We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing stay.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Novotel Semarang

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Novotel Semarang to your Saves list
Novotel Semarang
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jalan Pemuda 123, Semarang 50132, Indonesia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 46 Hotels in Semarang
Grantham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Relaxing stay.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

I was fortunate enough to stay at the Novotel, Semarang with my fiancee in July 2012. High quality hotel with first class service. Novotel Semarang is 5 minutes walk from Paragon Mall. Food was good but slightly expensive. Whilst I stayed at the Novotel, maintenance work was taking place on the plumbing system. Reception was polite enough to inform me of this in advance adding to the first class service. I hope to stay at the Novotel again in the future.

Room Tip: Small car park at the hotel. Check prices online.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sevka, General Manager at Novotel Semarang, responded to this review, July 27, 2012
Dear Sir,

Thank you for your feedback and comment ! I will share your comment to my team. We are still working day after day to improve our quality and definitely all your comment are well appreciated.

Thank you again Hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again in Novotel Semarang!

Ms Severine Krawec
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

452 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    249
    77
    30
    13
See reviews for
137
54
53
173
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012 via mobile

I stayed here for 2 nights. I use Executive Room, I stayed here with my wife and my 2 little daughter for a family vacation. It was a perfect stay, with a luxury hotel and very clean room, and complete facilities. Looking forward to stay here again.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sevka, General Manager at Novotel Semarang, responded to this review, July 27, 2012
Dear Sir,

Thank you for your feedback and comment ! I will share your comment to my team. We are still working day after day to improve our quality and definitely all your comment are well appreciated.

Thank you again Hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again in Novotel Semarang!

Ms Severine Krawec
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

the hotel was pretty good,clean and very comfort.i have been there with my girlfriend and we really enjoy to stay in this hotel. the food was delicious and value for money.the location of this hotel is very close to the central of the city.highly recommended.

Room Tip: choose the room in the corner will be very quiet enough
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sevka, General Manager at Novotel Semarang, responded to this review, July 17, 2012
Dear Sir,

Thank you for your feedback and comment ! I will share your comment to my team. We are still working day after day to improve our quality and definitely all your comment are well appreciated.

Thank you again Hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again in Novotel Semarang!

Ms Severine Krawec
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Top Contributor
620 reviews 620 reviews
250 hotel reviews
Reviews in 170 cities Reviews in 170 cities
569 helpful votes 569 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

I stayed for one night in room 722 at Novotel Semarang. I chose it because I am a Le Club member, the management cares very much about customer satisfaction, and Paragon Mall and Hypermart are across the street (but there is little else of interest within walking distance).

Pluses
• Wi-fi in public spaces with complicated user name/password and only wired connection in rooms.
• Breakfast was included. I usually judge pastries by croissants which were: B-. Exceptionally good variety of food for breakfast on the mezzanine floor, divided into smoking and no smoking.
• Room was magnificent with lots of space, sofa and table, writing desk, plasma TV with Cinemax, HBO, other premium channels.
• Magnificent bathroom with tub and countertop space at sink.
• Nice and quiet, good sleep.

Minuses
• Experience at Citrus Restaurant very poor: very attractive layout in glassed-in structure, like greenhouse. I ordered autumn turkey roll with cranberry sauce. I don't know where on the turkey they found such tough cuts of meat to roll and coat in delicious sauce. Kept wondering how delicious it would have been with nice juicy turkey breast. No cranberry sauce; and I didn’t ask. Menu offers three out of 9 dessert items that are accompanied by vanilla ice cream, but they said they had no vanilla (yet I saw there was vanilla ice cream for sale in Citrus’ stand in the lobby). For ice cream lovers, there's a Haagen Dasz across the street in Paragon Mall. The crust in my 4 formaggi pizza tasted like cardboard.
• Souvenir shop said to be open 9 am - 6 pm but closed at 2 pm.
• I think they neglected to enter my Le Club number when I checked in even though I wrote it on the confirmation print-out. At any rate, when I checked, reception entered the number into the computer

I am not sure how to weight hotel vs. restaurant because there are other restaurant choices in Paragon Mall. Physically the hotel room would have been excellent if there were in-room wi-fi. My dining experience at Citrus Restaurant was poor, although it might have been better had I ordered other dishes. I would rate the overall experience between very good and average.

.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sevka, General Manager at Novotel Semarang, responded to this review, July 17, 2012
Dear Sir,

Thank you for your feedback and comment ! I will share your comment to my team. We are still working day after day to improve our quality and definitely all your comment are well appreciated.

Concening your comments, just would like to inform you that we have already in our Suite and executive room the WIFI, but soon all our hotel will be full equipped. Thank you for our ''croissant'' actually as a French person it is as well something extremely important to have nice bread and viennoiserie and I confirm to you that they are excellent.

I really feel sorry for the experience that you had in our Citrus restaurant, i checked as well with my team how is the processand I do not see why you got tough meat, we are going to check with our supplier.
Further to our Souvenir shop actually this one is open all day but you must ask at the reception if you wish to go inside.

I would like to than you again for all your constructive comments and we still improve our service in order to all the time satisfied our loyal clients.

Thank you again Hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again in Novotel Semarang to recover the poor restaurant's experience!

Ms Severine Krawec
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yogyakarta, Indonesia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

overall, its very nice of Recommended hotel, i have been stayed there for 3-4 times... and all good quality.. i liked it.. thanks

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Novotel Semarang, responded to this review, July 11, 2012
Dear Sir,

Thank you for your feedback and comment ! I will share your comment to my team. We are still working day after day to improve our quality and definitely all your comment are well appreciated.
Thank you again Hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again in Novotel Semarang!

Ms Severine Krawec
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jakarta
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

Novotel provide a wide room with modern touch, breakfast has a lot choice and there is also traditional drink Jamu.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Novotel Semarang, responded to this review, July 11, 2012
Dear Sir,

Thank you for your feedback and comment ! I will share your comment to my team. We are still working day after day to improve our quality and definitely all your comment are well appreciated.
Thank you again Hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again in Novotel Semarang!

Ms Severine Krawec
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Close to city center, paragon shopping center across the road, plenty of food hawkers nearby. Best value @Semarang

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Novotel Semarang, responded to this review, July 11, 2012
Dear Sir,

Thank you for your feedback and comment ! I will share your comment to my team. We are still working day after day to improve our quality and definitely all your comment are well appreciated.
Thank you again Hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again in Novotel Semarang!

Ms Severine Krawec
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Novotel Semarang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Semarang

Address: Jalan Pemuda 123, Semarang 50132, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Java > Central Java > Semarang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Semarang
#4 Business Hotel in Semarang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Semarang 4*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of business district and facing the biggest & newest shopping center. Novotel Semarang offer for all travelers a wide range of facilities such as 24 hours Free Internet Acces in the room & public area, Free pick up & drop service from Hotel to Airport/Train station vv, Fitness Center, Spa&Sauna, Manicure Pedicure, Swimming Pool, Restaurant, Bar & Club and many more....To work or relax, our rooms are designed and well furnished to accomodate your business or leisure. Completed with the sliding & ergonomic working table, Free high speed internet connection, LCD TV, Relaxing Pillow in the rooms and 24 hours room service.Tantalizing your palate with our wide range of delicious dishes at our restaurants. The Square is available for buffet breakfast and Citrus Restaurant is the perfect place to dine or meet your clients. To complete your leisure moments with Novotel, visit our Club 123 ! The most hip place in town with daily live band and resident DJ every night !Semarang is a business city which also offer a rich and beautiful historical heritage such as Kota Lama & Sam po kong temple and also famous with the uniqueness of its culinary. Being a part of this splendid city, Novotel Semarang offers all the best to its customer such with easy access to the biggest shopping center, easy access to and from Airport / Train Station and easy access to tourist destination which make us a perfect and ideal choice for your business and leaisure !WELCOME TO NOVOTEL SEMARANG ........ ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Novotel Semarang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Semarang Hotel Semarang
Semarang Novotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Novotel Semarang, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.