We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Night at Museum” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Tugu Malang

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Tugu Malang to your Saves list
Hotel Tugu Malang
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jalan Tugu No. 3, Malang 65119, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 43 Hotels in Malang
Certificate of Excellence 2014
jakarta
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Night at Museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

Spend night here feels like spend the night at Museum, due to their many arts collection. Dont miss tour of the hotel. The hotel staff will guide and explain you about the collection.
Tips: ask for 3rd floor room since it has bigger size than 1st & 2nd floor rooms.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yudha s, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Tugu Malang, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Dear Maureenpriscilla,

Thank you so much for staying with us and share your comments. We are pleased to learn that you have had a wonderful experience. Thank you for your compliments on the arts collection you have enjoyed during the hotel tour. Guests named us a "living museum boutique hotel" and we hope to see you soon again or experience our sister museum hotels in Blitar, Bali or Lombok.

Kind Regards
Yudha & the Tugu family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    197
    91
    22
    5
    1
See reviews for
61
145
20
32
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

This hotel is situated next to the City Hall of Malang, facing a revolutionary war monument set in the middle of a very large traffic circle with a beautifully-tended garden. The hotel has 49 rooms. The main memorable characteristic of the place is the surfeit of ethnographic objects displayed in all public areas of the hotel, and in the various banquet and meeting rooms. The owner has stocked the hotel like it was his own private residence with objects which reflect his taste for wooden puppets, historical paintings and photographs, old furniture, etc. The hotel had a spectacular complementary afternoon tea. The breakfast has the most varied range of traditional Javanese and Straits Chinese cuisine I have ever seen. There are several suites, one of which was built for Megawati Soekarnoputri, daughter of President Soekarno who became president in her own right. She passes through Malang on the way to visit her father's grave in Blitar. That suite is designed in an amazingly eclectic manner. It is named the Apsara Residence, and combines Cambodian motifs with art deco media such as stained glass.

Room Tip: The front rooms can be noisy due to traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yudha s, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Tugu Malang, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Dear 2012Excavator,

Warm Greetings from Hotel Tugu Malang. We would like to thank you for staying with us during your Malang trip from Singapore with your group. It was a pleasure for us having you and we are very delighted to see your very kind and detailed description of Tugu Malang which you shared with our guests.
We hope to see you again next time with your family, so you can discover even more the beauties of Tugu, Malang and its beautiful surroundings.
In the meantime let us know anytime if there is something we can do for you.

Kind Regards
Yudha & the Tugu family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

A very beautiful hotel, with extremely friendly staff. We had a fantastic room. First we were in a room where the window and wooden shades could not open, so without any light. But they immediately changed us to another room upon request.

The food was fantastic. Breakfast, lunch and dinner, we tried it all. They have a very good bakery as well, situated next to it.

We took the bike tour, Bromo tour, and the cooking class. The bike tour was very nice, Malang is a great city. The Bromo tour was ok, there were many many people, and we had to leave at 01.00 AM. This was however not necessary, since we waited for 2 hours in the dark. The cooking class was fun, but there was not a lot of cooking going on, we only had to stir everything and bake it. But again, very friendly staff.

I can recommend everyone to go to this hotel, best hotel in Indonesia I have been so far!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yudha s, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Tugu Malang, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Dear JohannaLi,

Thank you very much for staying with us at Tugu Malang. It is a great pleasure to hear that you have had a good experience and share with us your comments about the food, staff, the bike and the bromo tour. We will review and implement your suggestions.
We are looking forward to see you soon again in Malang or at our sister properties in Blitar, Lombok or Bali

Kind Regards
Yudha and the Tugu family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

A gem in an essentially pointless town.

The Tugu hotel in Malang can be described as a living art gallery. Every public space has a different theme with interesting artwork. The Marco Polo room was beautiful.

Great food at the restaurant. We had dinner by the pool. As we were a large group they set up a special table for us. It was very beautiful by the pool.

The breakfast was a la carte. It was good although the service was a little slow.

Unfortunately the bedrooms were a huge let down. Although clean, comfortable and well decorated they were tiny. Barely enough space to swing a cat let alone share it with someone else. This was very disappointing. The bathrooms were also miniscule even for one person, with a weird metal bathtub.

This is possibly the best hotel in Malang. If you're there ask for a guided tour. It'll be worth it.


Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yudha s, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Tugu Malang, responded to this review, August 16, 2014
Dear mbs2979,

Thank you very much for staying with us at Tugu Malang and taking your valuable time to share your thoughts with us and our guests. It is great to hear that you have enjoyed our "Living Museum Boutique Hotel" in the heart of the city centre. It is a pity that your group haven't had enough time to discover the real beauty and charm of Malang. Well please visit us again and we make sure to show you around on our personalized tour and make sure you will also enjoy your room.

Best Regards

Yudha & the Tugu family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mindanao, Philippines
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
166 helpful votes 166 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

We could not afford the Hotel Tugu Malang, more's the pity. We did have the good fortune to eat there twice on the one day we stayed in Malang. the second time we invited out driver so he could experience this wonder himself.

My estimate is that I have stayed in over 200 hundred hotels in the last ten years. This is by far the most unique and exotic hotel I have ever visited. The public rooms are an unending museum of Indonesian culture. Incredible! And since this is a restaurant review, the food was excellent and moderately priced (especially compared to the room prices).

I found Malang to be a large, largely featureless, crowded, congested city. We were there on our way from Mt. Bromo via several temples and a botanical garden to Blitar. My strong recommendation would be to visit Malang if only for this hotel and its restaurant and public rooms.

Room Tip: Wander through the extensive public rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yudha s, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Tugu Malang, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear Mr. Don L,

Thank you for visiting Hotel Tugu Malang. We are very pleased that you have enjoyed your meals at the Melati Restaurant and had a chance of exploring the world of Tugu Malang. Your review makes us very proud and we hope that you will stay with us overnight in the future.
We would also love to change your perception of the city of Malang. The city has a lot of hidden beauties which are can hardly be seen by car driving through the city. We offer a unique bike tour to explore the old charm of the colonial quarters, traditional “kampoengs” (neighborhoods) and city parks mainly riding in quite streets and alleys where friendly locals and birds are your constant compagnion. We love to have you explore this with us the next time
We wish you all the best and hope to see you soon again

Best Regards
Yudha & the Tugu family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
173 reviews 173 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
142 helpful votes 142 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

We did not stay at this hotel & sorely regret this decision as we ate here every night. The food here was really excellent, the service impeccable and the cocktails to die for. Really important to note that this place is not expensive for food, we paid as much across the street at the Kertanegara restaurant which was absolutely awful on every level. Don't make the mistake we did, stay at Tugu!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yudha s, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Tugu Malang, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear Jill_Dublin_12,

Warm Greetings from Hotel Tugu Malang and thank you for visiting us while staying in the city.
We are very pleased to read your very kind review about our Melati Restaurant, which is famous for their Indonesian traditional food, as well as the Chinese Peranakan food and the wide seleciton of local and international steaks.
We look forward to your next visit and we would love to have you stay with us to discover the art, soul and romance of Tugu Malang as well as the hidden beauties of the city.
In the meantime let us know anytiime if there is something we can do for you.

Best Regards

Yudha & the Tugu family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

We ended up in Malang by chance as we were heading to Mount Bromo and decided to avoid the not so well advised Surabay. By miracle someone advised us the Tugu Hotel. Although at walking distance from the train station, we were awaited and picked up by the hotel! From there a perfect mixture of balanced service, great infrastructure with the right touch of art and decoration and amazing food (and that is understated). The hotel is a safe and calm haven in a charming but sometimes busy city (not as busy as yogyakarta). The concierge provides for great arrangements ar affordable rates even if it is time consuming. The wellness center is truly a gem - we took the full package and felt as royalty coming out there. Attention to detail and the small things make it just all so perfect. If u have the time, ask for the bike tour - it was designed by the general manager after 2 years of carefully studying the city - takes u through the bird and flower market, the colonial type area, the local traditionnal residential area's - gives a great insider vie of the city. Delighted by our stay, we didnt hesitte in booking another Tugu hotel in Bali. In a nutshell, if u r going through Malang, don't miss out on this diamond. And I have seen a lot of properties around the world.
Thanks Tugu Malang, we'll be back.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yudha s, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Tugu Malang, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear SamV78,

Warm Greetings from Hotel Tugu Malang and thank you for staying with us and our sister property in Canggu. Bali. We are so delighted that you have fully enjoyed your stay and we would like to thank you for sharing your detailed review with us and our readers. We loved the description of your bike tour experience, which we really feel is the best way to explore the true spirit of the city. We launched the tour just a month ago and we are so happy that our guests love the tour so much, especially if you have limited time (the tour is about 3 hours).
We wish you all the best and we hope that you visit us again here or have to chance to discover our sister hotel in Blitar, East Java and Lomobk.

Best Regards
Yudha & the Tugu family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Tugu Malang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tugu Malang

Address: Jalan Tugu No. 3, Malang 65119, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Java > East Java > Malang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Malang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Tugu Malang 5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Tugu Malang is a must-see destination by itself. It is an elegant mansion that tells the romantic stories of the island of Java. The proprietors’ collection of hundreds and hundreds of antiques tastefully adorn every corner of the hotel, walking guests through the heritages of the Dutch colonial era, the gradual fusion of the Indonesian and the Chinese cultures over many centuries as well as the humble beauty of traditional Indonesian masterpieces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel Tugu Malang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tugu Hotel Malang

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Tugu Malang, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.