We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of my favourite places to stay in Solo.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Omah Sinten

Omah Sinten
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Omah Sinten to your Saves list
Omah Sinten
Jl. Diponegoro No.34 - 54, Ngarsopuro | in front of the palace of Kraton Mangkunegaran, Solo, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 48 Hotels in Solo
Jakarta, Indonesia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“One of my favourite places to stay in Solo.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

Omah Sinten is a small hotel located right in front of Keraton Mangkunegara. Its decorated with authentic Javanese carvings, furnitures and so on. It also right next to Triwindu Market (antiques market)! The staff are very very friendly and are always happy to help.

The rooms are quite small but not so small that you feel cramped. The shower is nice and there is a tv. I believe they also offer free WiFi. The food is also very delicious and super cheap for a hotel! I was quite surprised to see the price..

They also have a screening room which looked nice and I think they have movie screenings on certain days. All and all this is a lovely place if you are going to Solo. If you don't know where to go, be sure to ask the staff and they will be happy to help.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Omah Sinten, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Dear Ms. Priscilla,

Thank you for your time in writing your real feeling about OmahSinten.
We are always pleased to serve our guests with heart, and their satisfaction is also our expectation.

When your travel brings your back in Solo, OmahSinten would be your second home to stay.
We are much looking forward to welcoming you again in near future.

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    6
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
4
6
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Indonesia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

It is a small hotel with less than 10 rooms with javanese authentic decoration. It also located just in front of Keraton (Palace) Mangkunegaran, 30 second walk to Triwindu Market (antique goods) and just next to one of a popular angkringan (hang out restaurant) in Solo.

The staffs were so friendly and and informative when we were asking about the city's attractions.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Omah Sinten, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Thank you for your comment.
We sincerely hope to welcome you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

We have been to Omah sinten many time before to eat at the restaurant and the food is always delicious. So this time around we decided to stay at the hotel since it is a very prime location. Come to find out it was far from what i had expected. At first the room looked nice except the sheet had a stain and the towel was old and thin. The bed felt very uncomfortable and the whole 2 nights we were there the Air conditioned was only blowing regular air. Despite all this the staff were nice but i would never go back there to stay unfortunately

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Omah Sinten, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Thank you for your visit and stay in OmahSinten and we were most concerned about your inconvenience stay by the air condition wasn't working well, the bed sheet and towel.
We have looked into these to correct situations and we did improvement to ensure such these problems will not occur again to other guests.

If you think you will never come back, please accept our deeply apologize and let us know if you'd like to give us another chance to correct the situation.

Again, thank you for your valued feedback and hope to welcome you again someday.

Sincerely.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

Stayed 2 nights in this lovely hotel. Beds comfortable and great shower. Good breakfast. Very good position across the road from the palace and up the street from Triwindu markets. Traditional style hotel. Open air dining 'room' very nice with carved ceiling and Miller lamps at every turn.

Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Omah Sinten, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
It was our pleasure to have you here in OmahSinten.
Thank you for your comments, and we are much looking forward to welcoming you again someday.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogor
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

One thing i like about Omah Sinten is its location. Imagine how you have chance to wake up just across Mangkunegaran Keraton/Palace. As it is located on the heart of Solo, you can easily access local cuisine (e.g. Nasi Liwet, Gudeg Ceker) from its surrounding.

The hotel decoration is also designed with the local heritage (Javanese) elegance and comfort you. The room was nice, with batik decoration on its ceiling. You can enjoy the experience of being Javanese Sultan for a while.

Price was reasonable for this kind of atmosphere and experience. I would recommend you to stay there if you ever have a chance to visit Solo.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Omah Sinten, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
The most we are expecting from our guest is they would come back and stay experience the same situation as your positive comments, we sincerely appreciated your time to post your feeling about OmahSinten.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

Stayed for 2 nights with family in 2 rooms. Hotel on 3rd floor and has no lifts but the staffs were very helpfu with luggage and shopping stuffs. Breakfast served in room. All staffs were approachable, friendly and polite. In the afternoon there is Javanese songs performed by ladies at the courtyard, very soothing atmosphere. Price for room and restaurant are acceptable for us. Next to the antique market and night market. Location very good. Trishaw ride was a very good experience and we relied on that most. Overall, I personally loved the hotel. Will recommend it to those who love character and heritage.

Room Tip: All rooms are similar. The highest level has the good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Omah Sinten, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Thank you for your time to express your positive and nature comments during stay in OmahSinten Heritage Hotel & Resto.

We sincerely hope to welcome you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

The Omah Sinten is a pretty surprising hotel, and the good news is all surprises have been good! Its traditional architecture, the nice rooms with lots of beautiful wood work and its garden are something you'd expect from a nice resort somewhere by the sea.

But here you are just across from the Palace in Solo and right next to the famous batik village.
We stayed for just one night but certainly wished we could have stayed longer as the city is far larger than we imagined and there seemed to be quite a bit to do.

The food we were served at dinner was very good. Breakfast wasn't bad but it took a bit too long.

Mosquitoes and noise would probably be the only negatives: The hotel does provide some protection against mosquitoes which is a definite plus. But the price to pay for its very central location is a quite a bit of road noise. Although not really a problem for us, ear plugs would probably be a good idea for light sleepers.

On the whole we really enjoyed our stay at the Oman Sinten and would love to go back to the hotel and to Solo!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Omah Sinten, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
We thank you for your post about OmahSInten.
Despite the positive review, we would like to apology for breakfast service took too long at that time. We have improved it and would like to invite you to experience it when you have plan to visit us again in the future.

Thank you and look forward to welcoming you back to OmahSinten Heritage Hotel & Resto.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Omah Sinten? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omah Sinten

Address: Jl. Diponegoro No.34 - 54, Ngarsopuro | in front of the palace of Kraton Mangkunegaran, Solo, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Java > Central Java > Solo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 48 Hotels in Solo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Omah Sinten is located right in front of the Palace of Mangkunegaran Solo, and the must visit Triwindu antique market is just within walking distance. Omah Sinten is situated in the Ngarsopuro area, known for cultural district in Solo or Surakarta. This prime location makes OmahSinten as one of cultural assets in Solo.Omah Sinten is designed as a cultural house, a public space integrating into local wisdom (Javanese culture). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Omah Sinten reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Omah Sinten, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.