We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unexpected treasure!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Tugu Malang

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Tugu Malang to your Saves list
Hotel Tugu Malang
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jalan Tugu No. 3, Malang 65119, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 43 Hotels in Malang
Certificate of Excellence 2014
australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Unexpected treasure!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2011

Expected to find a nice four star hotel with nice ammenities but was overwhelmed by the style,the furnishings and the grandeur of the place. Our room was small but still wonderfull and we arrived to find a bowl of tropical fruit, a beautiufl flower arrangement and beautiful furnishings in our room. The staff were wonderfu,l the room service great, but the most exceptional part were the antiques and the whole of the hotel itself. You must ask the bellboy to take you on a guided tour and you will disocover room,s banquet halls and resturaunts that you didnt know exsisted. One resturaunt is often visited by Megawati Sukano when she wants a private place to eat. Great swimmng pool and you are given a complimentary afternoon tea that is just wonderful. A traditional Javanese delight! We were situated in the heart of downtown Malang and it is a very nice place reasonbly quiet and surrounded by nice gardens. Found 2 cheaper but equally wonderful little resturaunts about a 3 minute walk from the hotel down one road and on the other side is the famous Java Dancer Coffee Shop which is well worth a visit You will love your stay there,,, embrace all it has to offer!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    196
    91
    22
    5
    1
See reviews for
61
144
20
32
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2011

+Great location
+Fantastic hotel compound - half hotel, half museum
+Great, clean and spacious rooms
+Very friendly staff and excellent service
+Fantastic Food
+Great afternoon tea with local sweets


We spent 3 nights in Tugu Hotel and it was splendid. The place is perfectly located in the centre of town. It has a pool and a great restaurant with plenty of local delicacies to choose from. Best of course is the complimentary afternoon tea with local sweets such as Klepon and Cendol.

Altogether a perfect and well managed place with great atmosphere from which to explore places in eastern Java. We would love to return if we will ever visit Malang again.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northamptonshire
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2010

We thought this hotel was in the countryside and so were disappointed to find it situated on a busy roundabout in Malang. Inside it was like Aladin's cave or a colourful rabbit warren with steps and archways, hidden corners and a rainbow of colours and artifacts. It was wonderful. We had a Zamrud Suite, which is the name for a few rooms, we were given one that we hadn't chosen when we booked it, but the man went off and got the keys and I went with him to find the room we wanted! It was fabulous. A round pewter bath, four poster bed, it was quite magical. The hotel was just as wonderful. The swimming pool was a feature from above, but whenn in the restaurant it was hidden with greenery. The restaurant had rooms leading off it to the shop and other places and the pub opened to the roundabout and had the history of the owners on the walls. In the afternoon there was tea and cakes (traditional ones also which we tried and not really liked much) and western cakes also. Had two meals there, both of which were excellent. One of the people working there saw us admiring a fancvy double door and said it was the honeymoon suite, would we like to see inside? We did. It was incredible, you must look on the website, £1,000 a night. If we go back we want to book it. It was a wonderful place and we were sad to leave.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Isa, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2010

Could not fault this hotel. Staff attentive, food glorious, hotel wonderful. Go for the hotel tour, to check out the $1000/night rooms. Drink in the Shanghai bar, and eat at L'Amour (heart shaped pizza). Hotel can organise eveything from tour to Mt Bromo to airport transfers or even tablets to help upset tummies. Dont forget the included afternoon tea, with sweet and savoury delights.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sentosa Island, Singapore
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2010

This is my favorite hotel in Asia, a real boutique hotel. The service is very attentive, I spend X'mas holiday with my family and had a great time. The Indonesian food very authentic and of high quality.
Beside visiting the local market, antics shop we went for rafting and go up the green mountain around.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2010

Tugu Park Hotel is one of my top 3 hotels in the world. A real sense of history unfolds as you walk through this boutique hotel. Amazing design, interesting antiques, great food and comfortable rooms all contributed to my memorable stay. The staff were very helpful & friendly and nothing was too much trouble. My only little niggles were the slow internet and the very busy traffic on the roundabout outside, but those points apart, I cannot wait to return to the Tugu Park.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2010

A wonderful hotel to explore and enjoy. Take a tour to discover the antique-filled common areas (arrange a private dinner in your favorite room if you'd like). The place goes on and on! We loved the great vibe and super-friendly service. Surprised that all the staff knew our names (this is not a small B&B and there were quite a number of tourists while we were there). The hotel can easily arrange tours and transportation. Delicious dining options aplenty (don't miss the delightful afternoon tea). Wonderful masseuses and atmosphere at the spa. The rooms and spa are a bit pricey for East Java, but worth it. We stayed in an executive room, which was spacious and had lovely antiques and nice hardwood.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Tugu Malang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tugu Malang

Address: Jalan Tugu No. 3, Malang 65119, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Java > East Java > Malang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Malang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Tugu Malang 5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Tugu Malang is a must-see destination by itself. It is an elegant mansion that tells the romantic stories of the island of Java. The proprietors’ collection of hundreds and hundreds of antiques tastefully adorn every corner of the hotel, walking guests through the heritages of the Dutch colonial era, the gradual fusion of the Indonesian and the Chinese cultures over many centuries as well as the humble beauty of traditional Indonesian masterpieces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel Tugu Malang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tugu Hotel Malang

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Tugu Malang, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.