We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Savana Hotel & Convention

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Savana Hotel & Convention to your Saves list
Savana Hotel & Convention
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jl. Letjen Jendral Sutoyo 32-34, Malang, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 43 Hotels in Malang
Tolmie Victoria
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

I shared a twin room, the first one overlooking the pool and then another facing the opposite side. The pool side room was bigger and had a better layout but both were very clean and big enough for two people to share. The bathroom was large with a great shower and lots of complimentary goodies. The restaurants offered a wide selection of food both Asian and Western and the staff were always friendly and helpful. The entertainment upstairs was great with a variety of bands playing. I stayed here for 15 nights while studying and the internet was excellent as was the lighting in the room and there was a desk to work at. Massages are available and the gym, though small had good equipment. Easy to get a cab to anywhere or you can travel by angkot as well. The variety of food for breakfast was more than ample and the coffee lounge had good coffee. The only trouble I had was with cigarette smoke as the central area is all open so there was no escape even if it was a non smoking space. If I had to stay in Malang again I would not hesitate to book the Savana Hotel.

Room Tip: Quieter on the outer but I like the view over the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savana Hotel M, E-Commerce at Savana Hotel & Convention, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear zaramojo,

“Warmest Greeting from SAVANA Hotel & Convention”

Thank you so much for staying with us and taking time to give the feedback.
We honoured with your outstanding comments.
We are looking forward welcoming you back soon.

Sincerely yours,
Rere
E-Commerce
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    25
    13
    6
    2
See reviews for
19
5
1
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

It's a nice 4 star hotel in Malang. Not in the city center, but it's close enough to reach.
The room was extremely spacious, unfortunately not accompanied by a fair size of single (twin) bed.
Didn't have time to try the indoor pool, but it looked nice.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savana Hotel M, E-Commerce at Savana Hotel & Convention, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear Cal-Jakarta,

“Warmest Greeting from SAVANA Hotel & Convention”

Thank you so much for staying with us and taking time to give the feedback.
Thank you for your note concerning the fair size of our single bed that we are going to consider accordingly.
We are looking forward welcoming you back soon.

Sincerely yours,
Rere
E-Commerce Dept.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jakarta
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

SAvanna has extremely big rooms, so much so that it looked bare just because of its size. Stayed there for a night before heading to Mt Bromo. Location is just a couple mins to the town centre, but then again the town of Malang is relatively small and easy to get around.
Breakfast was decent and had a good choice of both local and western food. The hotel comes with a gym, swimming pool and a rooftop bar. Minibar is complementary which includes coke, orange juice, isotonic drink and a couple of bottles of mineral water. This is apparently replenished on a daily basis, Full cable and wifi available in every room.
The only quirk is that the design of the hotel is a little perculiar. Rooms has a balcony that faces inwards towards the room opposite in the next block- hence no one hangs out in the balcony. The pool is between the 2 blocks and the restaurant is right next to the pool. Which makes swimming a totally non-private event.
The hotel has a spa there that's worth a mention. Price for massages is reasonable considering it is in a hotel and the quality of massage is high. Definitely worth a visit but one has to make advance booking because of its popularity.
The sky lounge is a nice place to end the evening and when i was there there was a live band.
Overall it is affordably priced considering the facilities in the hotel

Room Tip: When i was there there was construction going on in the plot next to my room. Ask for the opposite b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savana Hotel M, E-Commerce at Savana Hotel & Convention, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear sudirmanman,

“Warmest Greeting from SAVANA Hotel & Convention”

Thank you so much for staying with us and taking time to give the feedback.
We really appreciated your constructive comments regarding the design of our hotel and the location of our swimming pool.
We are looking forward welcoming you back soon.

Sincerely yours,
Rere
E-Commerce Dept.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

I was stay in Savana hotel Malang in 1st week of October 2012, Sales and Marketing team very proffesional and helfull , they are helping me for meeting preparations. Room very comfort and clean , Breakfast recommended with a lot of choice,restaurant very comfort. I recommended to choose this hotel. Swimming pool also comfort for my kids. I will bee back for my next trip to Malang. New Hotel with best offer.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savana Hotel M, E-Commerce at Savana Hotel & Convention, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear Georgio L,

“Warmest Greeting from SAVANA Hotel & Convention”

Thank you so much for staying with us and taking time to give the feedback.
We really appreciated your fabulous comments to our Marketing Team and going to share it to them. Sure, it will motivate them more so they always provide extra mile service to our guests.
We are looking forward welcoming you back soon.

Sincerely yours,
Rere
E-Commerce
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indonesia
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

When I came to this hotel, it was just establish for a couple months. The Hotel is brand new and just extended to the left side of the Hotel. I got free Spa and Bar Voucher, and the mini bar is also free. Maybe it's only soft opening promotion.

What impress me so much is the space of the room. It is huge, you may do aerobic in the room.. or even acrobatic moves... lol...

The swimming pool is right next to the restaurant we had breakfast. It is small but it is enough just to have fun by swimming. At that time, the fitness center has not been opened yet so I cannot comment about it, but room space for fitness is very small, it is about 4 x 4 meter.

There are ATM in front of the Hotel, enough for 5 ATM machine, but when I went there, only 1 ATM operate from BRI and 1 ATM in progress from BCA.

Overall, for a four star hotel, I think they need more development. To me, it is already comfortable.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savana Hotel M, E-Commerce at Savana Hotel & Convention, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear Ricky M,

“Warmest Greeting from SAVANA Hotel & Convention”

Thank you so much for staying with us and taking time to give the feedback.
Giving you information that mini bar is one of our free facilities on each room, so it is just not because we were on opening promo on that day you stayed with us.
We are looking forward welcoming you back soon and feel the difference now.

Sincerely yours,
Rere
E-Commerce
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Savana Hotel & Convention? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Savana Hotel & Convention

Address: Jl. Letjen Jendral Sutoyo 32-34, Malang, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Java > East Java > Malang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 43 Hotels in Malang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Savana Hotel & Convention 4*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Savana Hotel & Convention is a four-star luxury hotel located in the heart of Malang. It is just 30 minutes away by car from Abdul Rachman Saleh Airport (MLG). Providing you a variety of splendid rooms, gourmet dining, entertainment facilities, banquet and meeting services, spa and fitness center. Making it an ideal setting for leisure, business, and weddings. Guests can choose from 123 rooms, all of which exude an atmosphere of total peace and harmony. The hotel offers wonderful recreational facilities such as sauna room, indoor pool, fitness center, massage, sauna to make your stay truly unforgettable. Superb facilities and an excellent location make the Savana Hotel the perfect base from which to enjoy your stay in Malang. The restaurant serves a variety of local, Western and Chinese dishes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda and Despegar.com so you can book your Savana Hotel & Convention reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Savana Hotel & Convention, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.