We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A delight” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Tugu Malang

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Tugu Malang to your Saves list
Hotel Tugu Malang
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jalan Tugu No. 3, Malang 65119, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 43 Hotels in Malang
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Kathmandu
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“A delight”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

After a busy day visiting temples, what a delight to come into this fascinating and comfortable hotel. As much a museum as a hotel, we were shown around to admire the treasures on display. The room was beautifully decorated and it was a joy to stay here.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    197
    91
    22
    5
    1
See reviews for
61
145
20
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

The Tugu is a beautiful property and more like a museum with the artifacts in it. It has an eclectic decor which is a mish mash of colours and periods but somehow it all works together. One can spend time just walking through each part of it. The service and the staff are like no other. Quite simply the best hotel I have stayed in in terms of service and courtesy. The massage and spa facility is excellent as well. The food is fine but the current chef has issues cooking steaks and red meat as all of it was very tough. But because they are just so wonderful, one overlooks it.

Room Tip: Most rooms face the swimming pool so it doesnt matter much.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

After a long ride from Bromo, we decided to stay for a night in Malang before we back to Jakarta , and my partner gave me a surprise by booked this hotel, and what a pleasant surprise, we got an unique yet romantic ambience in this hotel, nice services, very professional staff and also excellent foods, Everytime we went from one room to another we got all this unique design, unique ambience,and unique piece of arts, it was great experience!
I definitely will be back if I have a trip to Malang again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Tugu is a hotel with collections of antiquities and concept of mixed Indonesia culture.
It is a great design and concept especially for foreigners.

Decoration is very intriguing and interesting. Plenty of room if you want to have a dinner for 20+ people, Tugu will serve you with several unique restaurant design.

The hotel room was spacious. Again with strong Indonesia culture design.

Food was good, and many small original Indonesia snacks. Things that you could enjoy during the 70-80, that somewhat extinct after the 90s...we call it "jajanan pasar".

Do try Tugu.. a pleasan and interesting stay

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Kisco
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

We spent 3 nights at Tugu Malang and it outranked the much more expensive hotels we used in both Borobudur and Ubud in a few ways. The rooms are funky and fun, with high beds you need a step stool to reach and giant round tin bathtubs that would hold a crowd. There is interesting artwork and sculpture to be discovered wherever you wander. It may look like a museum but the staff repeatedly reminds you that "this is your home." The food was the best we had in our travels, and the most reasonably priced. We ate all our meals here. The location is busy and lively but noise was not a problem. Above all, you will be very well cared for. When a massive traffic jam closed the only road to the Surabaya airport and we'd never make our flight, Angie quickly landed us seats on a flight directly from Malang, escorted us to the travel agent who could provide tickets, and arranged a ride for us to the airport in plenty of time. Calmly and confidently she averted a disaster and got us to our next destination in time. Thanks also to John, charming and helpful and always a friendly face at the front of the hotel.

Room Tip: We were upstairs and away from the restaurant and pool, which proved to be a nice, quiet spot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

The Hotel is a beautiful old colonial house full with antiques. The staff are all very professional, helpful and knowledgeable. The food was excellent, we ended up eating there for every meal as it was so good.

We booked a half day tour to Mt Bromo and were persuaded to take the Jeep the whole way not just for the last part. This was a mistake, the jeep took twice as long and the half day turned into a whole day, with a driver who spoke no English and didn't seem to know where to take us. We were supposed to visit a waterfall and a temple as well, but after 9 hours in the Jeep we only got to see Mt Bromo.

Room Tip: Don't take the Jeep!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yudha s, Marketing Manager at Hotel Tugu Malang, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Dear nila52,

Thank you very much for staying with us and its our great pleasure and honor to hear your compliments on your stay at Tugu Malang. We do apologize for any inconvinience during your trip to Bromo, due to unforseeen road works on the way to reach the waterfall.

We are looking forward to welcome you anytime again.

Warmest regards
Yudha along with Hotel Tugu Malang family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, KY
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Stepping into this grand relic is like stepping back in history to the colonial past. The hotel has been kept up beautifully. Antiques fill the public rooms. The restaurant was among the best we experienced in Indonedia. The room and bath were elegantly appointed. The staff was more than helpful, getting us onto our betchak and finding a car and driver to take us to Bali. We thought this was a great value for the money. We would definitely return to this classic hotel!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Tugu Malang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tugu Malang

Address: Jalan Tugu No. 3, Malang 65119, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Java > East Java > Malang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Malang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Tugu Malang 5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Tugu Malang is a must-see destination by itself. It is an elegant mansion that tells the romantic stories of the island of Java. The proprietors’ collection of hundreds and hundreds of antiques tastefully adorn every corner of the hotel, walking guests through the heritages of the Dutch colonial era, the gradual fusion of the Indonesian and the Chinese cultures over many centuries as well as the humble beauty of traditional Indonesian masterpieces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel Tugu Malang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tugu Hotel Malang

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Tugu Malang, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.