum was fascinating and very well laid out, with batiks dating back 100 years or more. The entrance fee includes a guided tour and I was impressed by my guide's knowledge and his command of English.

Perhaps the most interesting part of the tour was out at the back, where you enter the batik factory itself. I saw how buyers come in to give their orders, the way in which women check the wax drawings before fabric is dyed and how skilled workers read coded messages detailing the dying shades. Way behind are the batiking sheds, one for men and one for women. On the women's side, there were about 100 workers sitting on the ground in little groups, working away with their cantings. The men were mostly doing batik cap work, using metal patterns to stamp the material. It was HOT back there. The women wore long sleeves and headscarves while the men were mostly topless. Everybody was extremely friendly, and guests are very welcome to try their hand at batiking.

After the tour I had a look around the gallery showcasing beautiful sarongs and designer fashions. I highly recommend this tour if you have any interest in textiles or if you'd like to know more about this important Indonesian art form.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Viborg, Denmark
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“affordable classics”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

It is not merely a museum but also a show room for one of the most well known batik factory in Solo or maybe in Indonesia.
U can find fabrics and clothes for all family member here. Not to mention that the prices are reasonable.
Their collections are classic, elegant and traditional. You should at least bring back a piece if u ever visited Solo.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Museum Batik Danar Hadi also viewed

Solo, Central Java
Solo, Central Java
 

Been to Museum Batik Danar Hadi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Museum Batik Danar Hadi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Museum Batik Danar Hadi to your Saves list