We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noisy, basic but good location” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Splendid Inn

Save Saved
You added Splendid Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Splendid Inn
Jl. Mojopahit 2-4, East Java, Malang 65119, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 40 hotels in Malang
London
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Noisy, basic but good location”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012 via mobile

It's exactly as described in the other reviews - handy location for sightseeing and near the train station but also on a major round about with absolutely no noise insulation. The rooms are effectively open as the top of the windows have no glass, just moskito nets. You can therefore hear the traffic as if you are camping on the road.
Rooms are very large and we had some lovely hot water on the first night ( but not on the subsequent ones).
Best tip is to go for dinner at next door's Tugu - not as expensive as it looks and absolutely amazing food.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2
    17
    17
    2
    2
See reviews for
6
16
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
SUDAMERICA
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

I stayed 2 nights in this hotel. There is a smell of old furnitures and sheets in the room but it's really big and it costs around 20 dollars only for a single person including breakfast. The staff is very polite, english speaking and very helpful at all times. It's not a fancy hotel but I still recommend it.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sittard, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

This hotel needs an renovation badly. The bathroom was old and we must call for hot water. The swimming pool was very dirty.

Room Tip: Ask a room with airco.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

I guess one of the best thing from Splendid inn is its location. Next to Tugu Hotel ( with only one third the price) and facing one of Malang's photogenic spot. The Town Hall, the Tugu statue, with big old trees surrounding the area.

The hotel itself, I didn't find it appealing. Yes, it has kept its antique touch to the point it seemed like it had never been cleaned..
I instantly disliked the interior atmosphere. Totally creeping me out. Don't get me wrong, I DO like clean, well taken care - vintage and old school atmosphere.
Not to mention lazy front staff.

Seriously, the front area was creepy, to the point it felt like there were some ghosts ready to jump on me.

I can't comment whether the price was worth it or not. I've had brighter experience, with less than IDR. 250k in other hotel in Malang.

Yes, some said it had successfully kept its art deco feels. But when I got there, it was covered with messiness, darkness, unnecessary decorations and painting.

The room itself was a mash of 1920's and 1960's atmosphere. Unfortunately, in a dusty, run down way.

Some people might love this hotel.
Me finding it's a bit too dark and heavy to my taste.

If you love super old, art deco-ish, unorganized vintage/ retro atmosphere, Give this hotel a try

Room Tip: There are two areas of rooms. One in the front area, were art deco-ish. Another in the back area. As...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

Splendid Inn was quite an experience. My family spent 5 days there and my feelings changed after the (relatively) long stay.
First, I found the place a bit creepy due to the rather antique furniture and decors. However, I got used to it after a few days.
The room themselves are cozy, pretty big, and kept relatively well. It really felt like I was spending time in a somewhat luxurious old house rather than a hotel. The hot water ran just fine and the whole place had a serene feeling to it.
The service there was top-notch. The crew was always both helpful and cheerful. They were also able to speak good English. I personally found the afternoon tea/coffee and snacks they offered a really fine personal touch.
The prices they offer were really fair. They were much more affordable than the other hotel next door. I rarely find a better deal.
Other things worth mentioning are:
-There's a small pool you can swim in
-Breakfast is adequate and surprisingly not a buffet like most other hotel's restaurants. Choose between a plate fried rice (nasi goreng) and 3 pieces of toast with various toppings.
-The location of the hotel is one of the best things about it. In the center of town (a 2 minute walk to the Town Hall and 10 minute walk to the Malang station), it made a great place to spend the night after I and my family traveled to tourist destinations in and nearby Malang.

Room Tip: Ask them to show you around; the rooms can be quite different.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012 via mobile

Stayed in Splendid Inn for three nights, were satisfied with what we got for 300K per night (2 pax, breakfast incl): simple hotel, clean beds, large bathroom needs a make-over. Staff friendly and helpfull, always one english-speaking present. Breakfast asian or european (toast, egg, hagelslag!) OK. Big lounge with wifi and a completely random combination of furniture. Limited menu for lunch and diner, but nextdoor is Hotel Tugu, five star hotel with matching cuisine: great nasi for 30K, not more expensive than middleclass restaurants. Now that's value for money. Location is great, close to station, birdmarket, alun-alun.

Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012

Hello I stayed at Splendid Inn 2 decades ago and not much has changed. But thats the beauty of it. Like staying in a past era with all the old Dutch furniture. I had booked an extra night at the upmarket stylish Tugu Hotel (right next door) but the en-masse Indonesian families with their screaming kids and maids made me decide to spend another night at the Splendid. Sure its simple but staff are really friendly and its laid back...

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Splendid Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Splendid Inn

Address: Jl. Mojopahit 2-4, East Java, Malang 65119, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Java > East Java > Malang
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 40 hotels in Malang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Splendid Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Splendid Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.