We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The olde worlde charm revisited!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sukajadi Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Sukajadi Hotel to your Saves list
Sukajadi Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sukajadi Street 176 | Bandung 40161, Bandung 40161, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #50 of 156 Hotels in Bandung
Singapore
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“The olde worlde charm revisited!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Upon entering Sukajadi hotel, you felt as if you're in the 1940's. Living in highrise buildings, Sukajadi is a refreshing change for 3 old couples like us. If you like antiques and rustic charm that is. We were here a few years back and things has'nt changed. Only that the restaurant are bigger now overlooking the swimming pool.I guessed the room rate increased with that. The rooms are small but smelled fresh upon entering with automatic air freshener working half hourly. This make me happy.The toilets serve us well meaning clean with adequate amenities. You get hot water in the morning only. No one complained. Breakfast is fine with us. Noticed there's breakfast cereals and milk. While queuing up for our toast, I asked a caucasian gentleman about the breakfast spread. His response "Great! This is our 4th helping!" Our sole purpose to Bandung is to shop at Pasar Baru where we could find complete muslims apparels.We got what we came here for. We felt welcome in Sukajadi and Bandung!

Room Tip: If you like elevators or the stairs..choose a room on the ground level. Ours is room no.111 which o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    69
    48
    13
    7
See reviews for
34
31
2
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Any
English first
Shah Alam, Malaysia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

My husband and I went to bandung for honeymoon few days ago and stayed in this hotel.
The hotel interior design is very impressive - a mix of modern and traditional element. The food was excellent, the staff were very friendly and polite, overall the hotel looks very clean, neat and tidy.
The only downside: WIFI in the hotel is not reliable. If you want to use the WIFI, you have to ask for password from the counter. Apparently, they have various of username and password - you will get 2 or 3 of small piece of paper with different username and password. Only one device is allowed for one piece of WIFI username & password. So if you wish to use WIFI both on your mobile and ipad, make sure you ask for 2 usernames..hideous part of WIFI thingy is, it keeps logging off automatically if you leave your mobile/ipad idle for few mins. You will end up going back to the setting to login back -many times.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

We had our best meals in Indonesia at the Bandung Zoo and... at Sukajadi. Watching over the pool, we enjoyed breakfast (buffet), lunch and especially dinner. Lovely and spicy. The Indonesian breakfast was not really our kids' favourite, so they ate fresh fruit and we bought crackers for them at the mall. Paris von Java is so close, so not a problem to fetch a pizza for them. Location was fine anyway, fetching a cab was easy and exploring the old town or exploring the surroundings was quite easy.

The hotel has a really nice interior. There are all kinds of historical things to be seen in the hotel, which is nice. There's a very nice pool with lots of plants and flowers. The staff was helpful. One hard thing for us was that there wasn't a baby cot so it was quite a challenge to get our kids to sleep - together in one bed.

We booked a trip to Ciater hot springs and the volcano through the hotel. The driver was nice and drove safely. He didn't speak English really well, so we used hands and feet to understand each other. When we were at the pools, a girl that worked there translated our questions for our guide. Then we found out we weren't going to the volcano at all because it was active. No problem, it's our holiday and that's just a consequence of nature so relax :). we would have liked to see a tea plantation or smt instead, but that spontaneous plan didn't really work out because of our communication problems. Would still recommend it though, it's easy to be picked up and dropped at the hotel and see something of the beautiful surroundings of Bandung.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013 via mobile

Ive been to this place twice before. This time I went, they offer better buffet breakfast choice and that's that. The taste not so much. Other than that remains the same. Clean room, nice decor but ancient hotel still. Location is good as it is close to paris van java mall and rumah mode factory outlet. I will probably come back for the location factor.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Since the opening of Paris van Java shopping area, this hotel gets more attention for the shoppers. The hotel had an extensive refurbishments, so it is nice to stay here. The room is ok, the pool is so and so, also the breakfast is standard. All in all, the price is just right.

Room Tip: You can ask the reception if you need a room near the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

The pricing for this hotel is very good. The location is ok if you are not into all those factory outlet shopping. The hotel is nicely design with a relaxing atmosphere.Surrounded by lush tropical greens and flower bushes, the Hotel is in the Bandung City and is within few minutes walking distance from the biggest open air Mall in Bandung. This property is 10 minutes drive from the Husein Sastranegara Bandung Airport and 15 minutes drive from the Bandung Train Station.

A nice place to wind-down after a a day of intense shopping. However improvements can be made in the breakfast spread which is below expectations, and provision of newer towels. Overall the hotel decor is a very pleasant change from the stoic facades of normal hotels.

Travel with company on January 2012

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

This was just an overnight hotel for us to see Bandung and go shopping so it was a good location near to the Paris Java mall. The hotel was a bit old but the pool was nice. Staff seemed bored and the breakfast was not much but overall not a bad hotel for 1 night.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sukajadi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sukajadi Hotel

Address: Sukajadi Street 176 | Bandung 40161, Bandung 40161, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Java > West Java > Bandung
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Best Value Hotel in Bandung
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sukajadi Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 139
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Sukajadi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sukajadi Hotel Bandung

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sukajadi Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.