We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You Haven't Been to Malang if You Haven't Eaten Here” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bakso President

Bakso President
Jalan Batanghari No 5, Malang, Indonesia
0341 496746
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 115 Restaurants in Malang
Cuisines: Indonesian
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Leeds, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“You Haven't Been to Malang if You Haven't Eaten Here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Bakso. It's some kind of meatball clear soup that has been long associated with Malang, and Bakso President is certainly the place to start your journey. Think of it as music. With the emergence of rap, jazz, blues, and so forth, Bakso President is the timeless classical music. They don't offer you fancy fillings such as grounded chili (grenade bakso, they call it), a cheddar cube (cheese bakso), cow brain (yes, cow brain bakso do exist), even bone marrow (which explode in your mouth when you bite it)... no! They stick with ground beef (bakso halus), chopped beef (bakso kasar), sinew (bakso urat), shrimp (bakso goreng), liver (bakso hati), deep friend innards, and tasty, one-of-a-kind clear broth that literally cover your tongue with heavenly delight! What is funny, the place is located next to railway, so expect the noise and vibration every one hour or so, but I call it an advantage! Where else would you eat in that oh-so-local atmosphere. Everyone knows the place. If you go by taxi, you'd probably have to pay them Rp 20.000. The place is very cheap. I'm a big eater (I finish a 750 grams of rare sirloin steak by myself) but the most amount I spend there was Rp 32.000. Try it!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    61
    49
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Indonesia
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Specializes in grilled meatballs”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

A small yet popular place for finding 'bakso bakar' or grilled meatballs, though it's a bit letdown since I'm expecting something like meatballs in bbq sauce. The meatballs is seasoned with sweet soy sauce which in my opinion defeats the purpose of having it grilled.

But anyway it's still the best in town and worth visiting.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pekanbaru, Indonesia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“it's a legendary meatball”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

A meatball place right next to a railway track. Small place, but clean and comfortable. The taste is delicious. A-must-try-culinary-place in Malang.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malang, Indonesia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“meatballl with sounds of train”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

its my first time visit there... so crazy n unique place for eat and delicious meat ball and great sounds from train when the train pass .....

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jakarta
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Yummy Bakso - great setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

The Bakso President we ate in Malang was situated right next to a railway track which makes a great photo shoot. The ordering process is pat down to a wire as because of its high traffic of customers. They are the easy combinations and prices on the wall. We ordered the Bakso Complete set and the Bakso Bakar. Both were simply delicious. Every bakso was tender and not chewy or starchy. The Bakso Bakar was baksos put on a sate stick and bbq, came with a soy based sauce.
This place is an institution. I was there over the long weekend and local tourists were excitedly taking photos and we all unaminously agreed that this is the best bakso we've ever eaten!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bakso President also viewed

 

Been to Bakso President? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bakso President, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.