We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“bring your own towels” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Royal Panghegar

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Royal Panghegar to your Saves list
Grand Royal Panghegar
Jl. Merdeka No. 2, Bandung 40111, Indonesia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 160 Hotels in Bandung
Jakarta
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“bring your own towels”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013 via mobile

this hotel has a great location. the room was good, they have hot big size jacuzzi and good breakfast selection menu.

The down sides are the towels are only two and pretty thin quality, no small towels, no extra pillow. on top of that, they only have 2 non smoking floors out of 18/19 floors, so when you are non smoker or travelling with children mentioned for non smoking room during reservation..we had to switch the room because the nicotine aroma was so strong (from 15th to 9th floor)...

we will still come back when the price is below Rp. 900K

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    75
    46
    18
    9
See reviews for
65
15
6
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Best value of all the 5 star hotels in Bandung! Service was pretty good but they are pretty particular about number of towels/bath mats etc. Cleanliness is excellent but the toiletries bottles are really bad. Quality of the toiletries is not really good either

The facilities are average and nothing much to rave about. Pool was pretty nice when it is not crowded. Room service was pretty fast and efficient, with the mee goreng being the best of the entire selection. The breakfast selection was pretty much standardized and I got bored after the 3rd day as it was all the same.

For the price I paid, there is really nothing much to complain about. There is a 24/7 convenience store on the ground floor which is super convenient. The sinks in the rooms are located outside the toilet, which has only a toilet bowl and a bathtub with a showerhead.

Room Tip: Talk to the managers, they are very friendly! Especially one of the duty manager called Aji. He will...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Staying in this hotel for 1st time after being renovated. We've got deluxe condotel on 8th floor. Room quite spacious 32sqm can accomodate 2adt + 2chd under 5yrs. B,fst is very nice for that price. Swimming pool also quite pretty n fun for kids. Lobby was grande...but services on lobby average and house keeping worse. We,ve asked many times to call for ask extra towels.

Fitness centre is good though they don,t hve sauna and steam...

Seem i,m over expected that the hotel will be totally renovated then will be evrything about new..some wooden in room still keep it..clean shud be more attention for room houe keeping.

But over all...i,m might rating average...

Room Tip: New condotel exectve room...those suite more also perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanoi, Vietnam
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

considering that the room was about 80 USD/night on agaoda, it was fairly good value for money.
The a la carte restaurante is very good value for money, the buffet itself is good as well, but more caters to Asian tourists, so the selection from a European point of view is limited, nonetheless it's good enough.

You have to be careful with the rooms, the hotel has two towers, one taller and on with 8 or 9 floors only. The shorter one is old, the room standards are therefore not the best, the windows in particular are ugly and not well insulated. So, it gets noisy, especially since it's facing a main street. And not to mention the Muezzin at 4 in the morning. Also, the bathroom is just so so, and the cushions are too hard for my taste. So, yeah, make sure you get a room in the newer tower, which are newer and supposedly better.

The pool is nice, not too fancy, but good for swimming and they have a hot tub for the cooler nights. The gym is good too, equipped with the most essential machines, including spinning bicycles.

So, yeah, good value for money, but it's not high standard 5 star, if you are staying in the old wing, it's more like a 4 star hotel I would say.

Room Tip: make sure it's a room in the new wing (tower) and it's not facing the main street, nor the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Room:
The room itself is spacious, but I don't like the sink which is not in the bathroom. I asked for extra towels, but I never get ones. I like the daybed by the window, it's nice to look at train passing once in a while.

Restaurant/Breakfast:
It has a good spread, but the quality of the food is just okay. The service was not good. They kept taking my napkins when I left the table to get some more food. The chicken congee was really good though. I can pass the pastries easily.

Amenities:
Very nice swimming pool. It's quite large compared to many hotels I've seen in Bandung. The gym is awful. There are two benches, a smith machine, three cardio machines, and lots of spinning bikes, but no spinning class.

Others:
In room dining menu is available, but there is no phone number to call.

Location:
This hotel is very central. It's closed to Braga, Bandung Indah Permai Mall, Riau Junction, Jl. Sumatra. They are all within walking distance.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

Stayed at this hotel for 1 night recently at Condotel Deluxe Room. Booked via Agoda which classify this hotel as a 5-star hotel. Room was quite large with apartment amenities, such as refrigerator, microwave oven, kitchen sink, kitchen hood (but no stove). Definitely not a 5-star room in term of room finishing and furnishing and also amenities. Bathroom is tiny with bathtub and toilet bowl while the lavatory is outside the bathroom. Bath towels are thin (budget hotel standard) and no face and hand towel provided. Checked in at 11.30 pm and hotel lobby was very dirty with rubbish from group check in. The receptionist did not bother to explain where the elevator was. I did not have breakfast at the hotel so can not review its breakfast.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
200 helpful votes 200 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

The hotel has recently been upgraded. More rooms were introduced in the condotel wing, along with some condominiums for private use. Parking can be irritating especially when there is a banquet event at the hotel. The hotel management seems unable to cope with more rooms. in weekends, breakfast is hectic, swimming pool is very crowded. Service is really bad. We called from our room to ask for a sewing kit. It never came. Breakfast experience was awful, food trays were empty, it was only at 9 AM. Service of staffs were terrible. I asked for a napkin, one of the staffs went to a table that was previously used and picked up a used napkin cloth. THAT IS NOT A 4-STAR HOTEL SERVICE! You can do that in a budget hotel! But clearly not something coming from a renowned name like Panghegar. At the breakfast table, my wife then called to one of the staffs, there were two women staffs standing and saw my wife raised her arm but did nothing. Until after a few seconds, one of the women (who was a supervisor, judging from her different uniform), asked "Which one? Which one are you asking for? Me or her?" Such a silly question coming from a hospitality staff. Staffs like these, I would immediately fire them if I were the hotel manager. Such a bad experience. My and my friends (who brought their families) vowed never to return to this hotel again! Check-out was a catastrophe! People were lining up queueing. The waiting time was even longer than checking out at a Supermarket. Ridiculous service standard! Panghegar should think about the effect of adding more rooms, to its capability, from parking, staffs service, facilities, etc. Thing could go really wrong like what people are now experiencing in this property (especially on crowded weekends)!

Room Tip: The new rooms are located in the condotel wing, but too many rooms and longer elevator waiting time...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Royal Panghegar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Royal Panghegar

Address: Jl. Merdeka No. 2, Bandung 40111, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Java > West Java > Bandung
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 160 Hotels in Bandung
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 434
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover Grand Royal Panghegar Bandung. "Feel The Sundanese Touch" The Sundanese of West Java are well-known for their joie de vivre...Walk into the Grand Royal Panghegar Bandung and you will know immediately how good it feels to be surrounded by the warmth and hospitality of these wonderful people. Nestled in the perfect location on Merdeka Street in the centre of Bandung's Business District, the hotel has the easiest access to the most famed historical venues of the City of the Asia Africa. The Paris of Java. For shoppers and epicures immerse yourself in the best shopping and eateries of Bandung's famed Factory Outlets and restaurants. For you interested in history, enjoy a stroll on charming Braga with its heritage wrapped in an array of cafes and restaurants, places of entertainment ... All outside the door. A luxury hotel with Sundanese hospitality and Art-deco design, careful attention is paid to the most important elements of your stay to ensure each visit leaves you feeling better than when you arrived. 434 Comfortable guest rooms and suites are appointed in timeless Art Deco architectural design and sumptuous bedding. There are 17 distinct meeting rooms combined with the Amartapura Grand Ballroom able to graciously accommodate groups ranging from 10 to 1000. If you are staying in, we offer an abundance of delicious restaurant options in our Pakuan Cafe with its famous breakfast offerings and delectable selections of Indonesian, traditional Sundanese and International cuisines; the Sky lounge on the 19th floor offers a unique array of services to privileged guests. The Paseban Deco features refreshments and light meals with live music nightly. The lobby lounge is a favorite Bandung meeting point; and Panghegar Spa & Fitness provides custom pampering treatments. Be it for business, leisure, or combination of both, the choice is Grand Royal Panghegar ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Grand Royal Panghegar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Royal Panghegar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.