We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good business hotel in town” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ibis Semarang Simpang Lima

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Ibis Semarang Simpang Lima to your Saves list
Ibis Semarang Simpang Lima
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jalan Gajah Mada 172, Semarang 50133, Indonesia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 46 Hotels in Semarang
bandung
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Good business hotel in town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

good hotel , good location hotel, nice breakfast, near everything, room good and amenities good. good service from staff, good value for our business trip, the price is best price in town for the class for ibis. bed and bathroom clean enough and good for sleep

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ibis_Semarang, Director of Sales at Ibis Semarang Simpang Lima, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear Mr. Guan,

Warmest greeting from ibis Semarang Simpang Lima..

Thank you for choosing ibis Semarang Simpang Lima for your recent stay in Semarang.

We have read your comments about our hotel and we greatly appreciate that you took the time to write them. Positive comment on a few things such as good breakfast, friendly staff, room were clean will remain our top priority.
We will keep to give our best service to all customers as our guest satisfaction is our main priority.

Have a great day and we look forward to welcoming you again at ibis Semarang Simpang Lima.

Best Regards

Nungki Dyah Kusumawardani
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    209
    85
    10
    10
See reviews for
84
47
48
118
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Magelang, Indonesia
Top Contributor
195 reviews 195 reviews
174 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
417 helpful votes 417 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

The hotel services are the same like another Accor's Ibis hotel. Pros: location, simple and fast check in - check out, friendly staff, room is not too spacious but quiet and clean, comfortable bed, we can find lots of food stalls, cafe and restaurant near the hotel.
Cons: no fitness center, small led TV

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

The hotel with great location, near from shopping centre, restaurant and you can only walk to get the shopping centre, and good for bussiness trip.
Shopping Tip: you can window shopping or eat some traditional food around the hotel

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
94 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
182 helpful votes 182 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

was at this hotel for 1 night and my review as follows:

1) Location:
Very central, within walking distance to ciputra mall and matahari. so no complains.

2) Check in & hotel building:
Check is was quite slow. Took around 20 minutes just to check in our 3 rooms. Hotel building is the same like many others ibis, acceptable.

3) Room:
Very typical ibis room. Compact but functioning. Not bad for the price paid. However, the hotel really need to change their pillows. It is not acceptable at all to have flat pillows for an international chain hotel. Im sure pillows wont cost that much.

4) Breakfast
Hmmm, very ordinary. Not very impressive. Hated the smoking area which is situated near to the porridge stall. Management need to do something about this. Not hygienic.

5) Wifi:
No wifi in the room. Hmm, if many other 3 star hotels in Semarang can provide free wifi in rooms, am not sure why ibis could not do so.

Overall, not bad for the price we paid. The only winning point staying here should be its location. Other than that, it is very ordinary in my opinion. Maybe if they provide better pillows, i would have think this is a good hotel to stay in Semarang.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
in the middle of nowhere
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

This hotel is in good location with reasonable price if you want to stay near city center compare to another hotel around the city center. The room is clean, with fast services. Just ensure that you get a room with good view.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint-Benoit, France
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Well maintained, nicely placed in dowtown Semarang, excellent full breakfast (continental as well as Indonesian). Not noisy however in a busy street. Nice lobby, nice restaurant (for breakfast, we did not try the dinner....) and nice waiting lounge.
Very good prices.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

The room was rather small, but comfortable. I was lucky to get a room at the corner and on higher floor, which I think provide more space and nice view of Semarang and simpang lima area. It even has a glass door that open up to some kind of open "balcony". But i didn't use it, since I was staying with 3 years daughter and didn't want her to go to that area.
Ibis is located near Simpang Lima area, which practically is the center of the city, and is perfect as base to explore the city. From here, it's easy to catch a becak or taxi to go almost all tourist attraction.
The longest distance I visited was the Sam Poo Kong, which was about 30 minutes ride in a taxi and cost just about 30,000 IDR.
The only down side was the breakfast, which offers very little selections and rather bland taste. If possible, you can book the room without breakfast. You can easliy find more delicious breakfast around the hotel at cheap price, especially during the weekend.
Overall, it was a good stay and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ibis Semarang Simpang Lima? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Semarang Simpang Lima

Address: Jalan Gajah Mada 172, Semarang 50133, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Java > Central Java > Semarang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 46 Hotels in Semarang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Semarang Simpang Lima 3*
Number of rooms: 173
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Ibis Semarang Simpang Lima reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Semarang Hotel Semarang

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ibis Semarang Simpang Lima, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.