We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive but massive?” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Valley

The Valley
Jl. Lembah Pakar Timur 28 | Dago Pakar, Bandung 40198, Indonesia
+62 22 2531052
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #29 of 977 Restaurants in Bandung
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $4 - $70
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Bandung, Indonesia
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Expensive but massive?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

I havent been here for years until this week me and some friends visited The Valley. The meal for me, tasted so-so as compared to what I tasted years ago. Quite expensive but came in large portion. So no worries if you only order omelette, the omelette will come to you in FULL PACKAGE and definitely going to make you full. As per the location, it located on mountain area so we can get to see the city lights at night. Supposedly to be a romantic place, but the seatings are too dense so I dont think it's romantic.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    111
    56
    19
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Review for the restaurant: definitely back here!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014 via mobile

This review will talk about the restaurant only, because I only went to the resto.
First time knew it, from a friend's photo. When we got there, it was beyond our expectation. The place really gooooodd!
We chose the city light view outdoor restaurant. The western one.
First time we read the menu, i was gulped. It was pricey. Really pricey for me.but then I skimmed around, and found another piece of price list with cheaper price. Still bit pricey for me, but okay, I go on.
Whole waited for our menu served, you could enjoy the great view it gave you. And as far as I turn my head, almost all guest there is foreigner. That's somehow explained its price ;)
When our food came, we really satisfied!! The taste was GOOD. The portion is well-composed!
So, for me it really worth the money.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“You Pay For the View not For the Food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

I expect to much about this place because a tons of people talks a good things about it. Finally here with my friends on saturday night we want an outdoor room but it's full so we have to wait about 30 minutes until we have a sit. The waiters is not friendly at all I know they were busy because it's full but you have to serve a good services for every customer. The taste of the food is average but it have a big portion. The only a good thing about this place is just the view. If I have a time to visit dago, I don't want to visit this place again you can give your customer a high price but you must make a sure that you give the customer excellent services. The standart taste of the food isn't big deal for me but you must concern to your waiters behaviour.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bandung, Indonesia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Romantic.. Cozy.. Great view..”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014 via mobile

I went there with my ex... The food and services were really good.. I love the free mineral water which was added a piece of cutting lemonade.. I could see the beauty of Bandung view up there.. best choice for candle light dinner in th summer.. Really recommend this place for a new couple.. don't forget to bring a sweater.. :)

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Visit it at night, you'll experience different ambience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

Maybe this is my third or forth visit to the restaurant, but still I feel this is a good restaurant for hanging out. Good food, good ambience and the price was very rational if you compare to peice and size of food [visit date : april 18, 2014]

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Valley also viewed

Bandung, West Java
Bandung, West Java
 

Been to The Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Valley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.