We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting Javanese resort.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of MesaStila Wellness Retreat

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added MesaStila Wellness Retreat to your Saves list
MesaStila Wellness Retreat
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Desa Losari, Grabag, Magelang 56100, Indonesia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Magelang
Singapore
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Interesting Javanese resort.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

MesaStila is almost 2 hours drive from Semarang airport, which is the one with regular flights. We prebooked the airport transfer - which was a great decision. Our villa 211 was an Ambar villa which could sleep 5 people. Breakfast and afternoon tea was included, and quality was good. We did most of the in-house activities, and I'd recommend the yoga, power walks and coffee plantation tour. Paid activities were good too, and we liked the horse riding (one hour for US$25+) and Grabag village tour with horse cart ride (US$60+ for 4 of us). They also provided a surprise birthday cake for my wife, which was delightful.

Room Tip: There are two rows of villas, which extend downhill, so ask for the ones facing the mountains and up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MesaStila W, Manager at MesaStila Wellness Retreat, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Dear Sir / Madam,

Thank you for your kind support, we are delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your experience in MesaStila, We look forward to having the pleasure welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    165
    54
    16
    7
    4
See reviews for
50
109
11
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Indonesia
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014 via mobile

Very nice resort and it is very well maintained! One of a plce must go to if you go to central java. They also have a very good daily program for the guest.
If you are looking for a gate away place to refresh your mind and soul.
I would suggest you to go to MesaStila.


  • Stayed January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MesaStila W, Manager at MesaStila Wellness Retreat, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for your kind words and we are delighted that you enjoyed our programs and had a great escape from your daily life in MesaStila.
We do hope to see you again soon.

Thank you and Kind regards,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
1 review
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

MesaStila Resort Magelang is incredibly a perfect place to hideaway from routines. The natural setting of the resort, traditional Javanese concept of accommodation, naturally friendly staff, fresh and cool air have really kidnapped our heart into an indescribably peaceful state. It is very much recommendable for you to experience a perfect hideaway. (Makin, Jakarta-Indonesia)

Room Tip: We were staying in Ambar villa overlooking great valley and jungle view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MesaStila W, Manager at MesaStila Wellness Retreat, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Dear Sir / Madam,

Thank you for your kind support, we are delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your experience in MesaStila, We look forward to having the pleasure welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tangerang, Indonesia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

We love almost everything about this place: the views, the landscape, the 'old sensations' from the colonial atmosphere, the joglos (villas) and most of all the serenity that brings calmness into our minds. We enjoyed the bike-ride, playing the giant chess, the labyrinth walk and the plantation tour when we were not too lazy to get out of our villa (the bed was so inviting, the books provided were interesting, the private pool was our kids favorite and the wind that blew softly when we sat at the verandah.. :) ).

Thank you for the hospitality and the patience of your staff for answering lots of questions we had about the plantation, Magelang culinary, and traffic tips :)

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MesaStila W, Manager at MesaStila Wellness Retreat, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Dear Sir / Madam,

Thank you for your kind support, we are delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your experience in MesaStila, We look forward to having the pleasure welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

MesaStila has been our favorite hideaway for so many years whenever we are tired with the busy city lives. I and my daughter have always been trying to find slots to fly to Semarang and drive to the site on weekends just to relax and recharge. only one and a half to two hours away from Semarang A Yani airport it is definitely easier to reach than any other resorts of its class. We love its quiet yet safe environment - not to mention the hospitality and friendship extended by the staff. And we too never missed the opportunity to greet and meet in person - Sultan, Recapital, Warga Losari and the other super lovely horses in the area. It has always been (and I believe will always be) a very rewarding and recharging retreat at the Losari Coffee Plantations...! Cant wait to be back

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MesaStila W, Manager at MesaStila Wellness Retreat, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Dear Sir / Madam,

Thank you for your kind support, we are delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your experience in MesaStila, We look forward to having the pleasure welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

I stayed at MesaStila for a week and I must say what a great decision! I feel renewed and refreshed; my feelings about the people and culture here is hard to write in words. The kindness and pure-hearted sweetness of the staff here was something I've never experienced before; although I've glimpsed it in other Asian countries. Here, there was a purity and simplicity which is hard to find these days.

The hotel location is enchanting...built on a coffee plantation, far removed from the cities. This is a unique opportunity to stay on a fully-operational coffee plantation with nearby mountain peaks and volcanoes and temples. So many amazing outdoor things to do. Also, the nearby Magelang has a fascinating cultural heritage and history, with the Dutch occupation. You can even visit the Magelang art museum and see many treasures. Though, to be honest, you never need to leave the grounds of MesaStila. With so many wellness and cultural activities offered free for guests.

All rooms are private Colonial-style traditional villas which have been moved from the Java surrounds. Many antiques and superb finishes, will fascinate and make it feel like you're a Javanese prince (or princess). What a feeling!

The heritage and wellness cuisine is wonderful. Most of the food is cultivated from the garden or comes fresh from the local village. The mushroom garden is amazing. They even have horses and a goat. Cheese comes fresh from the local village (surprisingly high quality).

Every breakfast, you get "Jamu" - traditional indonesian herbal medicine. Very effective and authentic! Freshly brewed tumeric, ginger, cardamon, etc.

Traditional cultural activities are offered daily like batik and janur-making, dance and traditional music....all from the local villages. You even get the traditional martial arts offered to guests!

Other activities include daily Yoga and Qi Gong (they have a Visiting Master Healer named David), power-walking, jungle gym training, biking, aqua fit in the swimming pool, core fitness. Master Trainer Yudi and Augus are great!

Then the spa and "hammam" - an essential place to relax. This is the only hammam in Asia I'm told, and a truly extraordinary experience. The spa therapists are world class, and the spa has received many international awards.

The organised trips include Borobudur and Pranbanan temples (pay extra) - also volcano trekking, mountain climbing, cycle tours and a multitude of options.

I will always remember my time at MesaStila. A wonderful retreat, and a royal treat to stay here! Thank you to all for the great service and hospitality!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MesaStila W, Manager at MesaStila Wellness Retreat, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Dear Sir / Madam,

Thank you for your kind support, we are delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your experience in MesaStila, We look forward to having the pleasure welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

the place is incredibly beautiful, central Java beats Bali by a mile. Our weather was perfect and we could see all the volcanoes ringing around us. However, even in the mist, it has a beautiful Jurassic Park like feel. The trip to Gedung Songo was especially nice--you can take horses (carefully led by guides!) to all (now) 6 sites.

Room Tip: lighting in the room is not bright so could be difficult to read at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MesaStila W, Manager at MesaStila Wellness Retreat, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Dear Sir / Madam,

Thank you for your kind support, we are delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your experience in MesaStila, We look forward to having the pleasure welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to MesaStila Wellness Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MesaStila Wellness Retreat

Address: Desa Losari, Grabag, Magelang 56100, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Java > Central Java > Magelang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Magelang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — MesaStila Wellness Retreat 4.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a world where pollution, noise, crowds, unhealthy diets and stress are the norm; MesaStila (previously known as Losari Spa Retreat and Coffee Plantation) offers an escape from the demanding daily grind. We believe that whatever form it takes, to care for your wellbeing now means a more vibrant life, greater energy and an all round better you.The essence of the retreat is defined through the calming and powerful environment in which MesaStila sits - encircled by eight magnificent volcanoes and set within fifty-five acres of gardens, plantation and tropical jungle.MesaStila offers a distinct Javanese flavor in activities and programs that include healthy eating; focused exercise; planned relaxation; stress management; cultural and educational programs; limitations on smoking; moderation in alcohol consumption and a variety of exceptional wellness inclusions and specially designed packages that will support a stay of wellness. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your MesaStila Wellness Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Losari Spa Retreat And Coffee Plantation
Losari Spa Retreat & Coffee Plantation Hotel Magelang
Losari Coffee Plantation Magelang
Losari Coffee Plantation Hotel
MesaStila Wellness Retreat Magelang, Indonesia - Java

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage MesaStila Wellness Retreat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.