We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel with 'i called it a little bit bad experience' ???” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Papandayan

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Papandayan to your Saves list
The Papandayan
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Jl. Gatot Subroto 83, Bandung 40262, Indonesia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Start IDR 1.000.000 net
Ranked #20 of 181 Hotels in Bandung
Certificate of Excellence
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great Hotel with 'i called it a little bit bad experience' ???”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

Due to miscommunication...when i came back from dinner and enter my room....uittt....where is all my luggage....my things...its all gone...i went out and checked if i entered a wrong room no....but nop...this is my room....but where are all my things gone???...i called the reception and asked where is all my things gone to??? They said...they put it at the storage room...OMG....meaning that they can simply enter guest's room and packed everything for you???
Few minutes later....they return it back to me....but sadly with different packing and 2 things missing from my luggage....no need to mention it what...but it is still a violation of human rights??? What happen if my passport or money is there??? Errmmm...but i dont like to make much noise as i am a guest to Indonesia Tourism at that time...but the Manager do call me...overall it was a bad experience to me :-(

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susy C, Guest Experience Manager at The Papandayan, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Dear SuTLMTravel

On behalf of The Papandayan staff and management, please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused during stay with us at The Papandayan Hotel.

In relations to your comments, we have done further investigation. We found out that the Duty Manager of our hotel has spoken to the Event Organizer and was given permission by them to move your belongings out into the luggage store.

I believed that one of our Duty Manager had explained you and apologized for the inconvenience caused on that day, however, once again we do apologies that you may not have been advised prior to the incident.

We will ensure that these experiences will never happen again. Should you have further comments regarding this matter and some inputs about our facilities and other services, please do not hesitate to contact me.

We thank you for the constructive feedback and looking forward to having another opportunities of serving you back at The Papandayan in the near future.

Kind regards,

Susy Chandra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    95
    19
    10
    2
See reviews for
70
28
11
60
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
60 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

I stay for 2 days, i see different services. They are helpfull and quick when i need something like sugar when i breakfast, looks organized. Wifi access from lobby better and easy to get. But hot water for shower is not good enough, i must wait so long until water warm. So far i see positive improvement from this hotel and foods taste is not bad. U can try if u go to Bandung.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susy C, Guest Experience Manager at The Papandayan, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Dear Fnras,

Thank you very much for taking you precious time to write a review about The Papandayan on TripAdvisor. Also, thank you for being a loyal guest to our hotel.

I'm delighted to learn that you have enjoyed your stay at our Hotel and you have seen improvement on our services as well. I have shared your kind comments to our associates who always strive to exceed the guests' expectations

We all look forward to having another opportunities of serving you back at The Papandayan in the near future.

Kind regards,

Susy Chandra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

Staff were very attentive and made us feel very welcomed. The kids corner on the weeeknds are an excellent idea for families with kids. My daughter loved it and we were very greatful for it to amuse the toddler for a couple of hours in the morning.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susy C, Guest Experience Manager at The Papandayan, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Dear Elaine

First of all, I would like to thank you for choosing The Papandayan on your recent visit to Bandung, and also thank you for taking your precious time to write a review about our hotel on Trip Advisor.

We are delighted to hear that your daughter also enjoyed spending some times at the kids corner at our hotel. We always try to accommodate our guests needs whether they are staying for business or families with children. The Papandayan holds different kind of kids activities on weekends, for example last week we had reptile community where the children, even the parents were interested to see and pet the snakes, iguanas, lizards, etc.

Elaine, once again, thank you for staying at our hotel. We are looking forward to welcoming you back at The Papandayan Hotel, Bandung in the near future.

Kind regards,

Susy Chandra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

Great hotel with nice swimmingpool and surroundings. Good good en we choose a exec package which was good value for money. Helpfull staff who arranged our tickets to Jakarta. So overall great hotel to stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susy C, Guest Experience Manager at The Papandayan, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Dear Roger,

First and foremost I would like to thank you very much for your patronage at The Papandayan Hotel, Bandung and for taking your precious time to write comments about our hotel on Trip Advisor.

It is thoroughly appreciated that you found our overall products and services excellent during your recent stay. We are delighted to be of service to you and we are looking forward to welcoming you back at The Papandayan Hotel, Bandung in the near future.

Kind regards,

Susy Chandra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

Building appearance and lobby design seems old but service, room and food were amazing. Very good hospitality as most of the staffs greet you with smile. The room was really comfortable with firm bedding, 32" Panasonic TV, elegant lighting and most importantly, clean. Bathroom amenities were plentiful and with quality. Stayed in room 121 with good view across the road. Tried their breakfast and lunch options, which were not disappointed - variety of options and guaranteed for satisfaction. Location wise was very close to Trans Studio and the toll road back to Jakarta. Highly recommended and again, thanks for making my stay really comfortable.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susy C, Guest Experience Manager at The Papandayan, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Dear Majuw

First of all, thank you for staying at The Papandayan and for taking your precious time to write a review about our hotel on Trip Advisor.

We are delighted to hear that you found our products and services excellent. I have shared your compliments with our associates who will be delighted to be recognized in such friendly manner. It is through valuable feedback such as yours that we strive to deliver services that exceeds our guests' expectations

It is our privilege to be of service to you and we are looking forward to welcoming you back at The Papandayan in the near future.

Kind regards,

Susy Chandra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

I stayed in the papandayan hotel for a short period. I had a mixed experience of my stay.
Good parts:
-They upgraded my room to a suit on arrival. I loved that
-Their rooms are beautiful
-Their management is great and good hospitality
-The food is decently nice. On one of their traditional days their manager came up to me and took me on the guided tour of the food on display. It was very sweet.

Bad parts:
-bathroom of my room was stinking all the time. Specially when the person on the top floor would use his/her bathroom
-although i was told i had access to the lounge the card key would not work in the elevator and i could not access the facility
-i found worms in my broccoli
-their concierge is not very good in english so there was a little communication problem. But otherwise a nice guy
-getting a taxi from the hotel and back to the hotel was a problem
-dried and rotten fruits in the room's fruit basket that was never changed or replaced

Having said that, the hotel is nicely done up and is quite spacious with nice and friendly staff. But they have area to improve

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susy C, Guest Experience Manager at The Papandayan, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Dear Swati

Thank you for choosing The Papandayan as your choice of accommodation in Bandung recently, and thank you for your review about our hotel on Trip Advisor.

We do regret that some of our products and services did not meet your expectation during your recent stay. It seemed like the main problem for your inconvenience during your stay was lack of communication on our part, our associates should have been aware that you should be granted access to the lounge, fresh fruits provided in your room everyday and smooth communication with the concierge.

Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused. We strive to provide services that exceed your expectations, and we fell short of our goal this time. I have forwarded your comments to our team to rectify the problems. I believe acquiring this insight will allow us to learn and grow and prevent similar issues in the future.

Once again, please accepts our deepest apology. We will ensure that these experiences will never happen again in your next visits. Should you have further comments regarding this matter and some inputs about our facilities and other services, please do not hesitate to contact me.

Looking forward to welcoming you back at The Papandayan.

Kind regards,

Susy Chandra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Depok, Indonesia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

Me and my wife just having short holiday in Bandung, Indonesia. After searching on the net, we decided to choose this lovely hotel since so many great review on tripadvisor about this hotel.

And it was amazing.........

From the front desk, restairant, in room dining and massage, everything are truly amazing.
The bathroom was great, they segregate between shower and bath tub, never find anything like this so far.

The only thing which small bothering me was the parking lot is very far from the main entrance. Quite difficult if you are driving and carrying luggages.

If they have free valet service, it would be the best hotel in Bandung according to me.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susy C, Guest Experience Manager at The Papandayan, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Dear Mr. Dimas P.

Thank you very much for spending your precious time to write a review about The Papandayan.

We are delighted to learn that you and your wife have enjoyed staying at our hotel and that you were happy with the facilities and services we have delivered. Kind comments like yours which I have shared with our associates, always motivate us to provide services that exceed our guests' expectations.

In relations to the parking lot, we realise that it is quite a distance from the lobby, therefore, in order to maintain our guests' convenience, we DO provide a free valet services. Please accept our apologies that the information was not delivered to you and for the inconvenience caused.

Mr. Dimas, thank you again for your kind comments. We are looking forward to welcome you back at The Papandayan in the near future.

Kind regards,

Susy Chandra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bandung hotels
4.2 mi away
Padma Hotel Bandung
Padma Hotel Bandung
#1 of 181 in Bandung
4.5 of 5 stars 982 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hilton Bandung
Hilton Bandung
#5 of 181 in Bandung
4.5 of 5 stars 727 reviews
3.4 mi away
Sheraton Bandung Hotel & Towers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Mercure Bandung Setiabudi
Mercure Bandung Setiabudi
#12 of 181 in Bandung
4.0 of 5 stars 316 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Trans Luxury Hotel Bandung
1.3 mi away
Golden Flower
Golden Flower
#9 of 181 in Bandung
4.0 of 5 stars 570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Papandayan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Papandayan

Address: Jl. Gatot Subroto 83, Bandung 40262, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Java > West Java > Bandung
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Bandung
#11 Luxury Hotel in Bandung
#19 Business Hotel in Bandung
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Papandayan 4.5*
Number of rooms: 172
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bandung’s newest, most elegant, luxurious 5-star hotel, The Papandayan unveils the art of hospitality, committed to delivering the promise in every moment of every stay where impeccable staff prides itself in exceeding your every expectation. Centrally located in the most strategic location of the thriving business hub of Jl Gatot Subroto 83, it is set away from the congested one way thoroughfares, offering many avenues of accessibility to the property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com, Agoda and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your The Papandayan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Papandayan Hotel Bandung
Papandayan Hotel Bandung

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Papandayan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.