We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A comfortable although less than elegant GuestHouse!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Enny's Guest House

Enny's Guest House
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Enny's Guest House to your Saves list
Enny's Guest House
1.0 of 5 Guest house   |   Taman Wilis Street 1A-B | Gading Street 2-4, Malang 65115 , Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 78 Malang B&B and Inns
Leander, Texas
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“A comfortable although less than elegant GuestHouse!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

I recently stayed there for 5 days. I got to meet other travellers who stay there 1-2 months every year all of whom seem to love it. It did leave a LOT to be desired, the breakfast was adequate and rather delicious. You could choose either Nasi Goreng or an omelette, so not a big variety by any means. My room was nice and clean, the staff was very attentive.
The best part of the stay here was meeting the driver I hired for every day I was there as part of Ennys' care rental service. The price of the driver and car was exceptional, Bapak Erno although he doesn't speak English more than a very few words, was delightful and kind. My companions were Indonesian, so were able to translate for us, and get his suggestions on additional places to visit. If I go to Malang again, I would consider staying here, but will most likelyu do a return visit to this place. Price is a bit higher considering the quality of the rooms. Deluxe rooms only if you choose to stay here. Otherwise, you may wish to stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    14
    5
    3
    2
See reviews for
2
9
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
The Netherlands
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Service was poor in this old junk place. It was really a terrible experience. To get to the room they planed for us, we had to crawl underneath clotheslines full of wet clothes. What a terrible place. We had a reservation for three nights, but we spend 1 night there. We arrived late in the afternoon, and were tired of the long drive we had made ​​that day. So we stayed. But after one night we can not wait to get out of there.
My advice: do NOT go there.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

I only stayed for one night at Enny's guesthouse. It was a place that we randomly choosed as a place to spend the night during my wife's family visit from Jakarta. It's actually a cozy place, but it ruined our holiday. During our stay, we have problems with the electricity. When we turn the TV on, it went off. This thing made my son cried since he can't watch the TV. The worse thing is, when we report this with the FO staff, they said that they can't do anything about this. After more than 10 times complaining, they finally gave us another room that has a stabil electricity. But unfortunately, there's only one room left, so my parents inlaw still sleep in a room where there's no stabil electricity

Room Tip: choose the newly renovated rooms if available
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012 via mobile

First time i stayed here, i stayed in the deluxe room and they gave me room #25A. It was clean, neat, and beautiful with no dim lamp but it had a bedside tables.

Then the next time i came, I stayed again in the deluxe room #25 and boy how bad it was. The room was OK but it smelled like a mixed of mould, poo, and septic tank. I like dim lamp but it didn't have bedside tables. And the smell was too horrible for the same price of Rp 275K.

Then the next day i gotta moved out of the horrible room. I tried the standard room and it was just disgusting. Lizards poo everywhere (i hate lizards poo and i usually check around the room and bathroom). The sink was beside our bed, NOT inside the bathroom. The curtain was dirty and mouldy and the staffs banged the door, people chattered loudly outside, music from the cellphone was turned on for HOURS, bad experience. The breakfast was fine with toast and jams, banana, or you can choose fried rice. The unlimited tea and coffee is lovely. If i stayed again here i definitely would choose the deluxe room because it's only 25k difference than the horrible standard room. Oh and i would choose room #25.

Funny how it seems like they don't make the room totally complete. Should a roombe a clean ones with dim lamp and bedside tables and free of ANY poos...

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffersonville, Indiana
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at Enny's for 9 nights. We had a delicious hot breakfast every morning, our room was cleaned each night, and laundry service was available. The rooms were clean and simple and there was plenty of gathering space on the grounds.

There is a batik boutique next door that is run by the same family. The clothes are made right at the guesthouse and very reasonably priced. They will even do alterations.

I will definitely stay here again and recommend this place to you!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denpasar Bali
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

I've stayed here many times over the years. They are continuing to upgrade their rooms and are currently adding more rooms. It continues to be clean, safe, and helpful.

Sometimes the noise in the courtyard (other guests or staff) or from the road can be a problem depending on which room you select.

Breakfast is toast, homemade jams, an egg, a banana, and tea or coffee.

It's a convenient location if you want to ride public transportation within the centre of the city. You can walk to several small street cafes for a meal. Several grocery stores are a 12 minute walk away.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012

Enny's Guest House is a small and friendly guest house, feeling safe and relaxed in the centre of Malang. My wife and i had a deluxe room, clean, comfortable and worth the rp. 300.000/night with free internet. There is a nice garden with bamboo gazebo and a very pleasant lounge area.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Enny's Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Enny's Guest House

Address: Taman Wilis Street 1A-B | Gading Street 2-4, Malang 65115 , Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Java > East Java > Malang
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 78 B&Bs / Inns in Malang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Enny's Guest House 1*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Enny's Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Enny`s Guest House Hotel Malang

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Enny's Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.