We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, friendly service and unique design” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Graha Cakra Malang

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Graha Cakra Malang to your Saves list
The Graha Cakra Malang
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jl. Cerme No 16, Malang 65112, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 43 Hotels in Malang
Jakarta, Indonesia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great location, friendly service and unique design”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

First time I came to the hotel, I was exciting with the old and antique car that parked in front the hotel. The hotel looked like building, not a hotel so i felt comfortable. The staffs are so friendly and kind to welcome us. There are many restaurants around the hotel so I just walk to grab some foods. The staff wears colonial and traditional costume, it is the uniqueness and plus point of the hotel. the interior is full with antique stuffs such as wooden art, ceramics, old radio etc. I feel like living in colonial era. But for me, the bathroom is still need improvement because it is so standard for this hotel. I came in fasting month then I felt lazy to go to restaurant for Sahur then hotel's staff sent our food into our room without charge anything.

Room Tip: I prefer to choose deluxe room near to pool, it looks more modern and better than suite room upstair
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    37
    12
    4
    1
See reviews for
22
18
1
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Naaldwijk, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Not because of the Hotel, but because of Malung itself.
Malung proved to be a nice place,
Service in the hotel was of good standard, room clean, bathroom tiny, bed good but not special.
We arrived in the evening, they were rebuilding a part of the hotel next to the swimming pool so the pool was a bit difficult to find.
Not a problem because it was already late so we decided to discover Malung first. In the surrounding of the Hotel we found some nice places with music and beer. Later that evening we went back to the hotel for a meal. Food was not spectacular nor was the band performing that night. But the admosphere was okay. The band played The Bee Gees oldie "To love somebody" a song we heard since that moment everywhere in Indonesia. At the end of their performance the bandmembers came personally tot the tables of the guests to thank them for being there..

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Its location is in the middle of a shady residential area and close to the town forest. The most interesting thing of this hotel is the hotel's interior design which is characterized by Javanese tradition but merged with Dutch colonial style. This hotel can be categorized as "green hotel" because it does not use the air conditioner except in the bedroom. large windows in the dining room do not have shutters, so that outside air directly felt in the room. Fortunately, the air temperature is low enough in Malang and surrounding environment are still clean. The staffs are very friendly and helpful. Full breakfast menu served varied and tasty. In general this hotel deserves two thumbs up, and highly recommended.

Room Tip: Rooms in the first floor closed to swimming pool are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Our two nights stay was quite good. Its queen size bed was comfortable for the three of us and its swimming pool is sufficient for our four year old daughter. However on the second day of our stay, our daughter slipped down the stairs and hit her head causing a small bump. Therefore we would recommend families traveling with younger children to have the room on 1st floor (the hotel only have 2 floors).

Room Tip: choose room on the first floor if you have trouble with stairs since it only had one elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

The Graha Cakra Malang, is what I would call "Indonesian 4 star"
An old Dutch building in what seems to be a "better" part of Malang.
The surrounding, well kept, larger homes, in the surrounding suburb, seemed to be owned by Doctors, and those in the Finance Industry.
250 metres away on Jl Iljen are the mansions of Malang.
The staff at the hotel, were just fantastic, looking out for our needs.
They were very observant, and noticed that one of our party, were having a birthday, and they brought a "crepe and candle" to our breakfast table, on that day and sang Happy Birthday.
While waiting for our driver, for our trip to Mt Bromo @ 1am in the morning, I mentioned to a staff member, that I wanted to source a special souvenir from Malang.
(Some old local Indonesian Car number plates)
I was told that that would not be possible.
Anyway, on leaving the Graha Cakra, we were presented with some somewhat personalised, genuine Indonesian Car number plates, that that staff member from the 1am shift, had specially sourced or manufactured.
A really touching thought on behalf of that staff member, and a genuine reflection, on our view of the staff, there is that they went out of their way to please.
Breakfast at Graha Cakra, was nice, if somewhat basic, more geared to Indonesian and Asian tastes, though I must say, I was impressed with there attempt, to find Worcestershire sauce, for my eggs. They found some "English Sauce", a Chinese made sweeter, but not quite right equivalent.
The Indonesian and Japanese breakfasts were nice.
The bathroom area, of the rooms were a little on the small side, but as I say this is what i call Indonesian 4 star.

There are nice restaurants nearby (just across the road), that have bands playing at night.
The D-Pav and Teysa's.
Indonesian meals from IDR 20,000 (USD2) to IDR 60,000 (USD6) or so.

We caught the Local Angkot IDR2500 (25 cents) per trip to get to the old town centre (Alun Alun) or to the shopping mall (Matos)

Organised taxi from the Malang airport to Graha Cakra IDR 65,000 (USD6.50)

In April in Malang, it rained every day at 3pm to 4pm or so.

All in all, a great Indonesian experience holiday, the people at the Graha Cakra are great, the hotel rooms servicable, in a generally good area.

Mark Auzzie.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palu
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

stay here together with residents to stay at home in the villages of Java with excellent service, gentle, polite and respectful as well as king. sleep would not come out feeling dai sangking comfort room, breakfast supplied ranging from traditional Javanese food to an international menu, the waiters and waitresses gorgeous and exotic

Room Tip: ask for a separate room in another location from the main hotel, as are spacious and very beautiful...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, Belgium
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

We walked several times from the hotel to the city centre , but at evening , a taxi is recommended ( the meter says something like 8.000 INR but the minimum charge is 20.000 INR or 2US$, you do not want to walk in the dark for that). Rooms are good quality, wifi works, breakfast is well organized, staff is ok and the restaurant is a very good alternative for the most places in town, Melati is difficult to beat.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Graha Cakra Malang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Graha Cakra Malang

Address: Jl. Cerme No 16, Malang 65112, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Java > East Java > Malang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Malang
#5 Luxury Hotel in Malang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Graha Cakra Malang 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since April 2011 The Graha Cakra Malang Hotel has been " A Five Star Hotel in Malang " ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Graha Cakra Malang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Graha Cakra Malang Hotel Malang

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Graha Cakra Malang, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.