We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Helpful staff, spacious room, value for money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of de Daunan Home and Garden Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added de Daunan Home and Garden Guest House to your Saves list
de Daunan Home and Garden Guest House
Jl. Trunojoyo 2, Junrejo | Batu, Malang 65141, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 78 Malang B&B and Inns
Singapore
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Helpful staff, spacious room, value for money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

Got the Kecubung room at IDR 275,000, basic non A/C room, very spacious, big bed and free wifi. Room was clean with no weird smell, furniture a little dated but no big deal. Food at the restaurant was okay, very reasonably priced, though waiting time is a little long. Staff were extremely friendly and helpful, tried to make us feel like home at all times. Booked airport transfer and Mt Bromo tour through hotel and the driver was very professional and experienced, chauffeured us around in a comfortable Suzuki 6-seater MPV. Recommended for those who are looking for a nice, cozy, yet cheap stay.

Room Tip: Pay only a little more for a better room with A/C. Kecubung room is right beside the reception and c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    12
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
11
5
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Any
English first
Pasir Gudang, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2011

We stayed for 4D3N, slef drive from Jkt to Batu via Tegal & Tuban. After 2 days travel over 900km the impact on entering the biggest villa was Thank God Almighty.
Location suitable wgen you hv yr own rental, the mosque is nearby n the villagers very friendly. Food stall nearby cheap n good compared to KL prices.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indonesia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2011

I has been many times using this Accommodation, I think this is the best Eco friendly Accommodation in Malang, also they provided Vegetarian food, in quite area at Batu Highland

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuwait City, Kuwait
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2011

Great value for money & their staff were so amazing.

If you want somewhere posh to stay...then, this isn't the one.
This is pretty much basic/low profile accomodation.

We stayed there for 1 night with 4 litte kids. I still can remember,how lovely the owner(Abby) was & her staff were amazing too.
Saying good bye to them at 1 am(before leaving for Mt Bromo),was pretty sad. They were really lovely people. I hope I can visit them again oneday.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2010

Read this : To those who come to Java and expect to be treated like celebrities or divas alike, then De Daunan is NOT the place for you. Take your expectations elsewhere and make room for those who would appreciate this low profile sanctuary better. De Daunan is not Four Seasons Hotel so do not set 5-star expectation.

We were there with our 3 young children and elderly parents. We stayed at the largest unit in de Daunan which consist of 2 bedrooms, a dining area, living room and verandah. Down side was there was only 1 bathroom and we had to take turns to use it but that really is no big deal. There is hot shower and we are thankful for that given the chilly mountain climate in Malang. The bedrooms are roomy without air conditioners. You don't need that in de Daunan as the climate there is cool. You only need to open the windows if the room is stuffy and it is perfectly safe to sleep at night with the windows open. Breakfast is included and the humble menu changes everyday. If you are not used to Javanese food, there is other alternative such as toast and eggs otherwise the food on the overall, is rather good. Thanks to the cook - a sweet, kind and very cheerful lady. Afternoon tea is also included and there was vegetable fritters, banana cakes, pineapple tarts served with tea. Again, the menu changes everyday and they were really really good.

De Daunan is well maintained, clean and quiet. Children are free to explore the surroundings which is mostly vegetable plots and fruit plantation. Coming from the city, De Daunan is truly a perfect place for our family to relax and just enjoy the sounds from the rustling leaves, the roosters' call, feel the cool mountain air or take a stroll around the village and talk to the local people.

The staff at De Daunan are nice people. Our children are very comfortable with them and often look for them first (in the kitchen especially) the first thing when they wake up in the morning. Everyone is prompt, helpful and polite. We were treated like their family. We met the owners who took time to chat with us. The wife whom someone mentioned seems to be a surly lady is not like that at all. She was just born with that surly face but she is actually nice and polite. There are humble activities offered at this place such as table tennis, chess, books, carom etc but our children are more interested in interacting with the staff or explore in the gardens.

Outside the De Daunan, there are places worth the visit if you travel with young children. There is Jatim Park, Batu Secret Zoo, Batu Night Spectacular, Taman Safari or if you like to get close to nature, hire a driver and drive to the apple orchards, potato, carrots and cabbage plantation, hot springs and waterfalls. Malang is a small low profile town so do not expect so much when you go downtown. Don't expect Gucci or Prada boutiques but a stroll down the town and chat with the locals could give you a more meaningful experience and make you appreciate the simpler things in life. There are many nice restaurants which serve good Javanese or even western food in Batu. Bethania in Batu serves good Javanese food. The sambal pencit is worth the try.

We would say again that De Daunan is an excellent place to hide if you want to escape the hectic city living like Singapore. We appreciate the surroundings, the simplicity, the warmth and humbleness of the Javanese. Our children have certainly returned from this trip with a better sense of awareness and fond memories of the people.

The only bad experience we had at De Daunan was the sight of 2 Middle Eastern travellers who treated the staff like slaves. They must have thought that De Daunan is some kind of harem and they must be treated like kings.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2010

This B&B was a disappointment, inspite of the previous glowing reviews. Yes, it is surrounded by a small, working vegetable farm.. and the wooden cottages do look cute BUT:

1. No Aircon. Fine if you're used to the deadly sun of Surabaya but coming from Jakarta (even Jakarta is hot) De Daunan was terribly hot!! Wanting to sleep just a bit more comfortably at night, we had to choose between opening the cottage door (but it's safety hazzard) or sleeping in an oven-like room. We chose option no.2, the very slightly 'better' choice.

2. Service. The reception girls were lovely but the manager/owner left the impression of a surly old woman. Never communicating with the guests, never put a smile on her face. For a family owned B&B I find this very odd.

Batu itself is boring, again if you're from Jakarta like we do, it's not much different from Puncak. If you're in the area consider visiting Malang (more things to do, stay at the Tugu) or Bromo (MUCH more beautiful, stay at the Lava View Lodge/Banana Inn) instead.

  • Stayed December 2009
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melaka, Malaysia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2010

WE arrived late at night and we were pleased that the owner waited for us. It was difficult to get to the place as our driver is not familiar with this hotel. It was peak season and all the other rooms were fully booked. We got a room for 6 and it was clean and cozy.

We didnt spend much time there as we need to leave very early the next morning. Our regret for not getting much of this place. It was cozy and all staff were smilling all the time.

Would l recommend this place to others? I would say..Please stay here. This reminds me of Cameron highlands of Malaysia.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to de Daunan Home and Garden Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about de Daunan Home and Garden Guest House

Address: Jl. Trunojoyo 2, Junrejo | Batu, Malang 65141, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Java > East Java > Malang
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 78 B&Bs / Inns in Malang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At de Daunan we offer a guest house with the ambience and natural setting, an environmentally friendly life, and an absence of crowds. In the hill town of Batu, about 20 minutes drive out of Malang (the central East Java city), this is a great sanctuary place to relax among the vines and trees, in the middle of a small plantation. Our themed guest house aims to put a little back into nature with a combination of beautiful scenery and traditional handicraft activities, ensuring your visit is a special one. So, when you want to relax and unwind, particularly after a busy day, step into de Daunan and enjoy our open air, beautiful scenery and handicrafts. de Daunan should be worth a visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and HostelBookers so you can book your de Daunan Home and Garden Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Daunan Home And Garden Guest House Hotel Malang

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage de Daunan Home and Garden Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.