We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEST BOUTIQUE HOTEL IN SOLO, WE WILL COME BACK” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rumah Turi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Rumah Turi to your Saves list
Rumah Turi
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jl Srigading II no. 12, Turisari, Solo 57139, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 50 Hotels in Solo
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
“BEST BOUTIQUE HOTEL IN SOLO, WE WILL COME BACK”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

I stayed there in May with my husband and 3-year old child. The staff and owner are utmost friendly and sincere, the architecture is great with very green courtyard. In the morning you can see the irrigation system running to water the plants, marvelous and beautiful. Food is authentic and home-made. We ate everyday in the restaurant. Highly recommended. Location is great. A very tasteful boutique hotel. European travellers will be looking for this kind of hotel. Truly eco hotel with character.

Room Tip: If you are with a child/ children ask for a room on the ground floor, near the restaurant. looking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    29
    11
    2
    1
See reviews for
13
20
14
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Jakarta Raya, Indonesia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

As i didn't keen to a hotel room, so first time we arrived I look at boutique hotel Solo, thanks to Google! I found this charming Rumah Turi, of course life could not been easier without Tripadvisor.

The room is OK..needs updated the interior & the back garden in the room also need to be clean, but at least the bed sheet is white & clean. complement Tea & coffee are available in room.

This Eco-friendly hotel not suitable for family with kids as they don't have swimming pool... luckily my 2 boys (12 & 14) are fine play their iPad supported with a fast wifi.

Service is excellent, they helped us booked the return flights from local agent, and took us a tour to the owners' furniture workshops.. Very pleasant experience. Thanks Rumah Turi:-) xM

Room Tip: corner rooms are unpleasant, choose middle rooms.. much nicer & good view to the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Great, lovely looking hotel, almost love at first sight kind of feeling...from the website to the actual sight of the hotel. I loved what they have done to make it eco friendly, the lush greenaries, lots of wood, looked different and unique. But somehow, I don't know why i still feel something is amiss. If you're expecting a total Eco experience, then you might be in for a disappointment, but if you're just looking for a simple escape away from the concrete jungle, then you'll like it here. Quiet, breezy and simple...in nutshell, a hotel covered with greenaries. Just wished the details in the rooms were more Eco friendly but I'm sure overall it doesn't affect your stay that much. I would recommend you try it for the experience.

Room Tip: Choose the upper floor rooms as there's natural light coming in and brighter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

Tripadvisor lists Rumah Turi in the 'hotel' category rather than with similar unique small hotels that it lists under the 'bed and breakfast' category. The difference between the former and the latter within the context of Solo is the presence of mosquitoes on the premises. Using this as a benchmark, I assign Rumah Turi to the latter category.

Rumah Turi is a simple boutique hotel located in a 1950s Solo residential neighbourhood, one block east of the new Paragon shopping centre, three big blocks west of the Mangkunegaran (15 mins walk) and just north of Jl. Slamet Riyadi. The hotel itself is a little oasis with a big splash of green in the courtyard, rooms are simple but tasteful and clean.

Overall I had a good stay: the staff are extremely helpful and the overall ambience is relaxing. The bed was comfortable, and breakfast in the front yard provided a good start to my day,

Shortcomings relate to the room. I stayed in 'Wuni' room on the ground floor. It gets no direct outside light, and was too dark for reading even with the light on. Using the 'workspace' poses its challenges because there is at most 3" of space between the seat of the chair and the bottom of the drawers. (meaning you can't push in your chair). The waterkettle has no socket near it - to use you you need to put it on the foor and unplug either the fridge or the TV.

The spacious restaurant and its front yard are an excellent day-time alternative to the darkness of your room, but at night the restaurant is very dark and a haunt for mosquitoes. Good coffee, both of the modern and the Javanese type deserves mention, as does the buffet breakfast serving Indonesian cooked food, toast, cut fruits, juices and coffee/tea.

The website is not fully up to date in that the minibar is no longer stocked with anything other than cold water; and the afternoon tea & welcome fruit service was either absent or it overlooked me.

I remark on the shortcomings only thanks to 'notes' I took at the time, at the time they were quickly overcome by the use of mosquito repellent and my travel reading light. The memory has retained only the enjoyable atmosphere of the place, and the excitement of staying in a different corner of Solo.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2012

my husband and I absolutely loved LOVED this place! the surroundings are gorgeous and lush and the rooms are clean and minimally decorated. The bed is unbelievably comfortable! We loved the design of the place and were really impressed how eco-friendly it is. The staff is warm and welcoming. breakfast was filling and delicious. We had a wonderful stay and didnt want to leave! Their recommended spa massage comes to your room - they are quite good.
be warned - it can be very hard to find - we had taxis and locals drive around and around to try and find it. Get the phone number of the hotel and have the taxi driver call them OR have them pick you up from the train station.

Room Tip: upstairs rooms are a little quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indonesia
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2011

Solo weather is quiet hot and sticky so for those from Europe or States maybe having a nice cold hotel will be better than staying here. There is no swimming pool to chill out, the restaurant doesn't have ac. Rooms are okay, clean and cold but still it's surrounding with houses. With the same price I'll rather stay at Ibis or novotel or best western that near the batik shopping has a better access to places and beck in front of it's, and swimming pool. Well thank you for the hospitality rumah Turi but I don't think it worth the money. By the way the street is small and a mad person seems to wander around scared kids too.. Just not nice.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2011

I have booked this hotel thanks to other reviews on Tripadvisor and it was the right choice. The hotel is quiet and comfortable outside the centre/commercial area of Solo. It is an eco-hotel and this is a plus in my opinion. Nearby there are two very nice Indonesian restaurants and a typical fish fast food shop. It is like a bed and breakfast therefore you do not have to except luxus but the bed is comfortable, air conditioning works and mosquees are not loud. Breakfast was fresh and tasty and staff very helpful and friendly. Special thanks to Gitta!
They also arranged for us a tour of temples Candi Sukuh and Cetho which I recommend to everybody. They are more particular, hidden in the jungle and not commercialized like other temples nearby.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rumah Turi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rumah Turi

Address: Jl Srigading II no. 12, Turisari, Solo 57139, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Java > Central Java > Solo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 50 Hotels in Solo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Rumah Turi 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rumah Turi, a feel-at-home hotel in Solo, the first eco-friendly hotel in Solo, a home where guest are always welcome as good friend, the cultural and spiritual core of Central Java, Indonesia. Positioning itself as a "green" boutique hotel steeped in modern minimalist style, rumah Turi attracts and astounds all kinds of discerning travellers - from businesspeople to backpackers - with its cozy ambience, secure and traditional neighbourhood, and elegant style.The charming, homey hotel takes pride in its eco-conscious philosophy as well as its strong, professional commitment to go beyond guests' expectations throughout their stay. The eco-hotel's facilities and impeccable service are designed and executed with your needs and comfort in mind, making a stay at rumah Turi a uniquely genuine and personal experience no words can describe enough about.Travel eco-consciously - stay at rumah Turi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Rumah Turi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rumah Turi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.