We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very good hotel let down by horrendous Spa management” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Solo Paragon Hotel & Residences

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Solo Paragon Hotel & Residences to your Saves list
Solo Paragon Hotel & Residences
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jl. Dr. Soetomo, Solo 57125, Indonesia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 48 Hotels in Solo
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
“A very good hotel let down by horrendous Spa management”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

I'm writing this review now, thanks to the mismanagement of the hotel Spa. Our stay here- 29thApr-30thApr.

We booked the hotel for a one night stay after out visit to Borobudur. Really needed a massage, so decided to visit the hotel's spa managed by Clark hatch in the afternoon to book an evening appointment. Receptionist there did not have a price list, but we finally did manage to 'book' a 90 min session for 2 for 9pm after some language difference challenges, but managed to confirm our booking.

Happily went for dinner expecting a relaxing massage to end the night and our Solo trip. To our horror! The spa told us that there were no therapist available and that the earlier receptionist did not check before accepting our booking!!! What can I say?? Worst spoiler for an otherwise wonderful holiday

The management of the spa needs to badly review their operations and the hotel needs to do something about this too as it ruins visitor's impression of the hotel and their travel experiences


Bernie and Jaime

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM SoloParagon H, General Manager at Solo Paragon Hotel & Residences, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Dear Mr. Barnie and Ms Jaime,

Thank you very much for staying at Solo Paragon Hotel & Residences during your trip to Solo Central Java.

I have reviewed your positive feedback, I do apologize for the mismanagement happened at the Clark & Hatch Spa concerning your booking.

Following up the incident, I have called the Clark & Hatch Manager to make sure that they pay attention and follow up urgently on the incident, and ensure that it will never happen again in the future.

I am looking forward to meet you on your next trip to Solo.

Kind regards,

Budi Prihardjanto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    85
    43
    3
    2
See reviews for
48
15
6
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

The already fair price of the Paragon hotel turned out into an absolute bargain when on checking in I was given an upgrade to a larger room. The room at approx 42 sqm came with a spacious sitting area, kitchenette, and a 4-seater table in addition to the usual features. The airconditioning is good with a separate in-room unit allowing for individual adjustment. Other electrical facilities were less impressive. There is no light over the table or small desk, and neither has a nearby socket that would accomodate a stand-alone lamp. While a water heater is provided, it does not come with a near-by socket.
The bathroom is small as the room is spacious, with relatively basic fittings. Here, the push button operated hairdryer can only be used for very short periods (think seconds) otherwise the electricity trips. Blowdrying even my short hair was rather a challenge.
While service is generally friendly, experiences ranged from the very good to the disappointing. Very good was Tina or Tini at reception, who noticed me waiting for longer than might be expected for my luggage on check-out and followed up. Poor was how after a hotel-wide blackout I needed to call repeatedly to get the supply to my room reinstated (it was not a matter of just resetting the circuitbreakers, something one could do oneself) and in the end only could settle the matter by going down to reception.
Otherwise, the hotel has a nice pool, excellent breakfast spread and good wi-fi throughout the premises. So a pity about the poor electrical engineering.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM SoloParagon H, General Manager at Solo Paragon Hotel & Residences, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Dear Ms Nemuri,

Thank you very much for staying at Solo Paragon during your trip to Solo Central Java.

I have been reviewing your constructive feedback, I do apologize for the inconvenient matters happened during your stay, and we will follow up accordingly.

I thank you for the positive inputs, this will certainly helps us to serve better for our guests in the future.

I am looking forward to meet and welcome you on your next trip to Solo.

Kind regards,

Budi Prihardjanto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights during peak season (year end 2012) and this' my first trip to Solo.
I forgot the room type, but the room is spacious, they have "living room".
The hotel should give attention to the bathroom, since it looks like 2 star hotel.

Location wise, only 5 minutes walk to Jl Slamet Riyadi (center of the city), near to house of city mayor and of course next to Paragon Mall. You can also see the ex First Lady's house from your room (city view room).

Service wise, it's average, nothing memorable.

Will i stay here again on my next visit to Solo? Hmmm... Yes, If Novotel or Best Western is fully booked.

Room Tip: City View and Higher Floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM SoloParagon H, General Manager at Solo Paragon Hotel & Residences, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear Mr. Yuzayakuza,

Thank you very much for your positive inputs, it will certainly helps us to improve our service and products to be better in the future.

FYI, now the Mall that is connected to the hotel has more interesting tenant which opened already such as Centro department store, Black Canyon coffee, adding the rest of existing popular tenant such as Starbucks, Carefour, Solaria, etc.

I am looking forward to welcoming you back on your next stay.

Kind regards,

Budi Prihardjanto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

We stayed 2 nights here, amazed with decoration and interior of lobby and restaurant area (but outdoor area of restaurant is too small and discreet).

Deluxe room is small but space efficient, overall service from the staff is frindly and nice nothing to complain. Pool and gym are fantastic! Really suitable for us to keep fit while on business travel.

Excellent location in the heart of busy Solo, perfect to meet friends and colleagues. Traffic can be tricky, roads around are small and bumpy.

Price is definitely value for money, but of course still could be better.

Keep up guys!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM SoloParagon H, General Manager at Solo Paragon Hotel & Residences, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear Mr. Bowo,

Thank you very much for staying at Solo Paragon Hotel and Residences during your trip to Solo.

The team were very happy to read your positive feedback, and it will certainly helps us to improve our product and services for the future.

I am looking forward to welcoming you back on your next stay.

Kind regards,

Budi Prihardjanto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bali, Indonesia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013 via mobile

I stayed 2 nights at this hotel. Excellent location right in the middle of the city, located right next to a big mall with direct access made me very convenience for just about anything. The room is comfortable however the bathroom is not well polished, there are few spots i found can be cleaned properly with chemical (im also a hotelier so i pay attention might be a little bit too details) the lobby is huge and the breakfast was not bad. The highlight of my entire stay was the staff, super friendly and helpful, especially one particular staff on the front desk, her name is Yesha, she is by far one of the friendliest and most helpful front office agent i have ever met, she remembers my name and she constantly smile and she is very fast in whatever she is doing. Solo Paragon must be really lucky to have a staff like her, she should be rewarded greatly. Solo Paragon hotel is highly reccommended if you are visiting Solo.

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM SoloParagon H, General Manager at Solo Paragon Hotel & Residences, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
Dear Mr. Hansen,

Thank you very much for your positive and constructive Inputs. I am pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us during your trip to Solo. Mr. Prayitno Our Executive Housekeeper has rectify the problem in 'the bathroom and improving the detail cleanliness in It.

Your positive feed back to Yesha has been great motivation for her to do her best to serve our guests, and to grow high in her career, thank you.

I am Looking forward to welcoming you on your next stay at Solo Paragon hotel & Residences

Kind regards,

Budi Prihardjanto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sri Aman
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We stayed in the hotel for 5 nights. It was a deluxe room. When we checked in, it was still early in the morning. The receptionist invited us to sit down with welcome drink while they get ready our room. We checked into a comfortable medium size room. It is very comfortable room. Then we went out to the shopping mall for lunch. There is also the Giant Supermarket. The hotel is within short distance from the double deck tourist bus that we took for the city tour. We really enjoy our stay in Solo. We would like to come back to Solo and stay in the same hotel. The breakfast is a combination of western and local dishes. There is plenty of food to choose from.

Room Tip: Our room was comfortable, clean and peaceful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM SoloParagon H, Manager at Solo Paragon Hotel & Residences, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear Mr. Ahmad,

Thank you very much for choosing Solo Paragon for your accommodation in Solo, I am pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us, as well as the mall which is attached to the hotel. I am looking forward to welcoming you back on your next stay..

Kind regards,

Budi Prihardjanto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Den Bosch
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

We stayed in the hotel for 1 week in aseperior room. To be honest the 2 bedroom appartment is small. Actually it's not a real appartment. There is no kitchen. The masterbedroom is big but the second bedroom is really small. There is only 1 single bed, and no place for more. Rooms are clean. The hotel is next to a nice mall, entrance is directly from the hotel to the mall. Breakfast is good, even some local specialty's. Service is ok.

Room Tip: Take least a room above the sixth floor for the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM SoloParagon H, General Manager at Solo Paragon Hotel & Residences, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Dear Guest ( Mr. Goos164),

Thank you for your positive inputs and comments, we are working on improving the facilities and services to our guests, and we are looking forward to welcoming you back to Solo paragon Hotel & residences.

kind regards,


Budi Prihardjanto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Solo Paragon Hotel & Residences? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solo Paragon Hotel & Residences

Address: Jl. Dr. Soetomo, Solo 57125, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Java > Central Java > Solo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Solo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Solo Paragon Hotel & Residences 4*
Number of rooms: 253
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Solo Paragon Hotel & Residence is located in Solo's prime city centre and strategically integrated on the first mix-used development complex in the central java province .We are offering 253 accommodations of modern minimalist designed rooms ,starts from Superior, Deluxe, Executive to the City Suite Room. Solo Paragon is the first hotel in Solo links to the upscale shopping - lifestyle mall and a dining city-walk all under one roof, Solo Paragon Superblock. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Solo Paragon Hotel & Residences reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Solo Paragon Hotel And Residences

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Solo Paragon Hotel & Residences, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.