We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Novotel Semarang

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Novotel Semarang to your Saves list
Novotel Semarang
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jalan Pemuda 123, Semarang 50132, Indonesia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 46 Hotels in Semarang
Write a Review

450 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    248
    77
    29
    13
See reviews for
137
53
53
173
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

I've stayed in this hotel for many times and I've never been disappointed before with the service. I booked two rooms with a connecting door as I am traveling with my wife and two young kids. We arrived at the hotel on 30 Dec 2012 at around 11 a.m. and we tried to ask for early check-in where we were told that all the rooms with connecting door are not ready. Having aware that the check-in regulation is at 2 p.m., thus, we decided to leave our luggage at the concierge and planned to return to the hotel after the allowed check-in time.

At 2.30 p.m. we arrived at the hotel and our kids were already tired and ready for the afternoon nap. Out of our expectation we were told that none of the rooms are ready to be occupied because the rooms had not been cleaned up and we have to wait for another hour until they are ready. Unbelievable...the check-in time is supposed to be at 2 p.m. and we were asked to understand the situation that the hotel is facing out of our expense. I insisted that we cannot wait for that long and demanded responsibility of the hotel. Eventually, they managed to get one of the rooms ready but we had to wait for another room to be ready and that was not until one hour later after I made another complain at the reception desk (there was another guest complaining the same issue). Another unpleasant experience also occurred the next day during breakfast.

Anyway, I think service quality in this hotel is declining not like it was used to be. We all know that during the year end, most of luxury hotels are usually fully occupied (supposedly) and they should anticipated it already. The people at the front desk and at the restaurant during breakfast, they all gave the same excuse that too many guests/customers and they were out of hand. We paid for the hospitality and service and do we suppose to understand the internal problems of the hotel?

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Severine K, General Manager at Novotel Semarang, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you for your feedback and comment ! I will share your comment to my team.
We are still working day after day to improve our quality and definitely all your comment are well appreciated.
Concerning your comments, please accept my sinceres apologizes, yes the check in time normally is at 2pm but when hotel is full the check out time is a t 12 am and many our guest posponed their check out so that why we were not able to give you rooms on time as it is not only to clean the room but as well the previous client should leave the room first !.
For the restaurant, of course we do anticipate as we were fully booked but we have a limited places in our breakfast room and our clients came in the same time and once again we could not offer free places to them.

Thank you for your understanding.
Hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again in Novotel Semarang!

Mrs Severine Krawec
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

Very stratgec location, near the famous shopping mall
For the culinary lovers, this hotel hardly recomended with location next to traditional "Warung" with attractive menu and reasonable price,,,,,very2 Javanese culinery experiences.
I am enjoing most in walking arround early in the morning arround the hotel.,through lawang sewu - Jl. Thamrin,,with some "Warung" that has opened since 6 am in the morning,,,
However, just wonder if could improved the variation menu on breakfast,,,but over all is,,,,Excellent,,,

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Severine K, General Manager at Novotel Semarang, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
Dear Sir,

Thank you for your feedback and comment ! I will share your comment to my team. We are still working day after day to improve our quality and definitely all your comment are well appreciated.
Thank you again Hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again in Novotel Semarang!


Mrs Severine Krawec
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

The location of Novotel Semarang was awesome. Near to paragon mall, new Econ of Semarang shopping mall. Around Novotel you can find a lot of good food such as Bakmi Djowo, Nasi Liwet and of course wedang Ronde. Bed was ok, breakfast was ok, service was average

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Severine K, General Manager at Novotel Semarang, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
Dear Sir,

Thank you for your feedback and comment ! I will share your comment to my team.
We are still working day after day to improve our quality and definitely all your comment are well appreciated.
Thank you again Hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again in Novotel Semarang!

Mrs Severine Krawec
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yogyakarta, Indonesia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

When you come to Semarang, do not forget to stay at Novotel beside good price with strategic access, very good room facilities, very good cleanliness, and sure very good service. I really recommend you to choose Novotel Semarang.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
severinekrawec, General Manager at Novotel Semarang, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Dear Sir,

Thank you for your feedback and comment ! I will share your comment to my team.

We are still working day after day to improve our quality and definitely all your comment are well appreciated.

Thank you again Hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again in Novotel Semarang!

Mrs Severine Krawec
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Top Contributor
210 reviews 210 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

i already stayed in around the worlds of novotel but this hotel very bad!!! whos general manager here? really not professional. i stayed on november with my parents at room 814 but very bad. that bed you said enough for 3 person, are you kidding me? thats very bad. also your receptionist was very bad. your breakfast food combination was very bad!!! i never recommended this hotel to others!!!! you only win location near with paragon but crown plaza hotel will be more better than yours. your toilet also broken.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sevka, General Manager at Novotel Semarang, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Dear Sir,

Thank you for your feedback and comment ! I will share your comment to my team.
We are still working day after day to improve our quality and definitely all your comment are well appreciated.

Concerning the room that you share with your parents, all our room are equipped with 1 double or twin bed for 2 persons and not for 3 persons, and if any additional person we may add an extra bed ( and on client request, with additional charge) but for sure the room will be more tidy. As I cannot identified your name I cannot answer to your ''complain'' properly. Same as for my staff that you say ''bad'' based on what !. Toilet broken, as far as I know we did not have any problem on your floor. If you wish to give me more information about your stay please feel free to contact me directly.

Thank you once again for your comments. And hope to have the pleasure to meet you personnaly for your next stay.

Best Regards from Semarang!

Mrs Severine Krawec
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Novotel Semarang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Semarang

Address: Jalan Pemuda 123, Semarang 50132, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Java > Central Java > Semarang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Semarang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Semarang 4*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of business district and facing the biggest & newest shopping center. Novotel Semarang offer for all travelers a wide range of facilities such as 24 hours Free Internet Acces in the room & public area, Free pick up & drop service from Hotel to Airport/Train station vv, Fitness Center, Spa&Sauna, Manicure Pedicure, Swimming Pool, Restaurant, Bar & Club and many more....To work or relax, our rooms are designed and well furnished to accomodate your business or leisure. Completed with the sliding & ergonomic working table, Free high speed internet connection, LCD TV, Relaxing Pillow in the rooms and 24 hours room service.Tantalizing your palate with our wide range of delicious dishes at our restaurants. The Square is available for buffet breakfast and Citrus Restaurant is the perfect place to dine or meet your clients. To complete your leisure moments with Novotel, visit our Club 123 ! The most hip place in town with daily live band and resident DJ every night !Semarang is a business city which also offer a rich and beautiful historical heritage such as Kota Lama & Sam po kong temple and also famous with the uniqueness of its culinary. Being a part of this splendid city, Novotel Semarang offers all the best to its customer such with easy access to the biggest shopping center, easy access to and from Airport / Train Station and easy access to tourist destination which make us a perfect and ideal choice for your business and leaisure !WELCOME TO NOVOTEL SEMARANG ........ ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Novotel Semarang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Semarang Hotel Semarang
Semarang Novotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Novotel Semarang, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.