We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel for business or tourist” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Savana Hotel & Convention

Save Saved
You added Savana Hotel & Convention to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Savana Hotel & Convention
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jl. Letjen Jendral Sutoyo 32-34, Malang, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 40 hotels in Malang
Columbia, Maryland
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel for business or tourist”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

As others have stated, the layout of this hotel is odd because it was once a mall of sorts. However, the unusual layout does not detract from the hotel, as the common areas are quite spacious and nicely apportioned. I was at the hotel for three nights. All of the hotel staff were very accommodating from the front desk personnel to the bellmen who order taxis. The breakfast buffet was very good. My room was nicely decorated, large and with clean bath area and well functioning plumbing. Air Conditioning in the room was fine.
Some colleagues who were staying at the hotel thought that the nearby train tracks and train activity was disturbing, however I barely heard it. You might think of asking for a room away from the noise. I also heard no noise from the bar/lounge area on the sixth/seventh floor and I was on the sixth floor.

The hotel is a fairly short cab ride away from downtown and other attractions and there is little within comfortable walking distance except for small convenience or grocery stores.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the railroad as possible when you book, if you don't like that sort of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savana Hotel M, General Manager at Savana Hotel & Convention, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear Phil H,

“Warmest Greeting from SAVANA Hotel & Convention”

Thank you so much for staying with us and spare the time to give the feedback.
In addition, we thank you for your excellent rating for all the services and facilities that is really appreciated. We honored with your outstanding comments. I will share your comment to my staffs; sure, they will be more motivated to serve the guests from their heart.
We are looking forward to welcoming you in the near future.

Sincerely yours,
Agus Salim
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    9
    10
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
7
4
1
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Any
English first
Bali, Indonesia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Courteous staff throughout the whole hotel as they are always ready to help whatever and whenever you need them. Not only do they take customer satisfaction seriously, they are willing to go the extra miles too. The room is quite spacious, nicely decorated and very modern. Breakfast set up was top notch every day with fresh, well prepared and great selection of food. I tried their roof top bar, After 5ive, and it was amazing - It's a cool place to hang out with a live band and great view of the city. I would say that staying in this hotel is worth with great value and I would recommend for someone to experience if one is traveling to Malang for business and/or vacation.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savana Hotel M, General Manager at Savana Hotel & Convention, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear The_2013traveller,

“Warmest Greeting from SAVANA Hotel & Convention”

Thank you so much for staying with us and taking time to give the feedback.
We honored with your outstanding comments. I will share your comment to my staffs; sure, they will be more motivated to serve the guests from their heart.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Sincerely yours,

Agus Salim

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
152 helpful votes 152 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for 1 night, it's locate in the city, easy to travel to everywhere. I like the room, it's very spacious and clean. I got it on the 6th floor. The staffs are friendly and helpful. Breakfast menu is ok not much variety but it taste ok. Hopefully in the future it can have more varieties. I like the shower also, it has two kinds of shower. I enjoy stayed here.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savana Hotel M, General Manager at Savana Hotel & Convention, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear Merlyna Y,

“Warmest Greeting from SAVANA Hotel & Convention”

Thank you so much for staying with us and taking time to write a review.
We really appreciated your constructive comments regarding the variety of breakfast menu. We do concern and will review that to make it better.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Sincerely yours,

Agus Salim

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

I stayed at Savana hotel back in April 2013 for two nights. It is nicely located near the city center (about 15 minutes by car) and the famous Bakso President is a stone throw away from the hotel. The room is spacious and clean, I had mine on the second floor and it was nice and quiet. There wasn't really a view from the room but it didn't bother me as I was out of the hotel most of the time. The restaurant has a good selection for breakfast with a mix of Indonesian and Continental breakfast. I ordered beef rawon for lunch from the hotel restaurant and it was great. The portion is generous and the sambal is spicy goodness. They gave us a voucher for 10 mins (or was it 15?) free massage upon checking in but I didn't get a chance to use it. Overall, it was a nice, comfortable stay during my business trip in Malang.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savana Hotel M, E-Commerce Dept. at Savana Hotel & Convention, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Dear si_zel,

“Warmest Greeting from SAVANA Hotel & Convention”

Thank you so much for staying with us and taking time to give the feedback.
We are delighted with your exceptional comments. I will share your comment to all the staffs, especially F & B Staffs; sure, they will be more motivated to serve the guests from their heart.

We are looking forward welcoming you back very soon.

Sincerely yours,
Rere
E-Commerce Dept.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

The property was previously built as a shopping mall. But business was bad, and it was acquired and furbished into a hotel. Because it was not designed as a hotel in the first place, you have to deal with some unusual features of the property.

One is the floors are split into two uneven parts. One part is lower than the other. If you happen to bring a heavy luggage and you took the wrong elevator on the ground floor, you will end up having to heave your luggage down or up the stairs to your room. Don't be shy, ask the bellboy to bring your luggage up so you can avoid this.

Two is some rooms are built with the windows facing into the central atrium of the hotel, which used to be the central atrium of a shopping mall. Yes, there is only the view of the hotel interior from there, not the beautiful nature of Malang.

We stayed here during the New Year, and unsurprisingly, the hotel was full with families who wanted to celebrate the new year.

We did not spend much time during the day in the hotel, because we used the time to explore. But what we discovered during the night was enough to make us rethink the hotel for our next visit.

My room was on the 5th floor, and just under the hotel's night club. At night when we were getting to bed, we can hear loud music and deep bass pounding on our ceiling. A good thing that we were there for the New Year, so we were prepared to have little sleep.

And staying in lower floor doesn't guarantee a peaceful sleep, because just behind the hotel is an active railway track.

The plus thing about the hotel (Though I don't know how long they will keep the service), they provide complimentary drinks in the refrigerator including mineral water, Coca-Cola, Minute Maid, and Mizone. They are resupplied every day. With some careful planning, you can spend the whole stay without having to buy beverages at all.

The minus thing about staying here during a public holiday is there are so many guests staying here. The breakfast buffet was already so-so, and it was served in a small restaurant. And with a lot of guests heaping food on their plates, spilling the floor, yelling, crying, shoving, breakfast was never a pleasant experience.

But there is one big plus about the hotel. If you go out of the gate, take a right turn into a alley, and walk your way through to the railway track behind the hotel, on your right you will find Bakso Presiden, one of the popular place to enjoy a Bakwan Malang.

Room Tip: Make sure you don't get a room that is close to the club, or close to the railway track, or with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savana Hotel M, E-Commerce at Savana Hotel & Convention, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Dear Mr. Stephen S.

“Warmest Greeting from SAVANA Hotel & Convention”

Thank you so much for staying with us and taking time to give the feedback.

We have well noted all the issues you have written and we keep our efforts to make them better so we are able to give the best service to our valued guests. Please accept our apologies for those inconveniences when you stayed with us. We definitely would concern about this.

We are looking forward welcoming you back soon.

Sincerely yours,
Rere
E-Commerce Dept.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

First time my stay in this hotel..this is what I called hospitality!! Friendly staffs, clean rooms n bathrooms, also nice food. Booked 2 rooms for a nite, my kids all enjoyed there, they love there!! Couldn't extend for more days due to fully booked.. :( .. But overall..it was all good!! Satisfying! Give the best!!just the sound of the train, that sometime bothering(cos it near to the train station)..but definitely I will choose that hotel again, if it happen that I am in Malang!!:) cheers!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savana Hotel M, E-commerce at Savana Hotel & Convention, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear ivysug,

“Warmest Greeting from SAVANA Hotel & Convention”
Thank you so much for staying with us and taking time to give the feedback.
We are delighted with your exceptional comments. So sad we didn’t keep in touch any longer because of our full occupancy.
However, we are looking forward welcoming you back very soon.
I will share your comment to all the staffs; sure, they will be more motivated to serve the guests from their heart.

Sincerely yours,
Rere
E-commerce Dept.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

Reach the hotel around 7pm and preparation by the front desk to check in the room is fast. The room is very spacious but a bit dusty during checking in and throughout the 3 night stay. There is no scenery fron the room balcony as it is facing inside the building. The swinmming pool is just beside the restaurant. The staff is very helpful during the stay. When i ask the conceirge where to buy my handphone credit top up as mine is expired, he willingly help me to buy from the nearest shop and sent it to my room. The is also a factory outlet just opposire the hotel.(not as good as the F.O. at Bandung) Stay away from the room at level 5 as it may be quite busy when there is a function at the ballroom.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savana Hotel M, E-commerce at Savana Hotel & Convention, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear Oktraveller,

“Warmest Greeting from SAVANA Hotel & Convention”
Thank you so much for staying with us and taking time to give the feedback.
I have well noted the cleanliness issue of the room please accept my personal apologies. I have personally transmitted your issue to my Housekeeping Department and definitely would concern about this.
We are looking forward welcoming you back soon.

Sincerely yours,
Rere
E-Commerce Dept.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Savana Hotel & Convention? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Savana Hotel & Convention

Address: Jl. Letjen Jendral Sutoyo 32-34, Malang, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Java > East Java > Malang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 40 hotels in Malang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Savana Hotel & Convention 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Savana Hotel & Convention is a four-star luxury hotel located in the heart of Malang. It is just 30 minutes away by car from Abdul Rachman Saleh Airport (MLG). Providing you a variety of splendid rooms, gourmet dining, entertainment facilities, banquet and meeting services, spa and fitness center. Making it an ideal setting for leisure, business, and weddings. Guests can choose from 123 rooms, all of which exude an atmosphere of total peace and harmony. The hotel offers wonderful recreational facilities such as sauna room, indoor pool, fitness center, massage, sauna to make your stay truly unforgettable. Superb facilities and an excellent location make the Savana Hotel the perfect base from which to enjoy your stay in Malang. The restaurant serves a variety of local, Western and Chinese dishes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Savana Hotel & Convention reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Savana Hotel & Convention, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.