We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Homann, The heritage that never failed” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Savoy Homann Bidakra Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Savoy Homann Bidakra Hotel to your Saves list
Savoy Homann Bidakra Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Jl. Asia Afrika No. 112, Bandung 40261 , Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #64 of 174 Hotels in Bandung
A TripAdvisor Member
“Homann, The heritage that never failed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

Going back to Homann is a journey to eternity. As a big fan of Indonesian Dutch-influenced architecture, it always come to an excitement staying at this hotel.

Before this, being in this hotel was always business or couple for me. When it comes to time to pass on the heritage experience to my children, Homann never failed.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Raja Kamar

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    75
    48
    10
    3
See reviews for
40
40
7
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

A nomad has arrived in Bandung after an 8 hour train ride from Jogja with fantastic views of the west Java landscapes. Bandung is the country's third largest city and its' urban area has over 7 million people. Having a cooler climate and a natural defense system the colonial administration of the Dutch East Indies once considered it as an alternative capital to Batavia (now: Jakarta). It was developed by city planners into what was known as the Paris of Java. But that's a faded memory of a bygone era. During the Indonesian national revolution much of the city perished.

An old hotel survived all attacks of revolution and modernization. The fully renovated Savoy Homann is a beautiful example of late colonial architecture and is conveniently located in downtown Bandung. I took a cab from the airport and book a room at an affordable 'Harga Ramadan'. Luckily the hotel wasnt fully booked. Most of the guests were Muslims returning home for 'Lebaran'. The rooms are modern, the room service quick and just after sunset I enjoyed a refreshing dive in the fairly large open air pool. Later that night I left the hotel, grabbed a snack with the hawkers across the street and strolled around the quiet and safe city center.

Dont forget to ask for the English language Hotel Savoy booklet. The English is pretty poor, but it has some nice information about the hotels long history. Reading it at breakfast it made me wonder if I might be sleeping in the room Charlie Chaplin once occupied. The highly recommendable breakfast here serves both brown bread and cheese, as well as 'Bubur Ketan Hitam' and 'Pisang Goreng'. And much more.

The hotels location makes it easy to take strolls around the city. Its been a while that this city was called the Paris of Java. Nonetheless there are some prime preserved specimen of old colonial 'art deco' architecture. So perhaps not a lively metropolis like Jakarta or even Jogjakarta, wandering through town and not being hasseled by tourist hawkers gives this place a definite edge to the trappings of Indonesias top tourist destination: Bali.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miri, Sarawak, Malaysia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

Everything was clean except for their electric jug. that was nasty. need to check before using it people.
The room service was great but the choices in the menu was pretty dull.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

We had a deluxe room in the new wing at the back of the hotel. It was a bit of a walk but we didn't mind. Aircon wasn't so cold, otherwise room was fine. As in the two previous Bandung hotels we stayed, we had to catch mosquitoes.
Hotel is dated but not without its charm. Old VIP guestbook in lobby has the signatures of Chou En Lai, Jawarhal Nehru, Norodom Sihanouk, Nasser, Sukarno and other heads of state who stayed there during the 1955 Bandung Summit of African and Asian leaders.
Breakfast is a large spread of local and international food, tasty and satisfying. On arrival the first day, we ordered fried rice while waiting for our room to be ready. Good - sate, fried chicken, prawn, pickles with the house nasi goreng.
Dropped safe deposit box key in the lobby and the bellboy picked it up and chased after me to hand it personally. Very grateful for that.
A row of Nasi Padang restaurants exist behind the hotel if you get tired of institutional cuisine. Walk about to explore the malls and shops nearby. We found it safe and are looking forward to going back. This hotel will be our top choice. You even get a free shuttle to the airport when you check out. Just book ahead in case there are too many guests departing at the same time.

Room Tip: Request a room within walking distance of the lift if you are elderly or hate to walk too far.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bandung, Indonesia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

I stayed at this hotel twice. At my 1st visit I got room at the old wing. The room was clean, and nice just like any other hotel. Nothing left an impression I gotta say. But at my 2nd visit, I got a room at the new wing, the room has a modern bathroom than the other one. It's nicer and cleaner. Maybe bcuz it's new. Had a breakfast at the resto with various menu. That's a plus. Tried the Soto Betawi, pancake with ice cream and almond. If u're looking for a place to shop like mall, maybe u won't find one nearby, but u'll find art center on braga street.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

This memorable hotel is well maintained. Location is okay if ones need to explore Bandung's old town. Breakfast can be said as a bit above average. The weakness point is once it has high occupancy, it will be difficult to park ur car..

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

I stayed there for 4 nights with a friend. The hotel was being renovated but I wasn't sure which part was involved. My first impression of the room was that it was nice, clean and the beds were comfortable. There was a kettle, no iron. The tea and coffee packets were not very interesting.
Bathroom was ok but I found the position of the toilet paper a bit strange, a bit hard to reach from that angle. The furniture and finishing looked tired and exhausted(!). But overall it was ok.

No wi-fi in the room.
VERY, very difficult to get signal even after I went outside the room. Very frustrating. Big minus point here.

The breakfast was so-so. They offer the same items every day and I got bored the first day. Am supposed to go to Bandung again soon am seriously considering another hotel.

The staff were pleasant and accommodating.
Location- close to Pasar Baru (the shopping market). The 'beca' can take you there for USD1-2.
They also provide free shuttle to the airport, nice touch.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Savoy Homann Bidakra Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Savoy Homann Bidakra Hotel

Address: Jl. Asia Afrika No. 112, Bandung 40261 , Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Java > West Java > Bandung
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 174 Hotels in Bandung
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Savoy Homann Bidakra Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 147
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Savoy Homann Bidakra Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Savoy Homann Bidakra Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.