We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overprice...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sari Ater

Save Saved
You added Sari Ater to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sari Ater
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jl. Raya Ciater - Subang, Bandung, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #54 of 151 Hotels in Bandung
Jakarta, Indonesia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Overprice...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013 via mobile

Last week i stayed for 3D2N with my families. My first impression to the family suite bungalow was "Good". There are 2 rooms, big enough living room, kitchenette ( including complete cooking tools), small hot water pools and last but not least: karaoke facilities. I thought that's good enough compares to the price that we should pay for the bungalow during high seasons which was quite expensive. But we confess that their service was great, excellent!

Beside the bungalow, we tried some of the resort facilities such as Go Kart, Arung Jeram, "waterboom"(?? don't expect too much coz you wont find the luxury and fun of an usual waterboom), delman, free shuttle bus and some pools.

Frankly, i love the concept of "back to nature". However, somehow i think that the hotel management provides a minimum cleanliness, below standard facilities for those who did not stay in the resort (public area). As the result, we think that the price for the whole facilities was overprice. I'm not saying that the management should differ its treatment, but please consider that "back to nature" does not mean that all visitors deserve less clean, minimum facilities and loose their comfort. All visitors are guest that should be treated well, although some of them were spent less money than those who stayed in the resort.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    16
    17
    3
    2
See reviews for
20
6
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

Warning DO NOT STOP before you get to the ACTUAL hotel entrance, like literally infront of the hotel lobby. There were many people who try to hail you down, pretending to be officials, before you reach the hotel, just drive past them and ignore.

The hotel was less than average for me just because there was no aircon and our side of the room had the morning sun directly on our window, while I know it should be cooler up here in the mountains, it was not the case in the rooms, even at night.

Also for a pony ride it was quite expensive by indo standards and considering it was part of the hotel, & they charged per person!

The hotels are a bit of a rip off purely because of the location and not many other hotels nearby. I'd recommend just staying in one of the many nicer more modern hotels below around Bandung and just traveling up here at night for the hot water springs.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bandung, Jawa Barat, Indonesia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2011

I stayed in this hotel during one outing held by my office. It is the first time I visited this hotel after 22 years of absence.
I was a bit surprised by some changes compared with my previous visit 22 years earlier. And much even more surprising is the fact that the bungalows are remained similar! So, it was rather tatty, despite all of general cleanings, they definitely need to be renovated.
My room was located on the newer main hotel building. It is quite clean, with up-to-date architecture design. However, there are some flaws in the new hotel too. Most notably is the absence of air conditioning system on the room. This rendered poor air circulation in the bedroom, and that could disturb your sleep at night.
The hot water quality is also strange, as it contains high amount of salt, and rendered the soap useless. Don't bother to use shampoo, it wont work!
The food quality at the restaurant is quite a shamble, only the decent western menus for the breakfast seemed to help a bit. Oh yeah, just like the bedroom the air circulation on the upper floor of the restaurant is equally poor. Imagine if someone is smoking!

The hotel's true upside is the adventurous outdoor environment, and of course, the hot water spring which is good for your health.

Room Tip: Avoid the bungalow. Stay on the second floor of the newer building. Choose the room that face the ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2011

nice hotel... we love it so much... staff are nice...
the hot spring pools are perfect...
breakfast is buffet and so nice... we eat a lot of food during our breakfast... :D
the price is cheap / not expensive comparing what we got during our stay in this hotel...

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2011

We stayed there for 3 days 2 nights for leisure purposes.

We chose to stay in the standard bungalow, which has just one bedroom with two single beds. The bungalow has its own parking space which is adequate for 2 cars. The exterior of bungalow is look like a traditional wood house. It looked a little bit shabby anyway.
The bedroom furnished with wood floor, so does the wall. It had standard appliances, like a TV, a mini bar, a cable phone, and a electric jar for cooking water. It lacks of air conditioner or fan, but It's fine since it's already has cool climate. The room lacks of electric outlet, which I found quite irritating. Despite of that, overall it's quite nice spacious bedroom.
The bathroom is too small, in my opinion, and it lacks of shower room. In addition, the hot water is often not working. And it lacks of mirror! The toilet has a separate room. It is just a single small room with a single modern toilet. It smelled bad ( smell like a cockroach) which we don't know where the smell come from, since the overall look was clean (and we didn't find any cockroaches). in front of the toilet room, there is a wastafel.

We got two voucher for breakfast and dinner which are in two different restaurant. First the breakfast was served in Kilimanis restaurant. The restaurant has beautiful interior and exterior. It has its own pool too. The food taste was moderate, but has a quite a lot selections.
Second, the dinner was served in Dayang Sumbi restaurant. We ate in a large elegant hall accompanied by organ played music. The food taste was better, and has more wide selections.
Beside of that 2 restaurants, the resort has a "lesehan"style restaurant name Lesehan Kabayan. it provides sundanese food, but the price is somewhat overpriced. in front of our bungalow, there is a small cafe too named "jambu cafe". It has its own hot water pool too. And its free for the hotel guest to swim in there.
The recreation arena is quite big and has a very beautiful nature scenery. It has lots of hot water pools which are the speciality of this place. Beside pool, the place also has facilities such as flying fox, water tricycle rides, 4d cinema, and ghost house. There are a lof of stall which sell assorted drink, food and souvenir, but somehow it looked like unprofessional treated. The food court arena is lack of food selections and the taste of the food also not very good. The toilet facility is bad (it's dirty), even though you need to pay for use it.
Beside of the recreation arena, the resort has more facilities like paint ball arena, horse riding facility, football court and strawberry garden.

in summary, the resort provides a really beautiful nature view hot water spa facility and hotel, but still lacks of best professional management treated.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2011 via mobile

We stayed in a bungalow for 4 persons which wasn't worth the cost, the housekeeping hadn't cleaned the whole place before we checked-in, the bathroom smelled bad, the shower-head+bathtub+sink were nearly fully-broken, there was no AC or fan so it wasn't comfortable, and we got bitten by ants while sleeping.
I'm definitely not going to stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kunming, China
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
106 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
130 helpful votes 130 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2011

I have stayed here on several occasions.

It is a few hours drive from Jakarta via the toll road and up in the mountains so the air is clean, great for relaxing.

I would echo the previous review that it can be overpriced, particularly at weekends, however if you have time in the week you can grab a bargain and have the place almost to yourself.

The hotel has a largely domestic following and as such it isn't really upto International standards as also previously mentioned. A lot of the staff don't speak English (not a problem to me as I can speak Indonesian) but they do try hard.

The rooms are functional, they don't have air con (it is cool enough not too need it anyway). There is wifi but it doens't work everywhere so be sure to ask if you need a room with it available. The hot water is fed directly from the hot springs, so has a sulfur feel to it, and I always end up feeling sticky for the rest of the day but thats part of going there anyway.

Breakfast can be a hit and miss affair, sometimes its good, others not. The last time I stayed there, there was a large group, the staff simply could not cope and there was virtually no food left but I let that go.

The restaurant is okay, and the food whilst limited is satisfactory.

I would happily visit here again as I like it for a rest form hectic Jakarta life.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sari Ater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sari Ater

Address: Jl. Raya Ciater - Subang, Bandung, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Java > West Java > Bandung
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 151 Hotels in Bandung
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sari Ater 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Odigeo, Despegar.com, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Sari Ater reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sari Ater Hotel Bandung

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sari Ater, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.