We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good hotel, good location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Royal Panghegar

Save Saved
You added Grand Royal Panghegar to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Grand Royal Panghegar
Jl. Merdeka No. 2, Bandung 40111, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 151 hotels in Bandung
indonesia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“good hotel, good location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

panghegar hotel deserve for its star rating, good hotel, clean and located in the center of bandung city. But, i feel the receptionist not very friendly, but the other hotel staff show their hospitality by always saying hi when we met in the hallway.
The room clean and big enough for me. The only issue, the king size bed originally was 2 small beds that being put together to become king size and it is hard. Also small problem on the elevators which sometimes going up by itself when we want to go down, i thought it is due to renovation that they are being to.

Room Tip: make sure you get a real king size bed if you want it and get the condotel type room, they have quit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    26
    57
    36
    14
    7
See reviews for
52
11
5
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at Condotel (New Wing). The design and its furniture just not in place and an old apartment fashion. Spacious. The lift to Condotel is simply all the way to the back of hotel.... Walking! Really need to redesign it again to makesure everything is in place! A 4 tier drawer in the middle of room to place a LCD TV? It should be on the wall instead!
Location is nice though a bit traffic jams. Stay here but please do bargain!

Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

I don't know what's wrong with this hotel the incompetent staff/manager or Inadequate staff.
what happen was, I was staying from 30/3/13 to 31/3/13, C/i process was okay only bit slow, the room was fantastic since i got condotel deluxe 953 and 955. breakfast not really international style more like Indonesian style. and then bad thing happen on 31/3/13. I was ask for additional bathtowel from 8am, they aren't coming till I check out. luckily for me, when i was dumping my p**p, the water is not running so could you imagine that, there was no water running in the bathroom. I tried to use the shower, same thing happen. at 10:00 I tried to Call FO/Operator/Guest service officer for many time, but nobody answer, it's looks like they are afraid to handle complain. after that I Managed to contact FO SPV his name Fajar if i am not mistaken, when i informed about the water issue, he only tell me to wait little longer, no solution given. at 11;00 i managed to called Guest Service Officer Shinta if I am not mistaken by her name. I tell the same story, she tell the same thing about wait little longer, I asked the MOD/Duty manager, she said MOD also busy and will get back to me soon. Now I lost my Patience, by 11:45AM the water still not running, no info from MOD/Duty Manager, so I CHECKOUT THAT RIDICULOUS HOTEL WITHOUT TAKING SHOWER AT ALL AND I HAVE TO DRIVE TO JAKARTA FOR 4-5 HOURS DUE TO TRAFFIC CONDITION.
The Tangible product that they offer was superb but for intangible product not even exist.
could you imagine checkout without taking shower and had to drive for +- 250km, not even an apologize from the staff/manager. I really don't know how they select/hire the staff/manager.

IF I WERE THEIR STAFF, I WOULD APOLOGIZE AND OFFER THE BEST SOLUTION, FOR EXAMPLE, THEY CAN GIVE ME OTHER ROOM JUST TO TAKE THE SHOWER OR IF THE OCC WAS 100% I CAN FIND THE DIRTY VACANT ROOM TO OFFER FOR QUICK SHOWER AT LEAST.

definitely i won't come back to this hotel anymore not even for my business purpose. I AM SICK of THIS HOTEL.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandRoyalPanghegar, General Manager at Grand Royal Panghegar, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you for taking the time to write and give us your valuable feedback of your stay at The Grand Royal Panghegar.

We would like to apologize to you for the inconvenience your experienced whilst staying with us. We at The Grand Royal Panghegar understand the importance of fulfilling our guest's expectations and it concerns me greatly that you have departed our Hotel with negative impression.

I was most concerned to read of your comments about an abrupt situation in which our water deep well and water supply system failed to supply water to the main building which was beyond our control, and it took some time to get the fresh water delivered from our vendor as we had to buy fresh water for a back up and was not up to your expectation and I have shared these issues with our team here. Accordingly your valuable feedback will be fully considered as our reference in an effort to improve our product and service standard.

Once again, please accept our sincere apology and I do hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back to Grand Royal Panghegar.

Sincerely,
The General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for a conference and really enjoyed my stay. The staff here are very friendly and more than happy to answer questions or provide information about Bandung and places to go. The room was clean, the hotel was well-maintained, and the Chinese restaurant in the lobby was nice, if a bit more expensive. I appreciated the small convenience store in the lobby of the hotel. The spa services are a great value, particularly when compared to Canadian prices, and I found the spa therapists to be very professional.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

They said that this is a 5-star hotel. However, compared to other 5-star, I'm not so sure. Anyway, the price is fairly cheap (as a 5-star hotel). But price don't lie.

Anyway, I went here for company yearly meeting, and we booked the meeting room (ballroom) for 100 people. The sound system is good, with ample meeting equipment and space. At night, we also held a gala dinner in one of the ballrooms, and the arrangement was nice.

Swimming pool is usual. Futsal (indoor soccer) field is made from cement, so be careful if you are too excited, you may hurt yourself if you fell to the ground.

Rooms, they have some parts which are just newly renovated as condotel. If you are lucky enough, you may get this newly renovated rooms. Some rooms are having balcony, with pool view, some others are facing outside the hotel.

Location wise, it is quite central, near Braga district, where you can find interesting things. If you like shopping at factory outlets, Dago and Riau area are reachable in 20-30 minutes depending on the traffic.

Food, I experience lunch and breakfast, not so much varieties as in other 5-stars. And, the chef seemed to fave lamb as one of the dishes. Those with high cholesterol level may need to refrain themselves from taking the lamb.

There was a problem at the night of our stay. The front desk mis-input the room number so that the same room was sold to two person (one is our team member, one is not our team member). Although everything were settled that night, this hotel may need to improve their internal control procedure. It's very dangerous to just reset and give the room key to another person while the identity was not properly checked. Guest belongings can be missing as a result of such incident.

Room Tip: Pool view might be better
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Visited Bandung 3 weeks ago. The most memorable experience was the excellent hospitality of the hotel staff. The room was comfortable but the water pressure for showering was low.
To go to the shopping area, we had to take the blue cab which were not abundance in Bandung. Walking to that destination would take 20 minutes.
If you won't mind eating food from stall by the roadside, the won't be much problem as there are many stalls nearby but if you need to eat in a restaurant, you need to take a cab or just eat in the hotel dining.
Overall, the hotel is worth staying.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013 via mobile

this hotel has a great location. the room was good, they have hot big size jacuzzi and good breakfast selection menu.

The down sides are the towels are only two and pretty thin quality, no small towels, no extra pillow. on top of that, they only have 2 non smoking floors out of 18/19 floors, so when you are non smoker or travelling with children mentioned for non smoking room during reservation..we had to switch the room because the nicotine aroma was so strong (from 15th to 9th floor)...

we will still come back when the price is below Rp. 900K

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Royal Panghegar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Royal Panghegar

Address: Jl. Merdeka No. 2, Bandung 40111, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Java > West Java > Bandung
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 151 hotels in Bandung
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Asiatravel.com Holdings, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Grand Royal Panghegar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Royal Panghegar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.