We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly Indonesian atmosphere” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Tugu Malang

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Tugu Malang to your Saves list
Hotel Tugu Malang
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jalan Tugu No. 3, Malang 65119, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 42 Hotels in Malang
Hilversum, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Truly Indonesian atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

You would guess this is a century old hotel in Malang, but when we did the tour through the hotel (yes, you can get a guided tour through the hotel...) we were told that the building was actually built quite recently. The hotel is something between a museum and a four star hotel. Great rooms, great food, great service, especially at the front desk!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yudha s, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Tugu Malang, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Dear Emile B,

Thank you very much for staying us at Hotel Tugu Malang and sharing your feedback with us.
It is good to hear that you have enjoyed your time with us and experienced the hotel on our hotel tour. Indeed Hotel Tugu Malang was build in 1990 and was the first Tugu Hotel. The aim was to create a place where time stands still and guests can enjoy the history and culture of Malang with all the facilities of a luxury hotel combined with personalized service.
We hope to see you soon again in Malang or in our sister hotels in Blitar, Bali or Lombok.

Warmest regards
Yudha along with Hotel Tugu Malang family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    177
    83
    21
    5
    1
See reviews for
55
131
19
29
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

We stayed for 10 days in the executive suite. Room was big, bed was comfortable and there was ample space in the living area.

Breakfast was better than during our previous visit. Good selection of local and western food. We like the tea time, tour around the hotel, massage at the spa, bar and bakery. In fact, we like everything the hotel does.

There are plenty new hotel in Malang now but Tugu is still the best.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yudha s, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Tugu Malang, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Dear Cdwc,

Warm Greetings from Hotel Tugu Malang. Thank you very much for staying with us again and taking the time to share your kind notes with us.
We really appreciate your feedback, since we never stop trying to further improve our service as well as our food choices. Your comments mean a lot for us and we are looking forward to see you again in the near future.

Warmest regards
Yudha along with Hotel Tugu Malang family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

I stayed with family for only 1 night. Everything was just so great. They served everything we want. I arrived at 6.30 a.m and was asking for early check in (very early I might say) and they just gave the room shortly. Staffs we're very nice, high serving attitude and friendly. An old, antique hotel but very well maintained & clean. Restaurant was great, everything was good but my most fave was Wedang Angsle, huzarensla and their satay. They also gave a complimentary invitation for afternoon tea and 15 mins massage! Since nothing is perfect, so I might say this hotel is almost perfect!

Stayed October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yudha s, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Tugu Malang, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Dear Dsaptari,

Warm Greetings from Hotel Tugu Malang and thank you for staying with us. We really appreciate your positive notes and will share it with our staff. Hotel Tugu Malang is dedicated to the history, culture and romance of the past and besides all the antiques and decor, we try to show our own unique hospitality style with our local culinary delights as well as the friendliness and humbleness of our staff. It is great to hear that you have enjoyed some local favorite dishes here and we are looking forward to your next stay to try some more.

Warmest regards
Yudha along with Hotel Tugu Malang family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Stayed in one of the rooms that face the pool on the second floor.

Lots of character to this hotel. The decor is unique. When you walk into/behind the restaurant/bar area, you discover a whole gallery of art collections from the owner. We took a walk behind the restaurant at night time, and it almost appeared a bit spooky.

We checked in at 4pm and just in time for the complimentary afternoon tea on the second floor. There was a huge selection of tea and a wide variety of Peranakan/Nonya snacks/cakes available. Not many guests took advantage of this.

For dinner, we went over to Rumah Makan Inggil (next to Museum Malang Tempo Doeloe) which is within walking distance to the hotel. Ask the front desk for directions.

The hotel has its own pastry shop where you can get some delicious ice cream for IDR 10,000. Continue past the pastry shop on the road and within a few minutes you would see Massage Nuansa Fajar coming up on your left - a place that is a bit of a social enterprise which recruits and trains visually impaired folks in the massage trade. The masseurs are not bad, IDR 30,000 an hour.

Breakfast at the hotel, despite not being buffet, was extremely hearty. You get a big plate of fruit (with choice of 5 kinds of fruit), then I opted for the egg white omelette (they must have used at least 4 eggs) with home made brown toast, and travel companion went for the local breakfast with a big plate of yellow rice, chicken, tempe and vegetables, with tea/coffee. For the western breakfast, you also get homemade yogurt. We didn't have to eat lunch that day.

We went back to the Museum Malang Tempo Doeloe for a quick tour before checking out.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yudha s, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Tugu Malang, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Dear Zhaobao,

Thank you very much for your visit at Hotel Tugu Malang. We really appreciate that you took your time and wrote this very detailed feedback about your experience with us. It was great to see how you discovered all areas of the hotel, which is dedicated to the history of Malang with all its influences from Peranakan to Dutch Colonial, Javanese, Chinese and Indian influences.
We would love to welcome you soon again and wish you all the very best.

Warmest regards
Yudha along with Hotel Tugu Malang family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

We stayed at this hotel, fabulous what an experience, amazing decor like a gallery you need to see it to believe it.

Loved the little bakery out the back.

Service was great from the minute we walked through the door. Can't wait to try another Tugu hotel maybe Lombok next.
Good location and lovely city.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yudha s, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Tugu Malang, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Dear Bezza2013
Warm Greetings from Hotel Tugu Malang and thank you for staying with us. It was a pleasure for us having you as a guest and we are delighted to read your lovely comments. We definitely will share your feedback and looking forward to see you again in Malang or in our sister hotels in Blitar, Lombok or Bali

Warmest regards
Yudha along with Hotel Tugu Malang family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013 via mobile

what a great place...fancy interior,love the ambience here, the staff are very welcome...i want to spend another night here...with whole of my family.. I can see Tugu Monumen from my room, and the beautiful of Malang City...

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yudha s, Director of Sales at Hotel Tugu Malang, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear AdindaCitra,

Thank you for your kind notes. We are pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your stay at Hotel Tugu in Malang and will share your thoughts with our staff.
We look forward to see you soon again with your family at Malang.

Warmest regards
Yudha along with Hotel Tugu Malang family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balikpapan, Indonesia
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I traveled to Malang to with a group of friends to compete at the Bromo 10K Run and decided to stay at the Tugu Malang. It was a great choice! The rooms are big and had a very authentic javanese decoration. The main restaurant has a great variety of Indonesian and western food at reasonable prices. Through the hotel we booked a trip to watch the sunrise at the Bromo mount and it was a fantastic experience. The spa is not big but has several choices of massage treatments.

Room Tip: Rooms with swimming pool view are less noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yudha s, Director of Sales at Hotel Tugu Malang, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear Ganhama,

Thank you very much for staying with us at Hotel Tugu Bali and for posting your review. It was a pleasure having you with us over the weekend with your friends. We are excited to hear that you have enjoyed your stay and have successfully completed the first 10 K Bromo Charity Marathon Run ever organized.
We are looking forward to see you again soon. In the meantime let us know anytime if there is something we can do for you.

Warmest regards
Yudha along with Hotel Tugu Malang family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Tugu Malang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tugu Malang

Address: Jalan Tugu No. 3, Malang 65119, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Java > East Java > Malang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Malang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Tugu Malang 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Tugu Malang is a must-see destination by itself. It is an elegant mansion that tells the romantic stories of the island of Java. The proprietors’ collection of hundreds and hundreds of antiques tastefully adorn every corner of the hotel, walking guests through the heritages of the Dutch colonial era, the gradual fusion of the Indonesian and the Chinese cultures over many centuries as well as the humble beauty of traditional Indonesian masterpieces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Tugu Malang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tugu Hotel Malang

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Tugu Malang, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.