We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exellent Breakfast from Exellent Chef” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Royal Panghegar

Save Saved
You added Grand Royal Panghegar to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Grand Royal Panghegar
Jl. Merdeka No. 2, Bandung 40111, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 146 hotels in Bandung
1 review
“Exellent Breakfast from Exellent Chef”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

I'm very pleasure with the confortable of this hotel especially for menu on royal panghegar's cafe. Me and my family very satisfied for the breakfast, because there's a lot kind of food and the taste is very well.
I heard that in this hotel there's OP Ribs Buffet very gorgeous, I'll try when I'm going to Bandung next time.
Please tell Executive Chef Anton that we were very happy for his service and he is very kind person.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    20
    51
    34
    14
    7
See reviews for
46
10
5
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Makassar, Indonesia
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

This was my second stays in this hotel. I had quite different impression compare to the first stay. Now the hotel is more modern looked and similar to other big hotels in other cities. Even though, there is still Sundanese touch inside the lobby. They have a condotel wing with nice rooms inside. The beds were too small and they have not good practise to combine two beds into one, rather than put King size bed. Check in was easy, staffs were friendly. Breakfast was nice and a lot of variety of choices. Free wifi was quite slow, need to be upgraded. Overall, Panghegar is still consider nice hotel.

Room Tip: Choose the Condotel Deluxe..
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

You will smell smokes arround this lobby hotel while you checking in because smoking area located in building near reception. The receptionist also not kind enough.

Room not that good, my expectations was too high for 5 stars hotel. It's provide bathtub but I think no one will soaking in chipped paint tub. Breakfast? So so..

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bandung, Indonesia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Once in the late 1980's I stayed in this hotel with my parents. This hotel used to have rotate-able round restaurant on the top of it's building. That time Bandung had not yet has sky scrappers which made us can see Bandung from up high very nicely. Panghegar Hotel was considered as a good 4-star hotel at that time.

After 3 decades, the management decided to refurnish the hotel, and they closed for almost a year. Just recently they re-opened again with new name "Grand Hotel Panghegar Bandung", stood beside the high class apartment building under the same management. This image can make guests who want to stay in this hotel has high expectation, just like I did.

Bandung doesn't has that many outdoor attraction at night and the city sleeps at 10 PM! This makes people who visited Bandung will spent quite sometimes inside the hotel room. This fact should become any hotel management attention to make the rooms of their hotel as comfy as possible. Grand Hotel Panghegar's management is failed to do so! They put a lot of energy paying attention to anywhere else in the hotel, and they forget all about the room...

Let me share about pro's first. Swimming pool is two-thumbs up! It has kid's pool, main pool with gradual depth, and they have a whirl pool. The whirl pool water is hot, where rest of the pool has warm water. This is very good idea since Bandung is the city with cool climate.
I didn't try the gym, but I heard the gym is also extraordinary. Next is the restaurant. Every Friday and Saturday night they serve "Black Angus", the ribs BBQ buffet all you can eat together with other choice of food like Japanese, Chinese, Indonesian, Italian, etc. I got the chance to try it and it was really something. Maybe the restaurant heal every wound that the room has :)

Now the room (I hope they can improve):
1. I was staying in the room with king size bed with my family. You know what they do? They put two no. 3 beds together to make it king size! Amazing... this is the 4-star hotel for crying out loud! My daughter who slept in the middle complaining because she can still feel the 2 mattress separation on her back.

2. The floor was finished with wooden panel, but they did not supply the floor towel that we can use after using the bath room. This makes the room's floor constantly wet and full of wet foot prints which sometimes become slippery. How hard is it to occupied the 4-star hotel room with a floor towel!

3. The body towel. Do you know what they give? The small ones! Even for my son who's 8 years old, the towel is not quiet big enough. It's like wearing kid's towel for adult! And the quality of the towels are very bad, like they've been used for several years. Even a non star hotel can give better towels. Again... how hard is it to occupied the 4-star hotel room with nice big body towels?

4. The bulb of the bed side lamp was burnt out. The housekeeping failed to check and replace them before we checked in. Or they simply not checking it regularly...

So... I guess the hotel is indeed the 4-star hotel, but it's rooms are 3-star or even less. Or my expectation is just simply to high for this hotel... beats me!

Room Tip: Just make sure you didn't get the room like I did. Ask for a floor towel, and as replacement of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansing, Michigan
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

I stayed at Panghegar Bandung in summer 2012. There was renovation going on during our stay but it did not give us any problem. Slept well and enjoyed every second of the stay. Breakfast was excellent, a great variety of tasty food. Staffs were friendly and helpful. Nice touch of live Sundanese gamelan (little traditional orchestra) in the main lobby. Big size pool with little playground for kids, they just love it. My husband is a Sundanese himself with big family live in the city. We like all the traditional touch they have, from the delicious dishes on breakfast buffet, display of beautiful wooden puppets (wayang golek) and little gamelan orchestra in the main lobby, and last but not least sweet smiles and warm welcome from all the staffs we met there. Keep up the great work, Panghegar!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bekasi
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

The 'sundanese touch' for their service should give us more traditional patronage and local hospitality as a specific and unique competitive advantage, but unfortunately, this legendary hotel has lost it.
Now, it feels like an ordinary middle class semi-luxury hotel, which you can get else where with better price and better facilities.

This strategically located hotel is a bullseye spot for MICE activities, so I really don't recommend to stay here for family vacation nor to rest.

What can I say, it's very crowded in the lobby area, not to mention the ballroom floor, cluttered with events, seminars, meetings, all mashed together. This definitely will bring turbulence of people in the service area (parking, elevators, lounge, restaurant etc.)

Wanna have a tranquile, quiet and a good morning start with breakfast? Forget it! MICE participants will buzz around and block some area with their morning rush.

The entrance is not a car friendly environment, narrow turns and steep exit parking ramp from basement directing to the lobby entrance is chaotic. Try it during the working hours.

Kindly request the room with pool view, never get the eastern part view, all you can see is the PT Telkom's warehouse. I consider this 'slum view'.

Breakfast is quite generous, but i hate when being asked whether I'm a guest or not or being asked from which room i stay. Hey, nobody in this era crash along for free breakfast. Geez! So much for sundanese touch... All I know real sundanese tradition forbids rice being selled. I guess the management doesn't even know the sundanese ethics. What a shame.

This hotel is not smoking friendly. So take out your lungs gasping for smoke outside.

I stayed here for three days and wasn't very pleased with how they cleaned the bathroom. Not so clean..

Ahh.. Next time to Bandung I will prefer an international chain hotel with certain standards. That's it.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013 via mobile

Our friends and my family stayed in the weekend for 2 nights in may 2013, room looks old, refrigerator was defect, bed sheet and towels were dirty and too noisy at night as its located by the busy road. Prefer to stay at the condotel building instead, but friend of mine and his family who stayed there also complain about the leakage in his room which came from the room above them. Parking area also too small space. Beware of the dinner promo in your room through media flyers, in the brochure said that all you can eat incl the angus rib steak from 7PM-9PM for Rp 125,000++ but in fact it's only slices of them and limited!!! We asked the butcher for more but he said that it's his last stock...what a shame!!! while the clock still showed 8PM. Finally we got them for more after complaining. The only postive thing is the pool where kids can have some fun. We will not stay there anymore and really not recommended while you can find other better hotel around.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Grand Royal Panghegar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Royal Panghegar

Address: Jl. Merdeka No. 2, Bandung 40111, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Java > West Java > Bandung
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 146 hotels in Bandung
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Otel so you can book your Grand Royal Panghegar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Royal Panghegar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.