We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't expect top notch all stylish structure but the super helpful and friendly staff made all the difference” 4 of 5 stars
Review of HARRIS Hotel & Conventions Malang

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added HARRIS Hotel & Conventions Malang to your Saves list
HARRIS Hotel & Conventions Malang
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jalan Jend A. Yani Utara, Perum Riverside C-1, Malang 65126, Indonesia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
FREE One pan pizza
Ranked #3 of 42 Hotels in Malang
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Don't expect top notch all stylish structure but the super helpful and friendly staff made all the difference”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

The hotel may be a little off town (about 10 mins by taxi anyway, so pretty close) but thoroughly enjoyed the serenity and relaxing atmosphere by the pool.

Town is easily accessible by taxi or use the free hotel shuttle to the mall and you can walk from there.

Food and service was good, for the price you pay, it's totally worthwhile. Especially the super friendly staff, they are almost always ready to assist without you having to ask. It was 5 star service. Definitely THE place to stay if you want to be away from the noise to soak in paradise after a tiring Bromo trek, and yet still able to get away when you feel like it to enjoy the lovely local Malang scene/food/culture with useful tips from the staff.

Coming back for sure, both Malang and Harris have been great! Thanks for an enjoyable stay!

Room Tip: Can hear sound from corridor if you stay near the lift but not too bad, otherwise all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hendri H, General Manager at HARRIS Hotel & Conventions Malang, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear HARRIS Fans,
Cheers from HARRIS Hotel And Conventions Malang
HARRIS Lifestyle with an Art Deco Hint!
Thank you so much for staying with us , we are delighted with your fabulous comments .
Indeed we have created a Simple, Unique and friendly concept in Malang, right in the Green Estate of Riverside.
Looking forward welcoming You back soon.
Harrisly Yours
Stylianos Koureas
General Manager
gm@harris-malang.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    132
    30
    4
    2
See reviews for
110
24
10
38
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Indonesia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

we are coming with late night, i:m very surprise is when i"m check in no reservation under my name, i call to make reservation for 1 week ahead and its confirmed , really disappointed, i wont back to this hotel again, room and breakfast is average and nothing special

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hendri H, General Manager at HARRIS Hotel & Conventions Malang, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear HARRIS Fans,
Cheers from HARRIS Hotel And Conventions Malang
HARRIS Lifestyle with an Art Deco Hint!
Thank you so much for staying with us , and thank you for letting us know that the reception has not found your reservation upon you have checked in late night.
We have investigated your case and we have found that you had made an individual non guaranteed reservation, meaning there was no deposit or guarantee of your reservation and no remarks for late check in. Therefore such reservations are released automatically from the system by 6pm. in case the hotel is not running full we are still honoring the reservation anytime you are arriving and that was your case.
Please accept my apologies for any inconvenience such incident has caused to you.
Your comments concerning the breakfast and the rooms have been also noted for further improvement.
Looking forward welcoming You back soon.
Harrisly Yours
Stylianos Koureas
General Manager
gm@harris-malang.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

Positive aspects:
+ Friendly staff, sometimes perhaps though a bit too friendly not everyone seem totally sincere
+ Very nice, modern and spacious rooms
+ Perfectly clean
+ Large breakfast buffet (Rp. 70.000 extra)
+ Generally peaceful area and two large pools
+ Free shuttle pick-up and drop off
+ Very good wi-fi quality

Negative aspects:
÷ At the pool, you have the feeling you're being watched by the other guests and staff. High business factor.
÷ Too many staff running around. No wonder the price level is quite high - especially for extra services. Don't use their taxi service - as they will charge you Rp. 70.000 for a simple trip to the city (normally it costs 30.000 with a public taxi, less if you use a Bemo).
÷ The restaurant 'Harrissimo' that tries to be Italian. Very overpriced, poor food without any heart. The only nice aspects were some cakes for breakfast. Eat somewhere else. Once we had to remind them (one of the 10 persons that stood around) that we needed to pay a bill
÷ Far away from the city. Consider somewhere else if you don't want to be dependent on finding a transport

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hendri H, General Manager at HARRIS Hotel & Conventions Malang, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear HARRIS Fans,
Cheers from HARRIS Hotel And Conventions Malang
HARRIS Lifestyle with an Art Deco Hint!
Thank you so much for staying with us , we are delighted with your constructive comments .
Thank you for the plus and minus comments.
Concerning the taxi fares, the taxi company is a third party operator that is having its counter in our hotel. Guest can choose to call any taxi of their choice.
HARRISSIMO italian restaurant has not yet opened, may be you had your meals in our HARRIS Cafe. Thank you for your feedback about the food.
Our hotel is just minutes away from the center of the city, just 10 minutes to the Alun Alun Park.
What make our hotel different is the Resort Feeling within the City of Malang.
HARRIS Players are indeed super friendly , so sorry to hear that you have been disturbed by their friendliness.
Our hotel price is one of the best value prices in Malang for a four star property with so many facilities, by saying expensive hotel i believe you should opt for a two stars or even guest houses which are plenty in Malang.
Looking forward welcoming You back soon.
Harrisly Yours
Stylianos Koureas
General Manager
gm@harris-malang.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

But you may miss out the comforts because you go there to see Mt. Brome for which you have to leave in the middle of the night and come back in the late morning and then probably check out. If you happen to travel from Jakarta take a flight to Malang and then hire a taxi to Mt Bromo. book in advance because they can be berserk with price, anything from $200 to 300 for a 35 Km drive and back. Making hay while the sun shines.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hendri H, General Manager at HARRIS Hotel & Conventions Malang, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear HARRIS Fans,
Cheers from HARRIS Hotel And Conventions Malang
HARRIS Lifestyle with an Art Deco Hint!
Thank you so much for staying with us , we are delighted with your fabulous comments .
Indeed we have created a Simple, Unique and friendly concept in Malang, right in the Green Estate of Riverside.
Looking forward welcoming You back soon.
Harrisly Yours
Stylianos Koureas
General Manager
gm@harris-malang.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surabaya, Indonesia
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

I found this hotel from tripadvisor. The location is far from downtown.

My 1st impression this hotel is clean. The staff is friendly. I am meet the GM at lobby. He is very informatif and helpfull.

I got the room near the street, but the best view is near the pool. The pool is unique. And there is a kidsclub plus a pool for children.

My room is spacious, clean. The bathroom also clean.

Since this hotel is far from downtown, I am try the dinner package. The taste is good and value for money. I am choose the buffet package, all you can eat.

During dinner, the staff giving suprise for customer who has birthday. They bring some cake and take pictures with some staff hotel. At the middle dinner time, the staff and the GM show some funny dance. I like that, make the dinner feel fun and full energy.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stylianos K, General Manager at HARRIS Hotel & Conventions Malang, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Dear HARRIS Fans,
Cheers from HARRIS Hotel And Conventions Malang
HARRIS Lifestyle with an Art Deco Hint!
Thank you so much for staying with us , we are delighted with your fabulous comments .
Indeed we have created a Simple, Unique and friendly concept in Malang, right in the Green Estate of Riverside.
Looking forward welcoming You back soon.
Harrisly Yours
Stylianos Koureas
General Manager
gm@harris-malang.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Though a bit secluded from the main road, I was surprised by the facilities this hotel offered. Rooms are cleaned everyday. Breakfast & dinner buffet are excellent. They have 3 kinds of swimming pools, 2 kiddie & 1 adult pools. The kids enjoyed the pool a lot. Huge parking lot with a conference hall for wedding ceremonies etc. I love the service they offered & the employees are overly polite.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stylianos K, General Manager at HARRIS Hotel & Conventions Malang, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear HARRIS Fans,
Cheers from HARRIS Hotel And Conventions Malang
HARRIS Lifestyle with an Art Deco Hint!
Thank you so much for staying with us , we are delighted with your fabulous comments .
Indeed we have created a Simple, Unique and friendly concept in Malang, right in the Green Estate of Riverside.
Looking forward welcoming You back soon.
Harrisly Yours
Stylianos Koureas
General Manager
gm@harris-malang.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oosterhout, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Harris hotel has a great concept. Very well equipped rooms, very good beds and cover, soft and sleeps very comfortable! Evrything was available. Breakfast was great, very nice view on the pool and wonderful garden. Only two things, the elevator gives a ringtone when the elevator arrives on the floor and that makes you awake! But for all, we have been in our lives in many many hotels since 35 years but never had a swimming pool with out stairs to get in or out. I could have jump into the pool, but only 1.28 m but it was IMPOSSIBLE to go out of the pool couldn't get me leg 1.28 meters high! So no one is swimming in the wonderful pool. This is incredible bad! The pool boy reacted very cool and laughed, yes we should built a stair to get into the pool. If it isn't there nest year I want stay at the Harris hotel again, I would be very for that. The other pool is for children only 1.02 meter, I am 65! Very, very strange policy!the hotel is very far away from the mainstreat, you need a car or taxi! We didn't now that.

Room Tip: Forth floor ask view pool. Fith floor the glas from the window you c ant look through!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stylianos K, General Manager at HARRIS Hotel & Conventions Malang, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear HARRIS Fans,
Cheers from HARRIS Hotel And Conventions Malang
HARRIS Lifestyle with an Art Deco Hint!
Thank you so much for staying with us , we are delighted with your fabulous comments .
Indeed we have created a Simple, Unique and friendly concept in Malang, right in the Green Estate of Riverside.
We have well noted the urgent need of a stairs to get our of our infinity pool which will be installed the soonest.
Looking forward welcoming You back soon.
Harrisly Yours
Stylianos Koureas
General Manager
gm@harris-malang.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to HARRIS Hotel & Conventions Malang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HARRIS Hotel & Conventions Malang

Address: Jalan Jend A. Yani Utara, Perum Riverside C-1, Malang 65126, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Java > East Java > Malang
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 42 Hotels in Malang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — HARRIS Hotel & Conventions Malang 4*
Number of rooms: 229
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HARRIS Hotel& Conventions Malang is peacefully situated in the "green" of Riverside, nearby the Malang-Surabaya main road, with an easy access to the bus station and to the airport. HARRIS Malang is the place for a constructive seminar or to simply and naturally relax.229 HARRIS Rooms, Sky Rooms and HARRIS Suites overlooking the 3 free form swimming pools, the Mahogany Forest, the River and the surrounding mountains.All rooms are equipped with the HARRIS "Dreamazing" Bed, 32" LED television with 60 international and local channels. Safe Deposit box, complimentary coffee and tea facilities, HARRIS slippers, HARRIS Leather couch, Hairdryer and an array of cosmetic amenities. HARRIS Sky rooms -38 square meters, are situated on the top floors of the Building, with floor to ceiling windows, overlooking the the Rice fields and the surrounding mountains. Equipped with 42" LED television and basic cooking facilities. HARRIS Suites-58 Square meters are situated on the top floors, with floor to ceiling windows, Home theatre, Smart Television, DVD Player, separate Living room with sofa and coffee table, also separate guest bathroom. All Suites are equipped with Bathtub.Free high speed wifi available in the HARRIS Cars and the entire premises. Our infinity pool is overlooking the forest and the River. Our kids pool is situated just in front of our Dino Kids Club.HARRIS Nanny is available on complimentary basis from 9am to 6pm.Our Dino Mascot and clown are ready to welcome our young friends to an array of outdoor and indoor daily kids activities, including face painting, origami, cooking classes and play station.The H-Fitness is equipped with the latest cardio equipment and Gym Instructor.Sooth Your tired muscles at our H Spa or in the privacy of your room. Separated Male and female saunas are provided free of charge to our Guests.Taste our Indonesian delights at the HARRIS Cafe and our Healthy juices at our Juice Bar.Our Wine and Cigars Lounge is the gathering place after working hours to have your drink and light snacks accompanied with Lounge Live Music.HARRISSIMO Pizzeria with the unique wooden oven is providing the famous thin crust Pizzas overlooking our infinity pool.HARRIS Hotel and Conventions Malang is the perfect place to stay and accommodate your meeting needs at our UNIQUE Ballroom with a capacity of 2000 persons and the highest ceiling in town. Our HAPPY, SMILEY and FRIENDLY, Meeting rooms are equipped with the latest high tech equipment.Cheers from the HARRIS lifestyle with an art deco hint. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotels.com, EasyToBook, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Ctrip TA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your HARRIS Hotel & Conventions Malang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage HARRIS Hotel & Conventions Malang, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.