We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice luxury to distract you from lousy Bandung” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Arion Swiss-Belhotel Bandung

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Arion Swiss-Belhotel Bandung to your Saves list
Arion Swiss-Belhotel Bandung
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Jalan Otto Iskandardinata No. 16, Bandung 40171, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 160 Hotels in Bandung
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
92 hotel reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“Nice luxury to distract you from lousy Bandung”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2011

We ended up here for 1 night, because we decided to take some rest in between 2 days of travelling. As we directly saw what a grey, uninviting city Bandung is, we thought some good luxury hotel would be relaxing.

And it was beautiful! We were delighted to see the huge stylish lobby, design bar and our stunning room. The room was very clean, the bed was soft and big, big desk, the bathroom was comfortable, big flatscreen tv, airconditioning. Breakfast had so much choices, and was delicious. You also have a small gym (3 things), mini-club for kids, swimming pool at the roof terrace, sauna & spa and some (wine) shops. What else can you wish for, after the usual backpacking we did?

Nevertheless, I give it 4 stars instead of 5... because considering the price we paid, reception staff could be a little bit more friendly. Although, they could not advise us how to reach Cibodas ut Gunung Gede, and even gave us wrong information. Also, the swimming pool was fine, but the view up there was not. Probably because Bandung is not pretty at all. And wifi didn't work in our rooms.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rizal010, General Manager at Arion Swiss-Belhotel Bandung, responded to this review, October 24, 2011
Dear Dutch_delight013,

Thank you for your recent stay at Arion Swiss-Belhotel Bandung, We are pleased to hear that you had enjoyed your stay with us and found the hotel to your liking. Your review of the hotel was very pleasing and we appreciate your comments. I have addressed your comment to the Front Office Manager in order to improve our service.
We hope that you will choose to stay at Arion Swiss-Belhotel again should you be visiting Bandung in the future. We look forward to welcoming you back!
Yours sincerely,
Rizal H Sultoni, General Manager, Arion Swiss-Belhotel Bandung
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    136
    50
    10
    5
See reviews for
74
32
11
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Indonesia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2011

This hotel located near to Bandung Palace, and the location is quite strategic to all city historical landmarks, the room is quite good, but for the price i think quite pricey for the facilities inside the hotel

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rizal010, General Manager at Arion Swiss-Belhotel Bandung, responded to this review, October 13, 2011
Dear Jakarta 512,
Thank you for your recent stay at Arion Swiss-Belhotel Bandung,

Thank you very much for your comments and we will surely address the matters in order to improve our service. We do hope that you will choose to stay at Arion Swiss-Belhotel again should you be visiting Bandung in the future. We look forward to welcoming you back!

Yours sincerely,
General Manager, Arion Swiss-Belhotel Bandung
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2011

Very nice hotel. My deluxe room was spacious and comfortable. The hotel staff are very friendly and accommodating. The location is good, whilst not exactly within walking distance to Jl Dago/ Riau/ Cihampelas. Costs only 20,000 rp by taxi to those factory outlet areas. The hotel is close, however, to Pasar Baru.

The buffet breakfast was satisfactory, though not great. Fried rice, noodles, toast etc ... the usual fare. Wi-Fi available but only on ground floor; I was unable to connect in my room.

Just a note to those taking taxis - ask the staff to hail a taxi at the back of the hotel. The taxis in front of the hotel tend to charge a flat rate. A taxi ride to any of the shopping areas, including Paris Van Java mall, shouldn't cost more than 30,000 rp. Bear in mind that most legal taxis charge a minimum of 20,000 rp, regardless of the metre reading.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rizal010, General Manager at Arion Swiss-Belhotel Bandung, responded to this review, October 4, 2011
Dear Prav101,

Thank you for your recent stay at Arion Swiss-Belhotel Bandung,

We are pleased to hear that you have found our room comfortable and the staff very friendly and accommodating .
Thank you very much for your comments and we will surely address the matters in order to improve our service.
We hope that you will choose to stay at Arion Swiss-Belhotel again should you be visiting Bandung in the future. We look forward to welcoming you back!
Yours sincerely,
General Manager, Arion Swiss-Belhotel Bandung
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011

Good sized king bed roughly 4 people can lay on it. Good sized tv with Indovision channels such as Mtv asia and HBO movies. Also has a couch in the deluxe room. Good fast internet. Nice sized wooden wardrobe. Pretty clean and well presentable only dirtyness I found was one little cockroach who came from a tiny corner cement hole (We just covered it with stickytape so it didnt come out again) in the bathroom and some ants but its Indonesia what do you expect. I really liked the strong shower head with hot water. Clean toilet and shower. The cleaners were very friendly and professional gave them roughly Rp.20,000 tip a day. Only problem I had with service was during breakfast, the manager in the black suit is pretty stingy with the breakfast vouchers. I was using tomorrows voucher because I gave todays one to a friend who visited yesterday and they asked me to pay for todays and use the breakfast voucher tomorrow. The buffet breakfast is usually Rp.110,000 per an adult which is way too expensive for standard indonesian hotel food. Its not worth it especially when they try to westernise the prices. But it wasstill better tasting that Aston's Braga hotel. They have a rooftop pool, sauna and spa which was very nice and good. They have a grand piano in the lobby but hardly no one plays. Would be nice to hire someone to play during check in time (just a suggesstion to the hotel). Another suggesstion is to maybe put some tables and chairs on the rooftop and be able to serve drinks and food from the hotel lounge cafe downstairs to the roof. Overall my stay was good. 3.5 to 4 stars.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rizal010, General Manager at Arion Swiss-Belhotel Bandung, responded to this review, September 13, 2011
Dear Mizsay,
Thank you for your recent stay at Arion Swiss-Belhotel Bandung,

Thank you very much for your comments and we will surely address the matters in order to improve our service. We do hope that you will choose to stay at Arion Swiss-Belhotel again should you be visiting Bandung in the future. We look forward to welcoming you back!

Yours sincerely,
General Manager, Arion Swiss-Belhotel Bandung
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surabaya, Indonesia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2011 via mobile

Stay for 2 nights in this hotel, great value, excellent service. We got breakfast coupon, dinner, and welcome drink. Also the service people is excellent, very helpfull. However, room is look a bit old, and not that clean. Housekeeping service missed some things here and there. When I stayed in Somerset, they fold clothes being left on the bed nicely, not just throw it to the sides like this hotel. But overall my stay was pleasant, great value hotel with good prompt service.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rizal010, General Manager at Arion Swiss-Belhotel Bandung, responded to this review, September 7, 2011
Dear Ms Melosc,

Thank you for your recent stay at Arion Swiss-Belhotel Bandung, where we know you have a variety of hotels to choose from and we are honored that you have chosen us. We appreciate your compliments regarding the excellent service that was given and we would like to thank you for your positive comments. We hope that you will choose to stay at Arion Swiss-Belhotel should you be visiting Bandung again. We look forward in having you again in the future.
Yours sincerely, General Manager, Arion Swiss-Belhotel Bandung
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2011

We chose the hotel primarily because of its proximity to the station, and we weren't disappointed. It's quite a simple walk of a couple of hundred meters.

Check-in was a struggle... we'd searched on the hotel website (more on that below) for a room for two adults and two children, and were offered a Deluxe room as the most cost effective option. Despite reiterating that there would be four people staying in the room on the booking, we were told on check-in that there was a choice of one king-size bed, or two smaller beds for the four of us and to put an extra bed in the room would cost more than half of the rate for the night. Totally unacceptable. The Duty Manager appeared to have no authority to resolve the situation, and it took some time before they eventually agreed to put an extra bed in the room at no charge (albeit with no breakfast included).

Once all that was behind us though, the hotel was great. Staff were extremely helpful and nothing was too much trouble. Only complaint was the noise in the room in the early morning which was no doubt exacerbated through it facing a mosque and the railway station.

When booking through the website, be sure to expand ALL the rate options. We found that the best rate was hidden from view after the initial search and got what can only be described as a great deal.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are noisy from around 04:00 due to a mosque and the station!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2011 via mobile

Nice n comfy hotel... Room n bed nice. Towels in room to small...Communication needs some improving...taxi request was so simple but not arranged for....and with bad traffic jam make a lot of diference....

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rizal010, General Manager at Arion Swiss-Belhotel Bandung, responded to this review, July 16, 2011
Dear ZZ2211,

Thank you for your recent stay at Arion Swiss-Belhotel Bandung,

We are pleased to hear that you have found Arion Swiss-belhotel comfortable. Thank you very much for your comments and we will surely address the matters in order to improve our service.
We hope that you will choose to stay at Arion Swiss-Belhotel again should you be visiting Bandung in the future. We look forward to welcoming you back!
Yours sincerely,
General Manager, Arion Swiss-Belhotel Bandung
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Arion Swiss-Belhotel Bandung? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arion Swiss-Belhotel Bandung

Address: Jalan Otto Iskandardinata No. 16, Bandung 40171, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Java > West Java > Bandung
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Bandung
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Arion Swiss-Belhotel Bandung 3.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arion Swiss-Belhotel Bandung is the finest boutique hotel in Bandung, a four-star outfit that blends the warmth of home with the Swiss-Belhotel brand of service. Ideally located in the heart of Bandung, we are 15 minutes from the city's airport, within walking distance from the railway station and only 2 hours from Jakarta.Choose from over 102 guestrooms in six different types: deluxe, business, Family Suite, Business Suite, Junior Suite, and Presidential Suite. Entertainment and food choices abound, as a large variety of shopping and dining facilities are either within walking distance or just a few minutes away by car. And for those who are here on business, we house a full-fledged business room perfect for small group meetings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Arion Swiss-Belhotel Bandung reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arion Swiss-Belhotel Hotel Bandung
Arion Swiss Belhotel Bandung

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arion Swiss-Belhotel Bandung, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.